Tool Lateralus
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
KILL
August 24th 2013


77906 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

johnnydeturd :D

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 24th 2013


17742 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

hahahahahahaha

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 24th 2013


17742 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

What's wrong with Karnivool might I ask?

MAGNIFICENT
August 31st 2013


191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

So confused with this, don't know if I should 5 it (y'know, every song rules but it drags on too much, as an album it is long but that Disposition/Reflection/Triad trio closing the album, good Lord). Also not sure if I like Aenima or 10.000 Days more than this or not.

Artuma
August 31st 2013


24990 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it would be insane to claim 10,000 days is better than this

Digging: Tom Waits - Bone Machine

KjSwantko
August 31st 2013


9453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Aenima.

MAGNIFICENT
August 31st 2013


191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Actually it wouldn't. 10.000 Days is even more tedious than Lateralus but it has some more standouts. C'mon, Wings For Marie is gorgeous, Vicarious is addictive, The Pot sure brings the groove, Rosetta Stoned is so heavy and so amazing and Intension/Right In Two is just so enigmatic and superb. But yes, as an album 10.000 Days is really tedious, guess Lateralus beats it. But Aenima, now that's complicated, can't decide between both records.

MAGNIFICENT
August 31st 2013


191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Forgot to mention Jambi, it rules hard.

Artuma
August 31st 2013


24990 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"C'mon, Wings For Marie is gorgeous, Vicarious is addictive, The Pot sure brings the groove, Rosetta Stoned is so heavy and so amazing and Intension/Right In Two is just so enigmatic and superb"



wings for marie is gorgeous agreed but it's way too long, vicarious is amazing, the pot is great but can't touch the best songs on lateralus and aenima, rosetta stoned is at the same time such a great and such a stupid song, intension is pretty cool but right in two is rather a lackluster both lyrically and musically imo



and none of the songs on 10,000 days are better than the grudge, lateralus t/t and reflection

Artuma
August 31st 2013


24990 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

plus, jambi is kinda boring at points

NeroCorleone80
August 31st 2013


33754 Comments


Jambi's solo is so good. 10,000 days is a high 4 for me, I dont get why a lot of Tool fans cant get
behind it.

Digging: The Ex - Tumult

MAGNIFICENT
August 31st 2013


191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yes, Wings For Marie has that flaw, one part can't do without the other and it ends up being a ridiculously long song, most of part 1 isn't really necessary, LONG build-up to the climax. But still an all-together gorgeous piece of music.



I agree with you in every point you made, except for what you said about Right In Two, I love that song, lyrically and musically.



And yes, pretty much that. I'll re-listen Lateralus and Aenima. Listening Aenima right now, digging it more than ever. Eulogy's just fantastic.



Yep, Jambi can be boring with all the chugging guitars, it's not supposed to be a melodic song though.

Artuma
August 31st 2013


24990 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

well i 4'd too, it just has a lot more flaws than this

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2013


17742 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yea none are better than lateralus but the title track is pretty damn close

MAGNIFICENT
August 31st 2013


191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yep, 10.000 Days is a 4 for me too, considering everything. But fuck, Aenima is so amazing.

Artuma
August 31st 2013


24990 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this (5.0) > aenima (4.5) > 10k days (4.0) > undertow (3.5) > opiate (3.0)

Artuma
August 31st 2013


24990 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's a shame aenima feels so disjointed since otherwise it would be an easy 5 for me

NeroCorleone80
August 31st 2013


33754 Comments


this (4.5) > aenima (4.5) > 10k days (4.0) > undertow (3.5) > opiate (3.0)

This is close to a 5 though

MAGNIFICENT
August 31st 2013


191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

It's that disjunction that makes Aenima so special for me. It's an angry record, criticizing society, which is also disjointed. The music characterizes what the record is about, and I can enjoy every single moment of it. Not sure if it's a 5 though. And I'll have to listen to Lateralus after this to try and compare both. Lateralus is a much more structured and pretentious record.

Artuma
August 31st 2013


24990 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fair enough, it's just that i don't get how cesaro and ions for example could be enjoyable songs



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy