Alcest Kodama
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
RikRoach7
May 19th 2017


2488 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I wrote the metal band Alcest off after Shelter, for reasons I don't understand anymore. I really thought it was a permanent change of style.



I was probably traumatized by Opeth hahah

dbizzles
May 19th 2017


10067 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Haha that's understandable. I didn't know what we'd get either, but I gained massive hope as the singles started coming out.

RikRoach7
May 19th 2017


2488 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Only listened to Je Suis D'Ailleurs prior to the release, and that only once. Made me really excited, but listening to the whole thing when it came out was something completely different. I was sold when the first chorus of the title track kicked in...

dbizzles
May 19th 2017


10067 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Title track is beautiful. It almost feels like a statement after Shelter to say they can keep that dreamy shoegaze sound, expound on it and be successful without the dynamic of harsh vocals that fans yearned for when Shelter came out.

Gmork89
May 19th 2017


7319 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

And then delivered the harsh vox anyways in the other tracks, geez Alcest just stop winning my heart over.

dbizzles
May 19th 2017


10067 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Haha no kidding. Plus, the harsh vocals here are as good or better delivered than they've ever been, imo. Such a great contrast to the softer parts and perfectly compliments the rest.

Gmork89
May 19th 2017


7319 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I agree about the the delivery, I noticed that kind of howl at the end of a lot of the screams, it really adds a lot to it.

RikRoach7
May 19th 2017


2488 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The screams on here remind me of his work with Lantlôs. They sound much more inhuman than on, say, Écailles

0GuyMan0
May 20th 2017


868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Probably #2 Alcest.

teamster
May 20th 2017


1914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think it's my #1 Alcest...I think...

Digging: Foscor - Les Irreals Visions

dbizzles
May 20th 2017


10067 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's mine. But, Acailles de lune is as good.

0GuyMan0
May 21st 2017


868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Les Voyages de l'Âme remains my favorite. I don't understand how its avg is so low.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2017


16499 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah it's amazing despite not flowing as well as their others.

Digging: Toby Driver - Live at Roulette, March 2017

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
May 21st 2017


18850 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It definitely doesn't have as many highs as this or Ecallies

dbizzles
May 21st 2017


10067 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Still really good though. I jammed beings of light earlier. Actually played Souvenirs all the way through for the first time in a while too. Forgot how good it is.

teamster
May 21st 2017


1914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Dudes ... I think Shelter is fucking fantastic. Love the entire discography.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
May 21st 2017


18850 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I just jammed Voyages in full and man the first two tracks are godsends. The rest is extremely solid, I actually don't like Beings Of Light haha

dbizzles
May 21st 2017


10067 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's definitely not the best song on there lol something about it just feels so epic. Like a final battle scene between celestial bodies.

RikRoach7
May 22nd 2017


2488 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Les Voyages t/t and Faiseurs du Monde are easily on par with the best moments of Écailles and this imo. The last 2 minutes of either track belong to the most beautiful things I've ever heard

Gmork89
May 22nd 2017


7319 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"Les Voyages de l'Âme remains my favorite. I don't understand how its avg is so low."





Yeah that average isn't right in my opinion either.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy