U2 Pop
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
michaelbchnn
August 26th 2008


41 Comments


This is why fans should not be allowed to revie albums. This and Zoorpa were very bad albums that ended their reign as the biggest band in the world.



Underachiever
February 17th 2009


150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

for some reason, a lot of reviewers consider this to be u2s worse while IMO it is their best (nice review)

shindip
April 7th 2009


3536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Don't know why, but this is pretty much my fave U2 album.

Fuff24
October 12th 2009


1118 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Best U2 album IMHO, good job reviewing this

algerts
May 23rd 2010


8 Comments


Could have been something great if they'd actually finished recording it properly. While I've always thought this album was quite interesting I also feel like it sounds rather clunky and unfinished. I know the band has said that they didn't get a chance to finish it the way they wanted but even the 'new mixes' of some of Pop's songs on their Best of the 90's release seem clunky. I think that this album is ultimately a failure because they never seem to cohesively decide what direction they want to go with the music on this album, which could work if they refine that eclectic spirit during the writing and recording. However, I don't get the impression that they did, on this record it feels to me like them trying to get to that moment of creating something new but never bringing it together, like they did with Acthung Baby for sure (Zooropa was just a grand experiment and they KNOW it on that record and play with the weirdness). Anywho- I'll never forget when they released this in 97' and were trying to cram it down our throats to no end, I remember it got pretty tiresome and people just wanted the band to shut up already and go have fun in Europe with their giant lemon. I think the ABC Year in Pop Special was the last straw.

rodrigo90
July 26th 2010


210 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the album rocks more than all that you could leave behind and how to dismantle an atom bomb together,
great comeback to no line on the horizon but not the best as i've spected for me u2 died with this
album as a great band, and as the last tour i've probably had to go to

TheCompilationMan768
August 7th 2010


75 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

U2 should have broke up in the 80's, before Joshua Tree. They would have left the business on a good note.

But then we wouldn't have had "The Fly". Or "Beautiful Day".

keesvdhema
June 3rd 2011


7 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

a pure beauty. this is actually their greatest album but you gotta listen very close to hear. it's really very dark and sexy. it's so underrated, most people don't hear it, but it's geniusly. not many are able to understand this. mofo, do you feel loved, last night on earth, they're all so powerful. but on the other hand, songs like miami and velvet dress are so bare yet so sharp and rough. it's a raw record and because it sounds like it has never been finished at all, it's very dirty

rodrigo90
August 7th 2011


210 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a retrospective review will work better for this album i think

DiegoPablo
March 15th 2012


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Love this album even thoug people hates it. Can't figure out why

KILL
March 15th 2012


72280 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

hahahaha

Digging: Throwing Muses - Throwing Muses

peaks40
October 31st 2012


2797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

discotheque is so catchy, one highlight for sure

KILL
October 31st 2012


72280 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

fuckin shit

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 31st 2012


16131 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

ye discotheque aint bad at all

kwill15
October 31st 2012


134 Comments


Discotheque and staring at the sun are the best

peaks40
October 31st 2012


2797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah album is definitely average, i wanna lower my rating but i feel bad, as a kid they were my fav, i like staring at the sun as well

Tyrael
October 31st 2012


20971 Comments


yea this is one of their worst

sixdegrees
October 31st 2012


17710 Comments


this album is the sound of a band desperately trying to stay relevant.

Digging: Sputnik - Christmas At Our House

peaks40
October 31st 2012


2797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

agreed, but must say at least they try to be ambitious

rodrigo90
December 10th 2012


210 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Probably the last great album of U2, everything after this album is garbage



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy