Tool Lateralus
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
December 12th 2013


14469 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Idk man have you heard Ticks and Leeches? Haha but Neil Peart is Neil Peart so maybe he would win :D

KILL
December 12th 2013


74094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i mean pearts like 70 but i aint gonna compare em, neils my fav but carey is in a league of his own..whether he is better or not u can only decide, but if you choose not to decide you still have made a choice so its pointless really

demigod!
December 12th 2013


47071 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Goddamn

Digging: Meat Puppets - Up on the Sun

MO
December 12th 2013


19741 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

kill bringin' freewill into this whoa

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
December 12th 2013


14469 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

My mind is blown KILL. I CHOOSE FREE WILL!

KILL
December 12th 2013


74094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you chose the path thats clear brother, my work here is done

LocustGrove
December 12th 2013


540 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Peart has forgotten more about drums than Danny will ever learn in his entire life.

SCREAM!
December 12th 2013


11163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Peart could outdrum anyone with his hands tied behind his back using only his dick

SirDrumsalot
December 12th 2013


1677 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Aww shi... this comparison will never die. I know it pisses a lot of people off, but in all honesty Danny is a more accomplished drummer.

"But Danny wouldn't be who he is without Peart". Perhaps, but Peart wouldn't be who he is without his influences either. Same with everybody.

KILL
December 12th 2013


74094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

disagreed, as i said danny is like unlike anyone else but neil is just so technically proficient and innovative for his time fuckin temple block n fuckin wind chimes n shit i mean 70s neil is just like holy fucking shit best drummer ever made



basically neil is like moon n bonham in 1 with phil collins on the side i mean can u beat that i think NOT

SirDrumsalot
December 12th 2013


1677 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Our biggest disagreement KILL...

I dont think that most people realize how difficult it is to do the polyrythms that Danny does, or everything that he actually puts into each song. Like I've said before Neil is awesome, I would be stupid if I tried to say he wasn't, but as far as dexterity and ability goes I really think Danny has the edge.

KILL
December 12th 2013


74094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea poly rhythms are cool and shit but nothings gets me air drummin like LA VILLA STRANGIATO , just listen to that song again dude it aint got no 75/8 time sigs but its got fuckin passion and style and holy fuck the section after the bass solo

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
December 12th 2013


14469 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yea Danny's rhythms are so complex it's crazy but we could go on for ages comparing the two. Also

Villa is the shit.

KILL
December 12th 2013


74094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i just think neil is the best of both worlds, complexity mixed with hard rockin. hes the perfect drummer in my fangirl eyes

KILL
December 12th 2013


74094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

like dudes carey rules but dudes like bruford n collins just do more for me you know? they gota have that prog flair and shit and wear capes

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
December 12th 2013


14469 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yea he's okay I guess

KILL
December 12th 2013


74094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

dude check genesis

SirDrumsalot
December 12th 2013


1677 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

KILL



If you got the time, watch this video. Its all amazing, but at just before the 7 minute mark it starts getting almost incomprehensible! And this is on a "smaller" kit. Those polyrythms!!!



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z7Ejy6VubII

KILL
December 12th 2013


74094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i'll check it if you check this



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aT9333XiR4U

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
December 12th 2013


14469 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

He's so incomprehensible in at the end of The Grudge in particular.



What Genesis album bro? I'll throw that on my list.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy