maudlin of the Well Bath
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
MrKite
March 19th 2008



5020 Comments


listen to the solo in birth pains over and over until your pants are properly saturated

i can't i'm dead.
but yeah i haven't given up on this. hence no rating.

Yazz_Flute
March 20th 2008



18764 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fuck it, i'm giving this a 5. I can't decide if my favorite is Heaven and Weak or Birth Pains.

I'm gonna be listening to MoW for a long time, I've only been listening to this and Leaving Your Body Map for the past 2 days, they're so good...but this owns Leaving.

Digging: Cormorant - Dwellings

IAmInsect
March 20th 2008



3800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yah the album is rly good but a few transitions seem forced and not as natural as others to me, so I couldn't give it a 5.

Yazz_Flute
March 30th 2008



18764 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm thinking I should try to look for a hard copy of this, it's so good. Geography is becoming one of my favorite tracks on this now, the climax at the end gives me the chills every time, it's beautiful.

willfellmarsy
April 4th 2008



3849 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nvmThis Message Edited On 04.07.08

willfellmarsy
April 7th 2008



3849 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the beginning of The Ferryman made me think the Undertaker was about to enter the ring.
In other news, two listens in this is alright but i guess ill have to listen more to truly love it.

Yazz_Flute
April 7th 2008



18764 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It may take a bit to truly sink in, but I loved it right away. It only gets better with each listen, though. Make you sure you aren't doing much, if anything at all while listening to it for the best experience.

.....I like this more than Blackwater Park, :shock: my second favorite album of all time only behind Still Life.

willfellmarsy
April 7th 2008



3849 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea ferryman was a lot better the second time so i think this is a grower but your love of opeth sickens me.

Yazz_Flute
April 7th 2008



18764 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The Ferryman is probably the weakest song on the album.

your love of opeth sickens me.


Your face sickens me

IAmInsect
April 7th 2008



3800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The Ferryman is probably the weakest song on the album
123. The second half of the song is the better one.

willfellmarsy
April 7th 2008



3849 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes i agree the ending is great.
and bodom it only sickens you because you realize my face reaches a degree of handsomeness that you could not reach in your wildest dreams.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2008



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you guys are all wrong because the ferryman is fantastic

Digging: A Sunny Day In Glasgow - Sea When Absent

Neoteric
April 7th 2008



3243 Comments


The Ferryman is one of the worst.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2008



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

All things considered, The Ferryman is what made me love this record the way I do. I love the part before the female vocals come in where Toby sings atonally over the frantic section.

Yazz_Flute
April 7th 2008



18764 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That part is really cool, and ii love the death vocals in the song, but it just doesn't
really stand out as much as some of the other tracks. I may like it more than Madrid's
Gift of Art, but that would probably be it (barring the two interludes)

Birth Pains is the best. Then it's kind of a tie between Heaven and Weak, Geography,
and Girl With a Watering Can.This Message Edited On 04.07.08

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2008



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Blue Ghost Shedding doesn't get enough love tbh

Doppelganger
April 7th 2008



3124 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

1234^^

Yazz_Flute
April 7th 2008



18764 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Blue Ghost is awesome. It's just that it's pretty much the same thing for 8 minutes. It's very soothing though.

Doppelganger
April 7th 2008



3124 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

it has enough subtle changes and melodies to keep it interesting the whole way through, not to mention the whole atmosphere of it rules

Yazz_Flute
April 7th 2008



18764 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

it has enough subtle changes and melodies to keep it interesting the whole way through, not to mention the whole atmosphere of it rules


I do agree. It is interesting all the way through, and an awesome song. I just prefer most of the others. I don't usually prefer instrumental songs to songs with vocals, I think of them more as segues. Blue Ghost is kind of like an intro to the album in my opinion.

On a side note the second interlude is pretty awesome.





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy