Opeth Still Life
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
April 22nd 2014


10397 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's all about the enjoyment factor

Emyay
April 22nd 2014


5962 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

for sure. there's just that there's a huge group of people out there that love ranking / arguing over guitarists' technical abilities

dannyboy89
April 22nd 2014


11975 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

^^^

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
April 22nd 2014


20753 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh yeah definitely, Emyay, there's a lot of people out there who see guitar playing as sport and think the faster and more technically skilled the guitarist is the better they are.

Digging: Townes Van Zandt - Townes Van Zandt

dannyboy89
April 22nd 2014


11975 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I used to think that way tbh, but my views have changed over time.

I mostly value melody, tone and uniqueness personally.

Emyay
April 22nd 2014


5962 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i don't mind if its like teenagers doing it, but when its grown men getting caught up in that shit, its just sad

VisionsFromTheDarkSide
April 22nd 2014


1800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not one for technicality much either but his legato tho

Digging: Malevolent Creation - Retribution

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
April 22nd 2014


20753 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Feeling and emotion are probably the most important factors for me. Of course melody and tone are very important too.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
April 22nd 2014


10397 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Take Tool for example. Adam Jones doesn't have lots of overly complex riffs imo but he's one of my
favorite guitar players because of his sound and passion.

dannyboy89
April 22nd 2014


11975 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Interesting.

Emyay
April 22nd 2014


5962 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

not a fan of tool at all, but i agree with your reasoning

dannyboy89
April 22nd 2014


11975 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Same here. Kinda respect 'em but they're one of those bands I consider
overrated personally.

However, I agree with Mongi's logic.

ValarMorghulis
April 26th 2014


829 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

SEARCHING MY WAYYY TO PERPLEXION

zaruyache
April 26th 2014


6605 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

AAAAH AAAH AAAAH

Digging: Natural Snow Buildings - The Night Country

Rowan5215
April 26th 2014


26947 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

IN THE POURING RAIN
NOTHING IS THE SAAAAME-UHHH

Digging: Vestascension - Breaching the Sound

Andersonville73
May 5th 2014


85 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Still Life presents nothing "still" like the title. The record presents a crazy and highly emotional story along with some of the best music ever written. The use of jazzy chords and death growls with proggy instrumentals, this is the best record I have heard in my life. This record is timeless for any opeth fan (myself and thousands of others). You have to buy this record!

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2014


6047 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great first comment. Congrats. Welcome to Sputnik.

Digging: Aphex Twin - Syro

DominionMM1
May 5th 2014


9993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

well ok then


to the record store

FiveLeavesLeft
May 5th 2014


9838 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

How detailed

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2014


6047 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the use of jazzy chords and death growls with proggy instrumentals, this is the best record I have
heard in my life.the use of jazzy chords and death growls with proggy instrumentals, this is the best
record I have heard in my life.the use of jazzy chords and death growls with proggy instrumentals,
this is the best record I have heard in my life.the use of jazzy chords and death growls with proggy
instrumentals, this is the best record I have heard in my life.the use of jazzy chords and death
growls with proggy instrumentals, this is the best record I have heard in my life.the use of jazzy
chords and death growls with proggy instrumentals, this is the best record I have heard in my life.the
use of jazzy chords and death growls with proggy instrumentals, this is the best record I have heard
in my life.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy