A Tribe Called Quest We got it from Here… Thank You 4 Your service
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
claygurnz
November 27th 2016


4384 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not a fan of the Beastie Boys?

LordePots
November 27th 2016


37760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

beastie boys don't count

Digging: Kitty - Miami Garden Club

Ryus
November 27th 2016


15150 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the white stripes are the worst band of all time

Digging: Fredo Santana - Fredo Kruger 2

Tyler.
November 27th 2016


13219 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah maybe

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
November 27th 2016


39174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

re electric guitar in hip hop being good: Gasoline Dreams and Chonkyfire by OutKast

Digging: Soundtrack (Television) - BoJack Horseman

emester
November 27th 2016


8137 Comments


Why is this mixed to be so overbearingly dark, jesus.

I love it otherwise but honestly what even is this mix

Digging: White Ward - Futility Report

LordePots
November 27th 2016


37760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

outkast doesn't count either



"lol why don't beastie boys count pots"



because Beastie Boys are like the Rage Against the Machine of hip-hop, they are allowed to do their thing. de la soul and tribe using shitty distorted guitars that have absolutely no business being within a 10 mile radius of their songs is just cringe tho.



"also selected tracks from jenny death and bottomless pit"



death grips DEFINITELY does not count.

SpeakSound
November 27th 2016


81 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So basically, electric guitar is only acceptable if you fall into a category pots declares fit for electric guitar

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
November 27th 2016


39174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

lmao so the stuff that doesn't count = the stuff that disproves your claim, k cool

LordePots
November 27th 2016


37760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

or, for those of us who speak patrician and can actually comprehend hip hop as a genre:



"what is with all these 90s legends releasing shit in the 2010's thinking putting electric guitar in hip hop is an acceptable thing to do?"



artists who actually fit into this category.



death grips is not a 90s golden era hip hop group plus they are barely hip hop at all. outkast fuses as much pop, funk, and soul into their music as they do hip hop, and all 3 of those genres are genres that electric guitar works in all the time. beastie boys are punky alt hip hop and equally impure as the other two mentioned and thats their entire gimmick.



list examples of actual golden era hip hop that is actually straight up hip hop where it doesn't sound fucking goofy af. if u can and i agree i will retract.

LordePots
November 27th 2016


37760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"lmao so the stuff that doesn't count = the stuff that disproves your claim, k cool"



yeah if you're illiterate then thats definitely what you could get out of this

LordePots
November 27th 2016


37760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

in other words rowan you're a goof learn to read

LordePots
November 27th 2016


37760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"i think it would make it much clearer if you provided a definition for the word hip-hop as you're using it



like what makes a track 'pure hip-hop' as opposed to hip-hop that's too heavily influenced by other genres to count"



this is unbelievably self explanatory

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
November 27th 2016


39174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

OutKast objectively are 90s legends you really can't backpedal outta that one fam, sorry. and the comment we were all responding to wasn't that one it was "i cant think of a single instance ever where its been a good idea tbh"



"ever"



not just in 90s golden era hip hop but "ever"



maybe learn to read ur own posts

LordePots
November 27th 2016


37760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"OutKast objectively are 90s legends you really can't backpedal outta that one fam, sorry. and the comment we were all responding to wasn't that one it was "i cant think of a single instance ever where its been a good idea tbh""



ur retarded af but ill let it slide, im not sure how you can contort elaborating outkasts sound as counting them out as legends but thats a you problem.



"not just in 90s golden era hip hop but "ever""



fair enough but the only example so far of non golden age shit so far is death grips and they are about as hip hop as drake

LordePots
November 27th 2016


37760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

so still waiting on a good example of where its worked in straight up hip hop and not sounded goofy and not holding my breath for rowan to offer anything because he's just a salty minge ankle-biting at me because i called him out for his dumb hitler comments. i'm happy to hear suggestions from the rest of you guys tho! i still cant think of anything.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
November 27th 2016


39174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

lmao you're really good at just throwing extended sentences of words that vaguely work as insults instead of actually discussing this stuff



what about 4th Chamber by GZA?

LordePots
November 27th 2016


37760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"ok well i am not getting it, could you please try to explain"



think jazz vs jazz fusion



im talkin mobb deep im talkin tribe, gang starr, arrested development, black sheep, black moon, the roots, artifacts, InI, bahamadia etc

LordePots
November 27th 2016


37760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"lmao you're really good at just throwing extended sentences of words that vaguely work as insults instead of actually discussing this stuff"



>sentences of words



sentences. of. words.



shocking stuff rowmantha.



"what about 4th Chamber by GZA?"



the barely audible background 10 seconds of distorted guitar at the end? actually that is good example thanks for finally contributing something not entirely insufferable



LordePots
November 27th 2016


37760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"still waiting for you to clearly define what hip-hop is because google won't tell me in a satisfying manner"



i dunno dude this just reeks of our 'pop' conversation again i really don't know what to tell you like it just seems like common sense to me like bathory is straight up black metal and alcest definitely is not...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy