Opeth Still Life
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
OmairSh
November 16th 2013



10829 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Production always pissed me off

Digging: Paco de Lucia - El Duende Flamenco

Keyblade
November 16th 2013



14612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

What's wrong with it :O

Digging: Kacica - Kacica

OmairSh
November 16th 2013



10829 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sounds muffled and a bit dull, esp the bass

conesmoke
November 16th 2013



5194 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

nahbra its perfff

NeroCorleone80
November 16th 2013



28651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Production is fine

Digging: Howlin Wolf - Howlin' Wolf/Moanin' in the Moonlight

VisionsFromTheDarkSide
November 16th 2013



1781 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Production's great, especially on Serenity Painted Death

Digging: Noah Gundersen - Ledges

OmairSh
November 16th 2013



10829 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Heritage has better production, as does BWP and GR and Damnation

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2013



20260 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

MAYH has my favourite production of any Opeth album, it suits the atmosphere of the album so well. I prefer that to the more
polished sound of some of their more recent albums. Heritage does have great production though.

OmairSh
November 16th 2013



10829 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I prefer their polished production since it brings out the best of Mikaels guitar tones. I feel GR is a bit distant and dry in that regard.

trainofconsequence
November 16th 2013



1422 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

beest fucking album ever

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2013



20260 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I thought you just said you liked GR's production.

The rawer sound of MAYH suits that album soo much better than a more polished production would.

OmairSh
November 16th 2013



10829 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like GR's production more than this albums

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2013



20260 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh right, but you still think it's flawed, gotcha.

DominionMM1
November 16th 2013



9698 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Heritage does have great production though."


agreed. i dig the warm analog sound on it.


Digging: Neurosis - Through Silver in Blood

InbredJed
November 17th 2013



5785 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@OmairSh: Just turn it up bro!

SaneTBP
November 17th 2013



1680 Comments


I don't dig the production that much either but the music is just so good, seriously some of the best jams they've had.

I just wish the song structures wouldn't be like *riff repeated eight times**bridge to another riff**another riff, repeated for 16 times**bridge to another riff**riff repeated for 8 times*, the structure makes the whole thing feel like it's just riffs meshed up together at times.

Digging: Autechre - Tri Repetae

BigPleb
November 17th 2013



35336 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Rules fucking hard.

trainofconsequence
November 17th 2013



1422 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album kicks dicks

Solaire
November 17th 2013



883 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I prefer the production the rawer albums like MAYH. Although, The new polished sound manages to hold its own on atmospheric value.

Emyay
November 18th 2013



5939 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i think every opeth album has production that suits the material perfectly except for maybe this album. i wish it had the same production as blackwater park



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy