Avenged Sevenfold City of Evil
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Cravinov13
August 11th 2006


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

This albums okay, but i think it all drags on way too much. Every song is too long for its own good.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
August 11th 2006


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^ Thats what keeps me from giving it a 4.5. Shave off 15-20 minutes of the album, and you have a rather focused blast of kickass.

Mikesn
Emeritus
August 11th 2006


3709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

I agree with The Wicked End being the album's best song.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
August 11th 2006


17944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ Thats what keeps me from giving it a 4.5. Shave off 15-20 minutes of the album, and you have a rather focused blast of kickass.

I do not agree. Cut out Seize the Day, and it would be pretty much perfect. Everything else is good how it is.This Message Edited On 08.11.06

Cravinov13
August 11th 2006


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I like Seize The Day the most off this album.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
August 11th 2006


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nah, even Sidewinder (my favorite track) could do with a minute or two off. They also reuse the same outro ideas too often for my taste, that whole soft/almost acoustic thing. Bothers me. At least I remember it being so, I havent listened to the whole album front to back for a while.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
August 11th 2006


17944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like Seize The Day the most off this album.

Seize the Day post-solo is great. Anything before the solo sucks.
Nah, even Sidewinder (my favorite track) could do with a minute or two off. They also reuse the same outro ideas too often for my taste, that whole soft/almost acoustic thing. Bothers me. At least I remember it being so, I havent listened to the whole album front to back for a while.

Perhaps.
This Message Edited On 12.22.06

Cravinov13
August 11th 2006


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I agree with Iluvatar. Shorten every song by at least 1 to 2 minutes each would makes this album better.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
August 11th 2006


17944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I see what all of you are saying. Bat Country could do without the last minute of the song. Strength of the World takes a little too long to end. And take out Seize the Day, or at least makes the vocals better, and that's a great album right there.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
August 11th 2006


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The only song on the album that does fine with its length imo is Sidewinder. But when other songs use the same formula, even that becomes tiring. It also ruins Bat Country, which becames unbearable as it ends despite how kick ass it is for the rest of its time.

ToWhatEnd
August 11th 2006


3172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The songs are a bit long in some cases but rarely am I bored during them. As for cutting a minute or two out of every song, I can respect the opinion completely but actually I'm very impressed with what they created. Plus the long songs are a bit of a middle finger to everyone who is like "oMg tehy sold OuT!!!"

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
August 11th 2006


17944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The only song on the album that does fine with its length imo is Sidewinder.

I think they all do fine with their length, it's just that a few of them could benefit from being shorter. I like them all how they are, but yes, some of them would be better if they weren't so long.

Thyrteen
August 11th 2006


1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Great Album!

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
August 11th 2006


17944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Whoo!

I kind of want to up my rating, but I won't do it just yet.

SCREAM!
August 11th 2006


10341 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I kinda like the length of the songs because I think all the songs are good so it allows me to hear them for longer.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
August 11th 2006


17944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Uh oh. I upped my rating.

Drunken Viking
August 11th 2006


1023 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Heh, this album would really loose the whole epic feel if you took off 15-20 minutes. I enjoy for the most part all of the album (save a few things here or there). And for Bat Country, you couldn't really take off any of the minutes, becasue it's a song that was more about lyrics then anything else, so it wouldn't make as much sense.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
August 11th 2006


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Bat country could do without all the stupid slow stuff at the end. It's tiring, corny without being good anyways. Much of the rest of the end of songs is like that.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
August 11th 2006


17944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nah, the rest of the songs end well.

pulseczar
August 11th 2006


2385 Comments


lol custis lol

edit: srsly, cool review, hate the bandThis Message Edited On 08.11.06



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy