Set Your Goals Mutiny!
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
peasandcarrots
January 19th 2010


8 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

to be honest i never get sick of this album i love it so much. i think this album is far better than the new album although the new album is great. this cd inspired me

mechatanner
August 4th 2010


269 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I absolutely love this album. I think its great as a whole, yea the middle drags a bit but so do most of them.
I love some of the issues brought up& the way they are presented "our music, rewright not a single line" "heroes have betrayed, we sing for better days" and of course the "vast network of sharks and minnows, where the minnows outnumber the sharks 1,000 to 1.." When i first found this album, it totally changed my musical taste.
I've done a album analysis for school using this album, and looking at each line deeper just increased my appreciation for it.
In all, i will never lose interest in this album. Great content. great vox(clean, yelled in your face, and group) great drum fills, and some awesome guitar hooks.
I still listen to this whole album on a regular basis. SYG is the shit.

witchxrapist
August 4th 2010


11057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I finally got to see them live. Perfect live show.

mechatanner
August 4th 2010


269 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

one more thing to add. The first 4 tracks are epically good played in sequence. i mean honestly, it just flows track to track flawlessly. It starts slow, builds up, lets off a bit-just to rush back into your ears and blow your mind again.

iamnot
April 8th 2011


73 Comments


ehhh.

iFghtffyrdmns
April 8th 2011


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

TURN MY AMP UP TO ELEVEN SIX NICKEL BOUND STRINGS HAVE SAVED ME AGAIN

cheesy? maybe.
awesome? definitely.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2011


17231 Comments


the title track and an old book misread are perfect
keepin it posi

HaydenDyson
August 19th 2011


1019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

4 because the whole album flows and is all good. Not a bad song

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2011


20859 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

If there is one word to describe the debut LP from California's Set Your Goals; it is "youthful". Fun, energetic & almost always up-tempo, 'Mutiny!' combines pop-punk & melodic hardcore effectively, even if the lack of variety means questionable replay value. The exuberant dual & gang vocals take center stage, to the extent that they often overshadow the straight-forward instrumentation & rather sincere lyrics. Moving along at a cracking pace, this cohesive album's 11 tracks clock in at just half an hour, yet it's interesting to note that the highlights are often the longer songs. Recommended Tracks: Mutiny!, To Be Continued... & This Very Moment.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 2nd 2011


50960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Echoes is one of the best songs ever

Digging: Friendzone - Collection 1

Vespiion
December 3rd 2011


1222 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Tasty.

iFghtffyrdmns
December 3rd 2011


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah this is pretty awesome

Athom
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2014


17231 Comments


I freaking love this record.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2014


50960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's a shame they went to complete shit after

Athom
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2014


17231 Comments


I wonder if their live show took a dive too. I saw them twice while touring on this record and they were incredible.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2014


50960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I saw them in 06 and they were fantastic, never saw them again so I don't know

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2014


20166 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ya this album rules

Digging: Johann Sebastian Bach - Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050

thelastsignal
August 7th 2014


1673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed, this is awesome. Just found this CD after not having it for a couple years haha.

Digging: The Banner - Greying



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy