Muse Origin of Symmetry
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Polyethylene
January 20th 2013


3217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah first half is pretty good as far as trashy alternative rock/metal goes, but god damn it trails off with Micro Cuts (painful) and two flamenco-flavoured tracks in a row and then a cover song and then that breathless, overblown closer Megalomania... and I was led to believe this album was "flawless."

Digging: Son Lux - At War With Walls And Mazes

johnnydeking29
January 20th 2013


9458 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's Muse; of course it's not flawless
Citizen Erased is still the best song ever though

Digging: Warren of Ohms - The Wolf and The Fox

Polyethylene
January 20th 2013


3217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sweet riff, poor execution (imo)

sustainthesatan
January 20th 2013


212 Comments


overrated

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
January 20th 2013


21659 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Megalomania is epic though

Digging: Soen - Tellurian

SirArthur6
January 20th 2013


179 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

lol, I like polyethylene... he's funny.

Polyethylene
January 20th 2013


3217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I can't find anything about Megalomania I like, epic for epic's sake

johnnydeking29
January 20th 2013


9458 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

epic for epic's sake


I'm pretty sure that that's because it's a Muse song, but because there's nothing to like

Polyethylene
January 20th 2013


3217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I just think (back in the day at least) Muse had some great damn ideas but never really knew how to utilise them, makes you wish these songs were written and performed by a different band

johnnydeking29
January 20th 2013


9458 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Holy SHIT, that makes so much sense now I think about it, especially on this album. The only thing I would add is that on Absolution they got quite a few of those ideas right (they got some right here too)

Polyethylene
January 20th 2013


3217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah there were some examples of them getting it right (I think the best examples are actually on Black Holes), but gat damn another band could've put riffs like Citizen Erased and New Born to better use

johnnydeking29
January 20th 2013


9458 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hmmm...Black Holes has Knights of Cydonia and Exo-Politics I spose, and Citizen Erased and New Born rule face imo (easily the best here), but tbh persuading Matt Bellamy's ego to channel his ideas through another band is a dead cause

Polyethylene
January 20th 2013


3217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Citizen Erased starts off amazing (and I mean AMAZING) but I hate where they go with it, soppy quiet sections and grating falsetto argh

They have some amazing prog and rock ideas, but they're always done through a Freddie Mercury lens and that totally ruins it for me

Polyethylene
January 20th 2013


3217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

No in all honesty, Muse were once my favourite band. I think if Bellamy was less of a Queen/Chopin nerd and didn't have to make everything sound so overblown they'd be one of my fave bands to this day

Polyethylene
January 20th 2013


3217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah I agree but I don't like the style as much

Why couldn't they have just made an awesome space-rock album without everything being pushed to ultimate levels of cheese and tastelessness, Showbiz levels of restraint but Erased and Hyper Music sorta style

Seriously :/

SirArthur6
January 21st 2013


179 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The unrestraint is one of the things I love about a lot of Muse's music. Whilst they have done it a bit much over the last few albums, in right doses (This and Abso) it works brilliantly.

Also, I'd hardly call Megalomania 'epic for epic's sake', given how soft the verses are, the lovely cello coutermelody in the second verse, and the brilliant vocal layering in the last chorus - there's loads to appreciate other than the epic-pipe-organ-evil-genius-chords that are amazing anyway.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
January 21st 2013


21659 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Citizen Erased is easily their best song

Chortles
January 21st 2013


18059 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah

Digging: Robbie Basho - Visions of The Country

SirArthur6
January 21st 2013


179 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah, Citizen's their best... but Butterflies isn't far behind.

Chortles
January 21st 2013


18059 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

good call that's def their 2nd best



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy