Opeth Still Life
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
emester
August 31st 2014


7659 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

BWP first 4 tracks are amazing but the album from there goes on a slight but constant decline in quality

Digging: Darkthrone - Arctic Thunder

ChoccyPhilly
August 31st 2014


11467 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Before shooting right back up for the title track

Digging: Alrakis - Alpha Eri

emester
August 31st 2014


7659 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah forgot bout that bit lol

BMDrummer
August 31st 2014


13721 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Morningrise was my first Opeth, probably a bad choice but it still ruled hard

beefshoes
August 31st 2014


6575 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Morningrise is definitely the best for me. No contest whatsoever.

emester
August 31st 2014


7659 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Morningrise was my last Opeth (not counting Mikael and The Progpeths' works) and yeah it showcased the bands capabilities in

songwriting at their finest

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2014


14835 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

MR is a good start, also BWP is perfect all the way through

Digging: Opeth - Sorceress

ChoccyPhilly
August 31st 2014


11467 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I started at BWP and i have yet to fully listen to MR or Orchid, but listened to parts of it quite a lot. Bleak was the song that started it all...

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2014


14835 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Choccy orchid and MR are amazing and their most different finish listening!

ChoccyPhilly
August 31st 2014


11467 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've downloaded both, but i'm never in the right mood these days for new prog. Maybe a day when the overload dies down

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2014


14835 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

They're their least proggy, more melodeath/black metal influenced with lots of long amazing acoustic sections

beefshoes
August 31st 2014


6575 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah, they're more akin to melo death/folk metal.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2014


14835 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Almost like Agalloch

Artuma
August 31st 2014


25595 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

not really tho

Digging: Touche Amore - Stage Four

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2014


14835 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Compared to their others though

climactic
August 31st 2014


21913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"capabilities in songwriting at their finest"



im a HUGE morningrise fan (3rd fav peth) but their songwriting improved so much in the future. some of the transitions from heavy to clean on that album are wack

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2014


14835 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah his vocals improved a lot too, MR is probably 5th or 6th best

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2014


25683 Comments


Morningrise is the only Opeth album that comes close to MAYH for me but it's still a fair way behind as the song writing isn't anywhere near as good and it's pretty disjointed.

JokineAugustus
August 31st 2014


8428 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ghost Reveries is better though

beefshoes
August 31st 2014


6575 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Idk Talons, Mikael's vox on Morningrise are sick.

His screams were phenomenal.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy