Opeth Still Life
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
dannyboy89
April 22nd 2014



11912 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

What Mongi said.

Let's agree that Mikael is one of the ballsiest musicians who ever lived.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
April 22nd 2014



9132 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

He's certainly a kickass guitar player too.

TalonsOfFire
April 22nd 2014



5384 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Especially now, changing the style of the band completely and pissing everyone off. You have to admire that

Digging: Opeth - Pale Communion

dannyboy89
April 22nd 2014



11912 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Mikael prob wouldn't make my Top 10 guitarists, but he does have a knack for melody.

Emyay
April 22nd 2014



5804 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

probably my favorite guitarist. keep in mind i don't care at all about technical ability

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
April 22nd 2014



20018 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Technicality is one of the least important factors in determining what makes a great guitarist.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
April 22nd 2014



9132 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's all about the enjoyment factor

Emyay
April 22nd 2014



5804 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

for sure. there's just that there's a huge group of people out there that love ranking / arguing over guitarists' technical abilities

dannyboy89
April 22nd 2014



11912 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

^^^

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
April 22nd 2014



20018 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh yeah definitely, Emyay, there's a lot of people out there who see guitar playing as sport and think the faster and more technically skilled the guitarist is the better they are.

dannyboy89
April 22nd 2014



11912 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I used to think that way tbh, but my views have changed over time.

I mostly value melody, tone and uniqueness personally.

Emyay
April 22nd 2014



5804 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i don't mind if its like teenagers doing it, but when its grown men getting caught up in that shit, its just sad

VisionsFromTheDarkSide
April 22nd 2014



1767 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not one for technicality much either but his legato tho

Digging: Noah Gundersen - Ledges

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
April 22nd 2014



20018 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Feeling and emotion are probably the most important factors for me. Of course melody and tone are very important too.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
April 22nd 2014



9132 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Take Tool for example. Adam Jones doesn't have lots of overly complex riffs imo but he's one of my
favorite guitar players because of his sound and passion.

dannyboy89
April 22nd 2014



11912 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Interesting.

Emyay
April 22nd 2014



5804 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

not a fan of tool at all, but i agree with your reasoning

dannyboy89
April 22nd 2014



11912 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Same here. Kinda respect 'em but they're one of those bands I consider
overrated personally.

However, I agree with Mongi's logic.

ValarMorghulis
April 26th 2014



757 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

SEARCHING MY WAYYY TO PERPLEXION

zaruyache
April 26th 2014



5909 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

AAAAH AAAH AAAAH

Digging: Sunwolf - Beholden To Nothing And No One



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy