Circa Survive The Amulet
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
dbizzles
September 25th 2017


10012 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's growing on me.



Stay rules.

betray
September 25th 2017


9153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fuck this rules

Digging: Gucci Mane - Mr. Davis

dbizzles
September 25th 2017


10012 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review, btw.



Also, I agree with you, Taxt- that one is a bloated shiny mess, imo.

GreyShadow
September 25th 2017


1703 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Every album is really good so you really can't go wrong with anything.



and what's everyone's problem with BSN? it's so god damn close to perfect

Digging: Circa Survive - The Amulet

Feather
September 26th 2017


3841 Comments


Even more excited to really dive into this now. I really enjoyed decensus from what I remember but tbh I could never get into these guys no matter how much I tried.

betray
September 26th 2017


9153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you will like this bud

StolenIdentity
September 26th 2017


289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sowing don’t complain about having to listen to all the other albums! It’ll be the best thing you do this year.



BSN is still their best for me (mostly because it was my first Circa album and was more accessible at the time)) but I absolutely love how this album feels like a more mature Juturna with superior production.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2017


39285 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

nothing in their subsequent discography has come close to the mystery and beauty of Juturna

Digging: Soundtrack (Television) - BoJack Horseman

coldheaven
September 26th 2017


186 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

^^^backed 100%

Digging: Miserable - Uncontrollable

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 26th 2017


24814 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Haven't heard Juturna but that will change

Digging: St. Vincent - MASSEDUCTION

LightChaotic
September 26th 2017


129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Some people say this band peaked at Juturna. Some say On Letting Go is their best album. Some say Blue Sky Noise is perfect. Lots of people have said "this is their best album since _____" in regards to both The Amulet and Descensus.



I guess the only consistent thing that can be taken from all of these opinions is that they've made a shit ton of good music.

bowlermicah
September 26th 2017


10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, it's always divisive when people want to talk about their favorite Circa album. Mine personally is On Letting Go. I feel like it is the perfect mix of prog with catchy choruses without going too alt-rock, which Blue Sky Noise flirts with just a little too much at times for my personal tastes. I still love it though. This one is great, and is easily in my top 3 Circa albums. Time will tell where it falls, but it's definitely the best since BSN, and I really liked Descensus.

Supaduck0
September 26th 2017


174 Comments


Circa have always been good. They have always been above water with their output, they don't do dud records. I mean you could maybe say Violent Waves was their weakest, but it still jams

JS19
September 26th 2017


5870 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can already tell this is a massive grower of an album from the first couple of listens - hope it just keeps getting betetr

Digging: Helpless - Debt

Atari
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2017


22597 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm in the BSN camp. their first 2 albums are good, but that's the album that sold me on them



this is nice so far, but definitely getting a sense of deja vu

Digging: Susanne Sundfor - Music For People In Trouble

AtomicWaste
Moderator
September 26th 2017


2705 Comments


>4 from Sowing for Circa? Will check.

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 26th 2017


24814 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Well this was my first full Circa album so take this review for what you will

Corney
September 26th 2017


169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Idk, I really don't get the appeal of these guys anymore. They just pump out the same sound over and over. I think Blue Sky Noise is their best album, but Juturna has some of their best songs. I will give this another listen, as these guys do tend to grow on me a little.

coldheaven
September 26th 2017


186 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

The more I listen to it, the more meh I am about it

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 26th 2017


24814 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

The opposite for me. The first 5 songs and last 2 keep on growing.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy