Opeth Still Life
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
OmairSh
November 16th 2013


11548 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Production always pissed me off

Digging: Thin Lizzy - Nightlife

Keyblade
November 16th 2013


15020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

What's wrong with it :O

Digging: Submotion Orchestra - Alium

OmairSh
November 16th 2013


11548 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sounds muffled and a bit dull, esp the bass

conesmoke
November 16th 2013


5240 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

nahbra its perfff

NeroCorleone80
November 16th 2013


29291 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Production is fine

VisionsFromTheDarkSide
November 16th 2013


1820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Production's great, especially on Serenity Painted Death

Digging: Maveth / Embrace of Thorns - A Plague Through the Heavens

OmairSh
November 16th 2013


11548 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Heritage has better production, as does BWP and GR and Damnation

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2013


21007 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

MAYH has my favourite production of any Opeth album, it suits the atmosphere of the album so well. I prefer that to the more
polished sound of some of their more recent albums. Heritage does have great production though.

OmairSh
November 16th 2013


11548 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I prefer their polished production since it brings out the best of Mikaels guitar tones. I feel GR is a bit distant and dry in that regard.

trainofconsequence
November 16th 2013


1442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

beest fucking album ever

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2013


21007 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I thought you just said you liked GR's production.

The rawer sound of MAYH suits that album soo much better than a more polished production would.

OmairSh
November 16th 2013


11548 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like GR's production more than this albums

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2013


21007 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh right, but you still think it's flawed, gotcha.

DominionMM1
November 16th 2013


10102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Heritage does have great production though."


agreed. i dig the warm analog sound on it.


InbredJed
November 17th 2013


6074 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@OmairSh: Just turn it up bro!

SaneTBP
November 17th 2013


1735 Comments


I don't dig the production that much either but the music is just so good, seriously some of the best jams they've had.

I just wish the song structures wouldn't be like *riff repeated eight times**bridge to another riff**another riff, repeated for 16 times**bridge to another riff**riff repeated for 8 times*, the structure makes the whole thing feel like it's just riffs meshed up together at times.

Digging: Flying Lotus - Cosmogramma

BigPleb
November 17th 2013


37123 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Rules fucking hard.

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins on Io

trainofconsequence
November 17th 2013


1442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album kicks dicks

Solaire
November 17th 2013


883 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I prefer the production the rawer albums like MAYH. Although, The new polished sound manages to hold its own on atmospheric value.

Emyay
November 18th 2013


5968 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i think every opeth album has production that suits the material perfectly except for maybe this album. i wish it had the same production as blackwater park



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy