Tool Lateralus
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
MAGNIFICENT
August 31st 2013



191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Forgot to mention Jambi, it rules hard.

Artuma
August 31st 2013



12185 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"C'mon, Wings For Marie is gorgeous, Vicarious is addictive, The Pot sure brings the groove, Rosetta Stoned is so heavy and so amazing and Intension/Right In Two is just so enigmatic and superb"

wings for marie is gorgeous agreed but it's way too long, vicarious is amazing, the pot is great but can't touch the best songs on lateralus and aenima, rosetta stoned is at the same time such a great and such a stupid song, intension is pretty cool but right in two is rather a lackluster both lyrically and musically imo

and none of the songs on 10,000 days are better than the grudge, lateralus t/t and reflection

Digging: Le Pre Ou Je Suis Mort - Le Pre Ou Je Suis Mort

Artuma
August 31st 2013



12185 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

plus, jambi is kinda boring at points

NeroCorleone80
August 31st 2013



28760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Jambi's solo is so good. 10,000 days is a high 4 for me, I dont get why a lot of Tool fans cant get
behind it.

Digging: Howlin Wolf - Howlin' Wolf/Moanin' in the Moonlight

MAGNIFICENT
August 31st 2013



191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yes, Wings For Marie has that flaw, one part can't do without the other and it ends up being a ridiculously long song, most of part 1 isn't really necessary, LONG build-up to the climax. But still an all-together gorgeous piece of music.

I agree with you in every point you made, except for what you said about Right In Two, I love that song, lyrically and musically.

And yes, pretty much that. I'll re-listen Lateralus and Aenima. Listening Aenima right now, digging it more than ever. Eulogy's just fantastic.

Yep, Jambi can be boring with all the chugging guitars, it's not supposed to be a melodic song though.

Artuma
August 31st 2013



12185 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

well i 4'd too, it just has a lot more flaws than this

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2013



9744 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yea none are better than lateralus but the title track is pretty damn close

MAGNIFICENT
August 31st 2013



191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yep, 10.000 Days is a 4 for me too, considering everything. But fuck, Aenima is so amazing.

Artuma
August 31st 2013



12185 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this (5.0) > aenima (4.5) > 10k days (4.0) > undertow (3.5) > opiate (3.0)

Artuma
August 31st 2013



12185 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

it's a shame aenima feels so disjointed since otherwise it would be an easy 5 for me

NeroCorleone80
August 31st 2013



28760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this (4.5) > aenima (4.5) > 10k days (4.0) > undertow (3.5) > opiate (3.0)

This is close to a 5 though

MAGNIFICENT
August 31st 2013



191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

It's that disjunction that makes Aenima so special for me. It's an angry record, criticizing society, which is also disjointed. The music characterizes what the record is about, and I can enjoy every single moment of it. Not sure if it's a 5 though. And I'll have to listen to Lateralus after this to try and compare both. Lateralus is a much more structured and pretentious record.

Artuma
August 31st 2013



12185 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

fair enough, it's just that i don't get how cesaro and ions for example could be enjoyable songs

NeroCorleone80
August 31st 2013



28760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I can understand something liking Aenima over this, since its more in your face, but this progs
harder.

Artuma
August 31st 2013



12185 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

prog m/

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2013



9744 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yea it does prog harder. I still love that record though. I see what you mean about ions though like wtf lol

MAGNIFICENT
August 31st 2013



191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

They're not supposed to be enjoyable, I guess it's that enigmatic part of Aenima that makes it so awesome. I don't know for what those songs are there and perhaps I'll never know. It's fascinating. Agreed, I'm a prog lover as well and this progs MUCH harder than anything in Tool's discography. Aenima is Metal. Progressive Metal if you will. Lateralus is a mixture of Progressive Metal and Progressive Rock.

MAGNIFICENT
August 31st 2013



191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I'll just 5 both, Tool are amazing and I guess these are equivalent masterpieces. Aenima showcases Tool's darker and maddest side, it's a narcissist of a record. But Lateralus is that cleverness and proggyness that makes Tool one of my favorite bands. Yeah, 5 for both.

Artuma
August 31st 2013



12185 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"They're not supposed to be enjoyable"

i know that but cesaro and ions are both just weird while die eier is pretty damn cool

MAGNIFICENT
August 31st 2013



191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Die Eier Von Satan is cool, indeed. The funny thing about it is that the spoken words are a cooking
recipe said backwards. Intermission and Message To Harry Manback are great too.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy