Fleshgod Apocalypse
King


3.0
good

Review

by Chamberbelain USER (149 Reviews)
February 5th, 2016 | 60 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: LOUD. NOISES.

After nailing a concoction of opposing genres with their debut album “Oracles” Fleshgod Apocalypse would go on to release “Agony” in 2011. This proved to be the polarizing moment for the Italians as it suffered from a crisp production that, in hindsight, could have melded the conflicting genres of death metal and symphony with precision. Two years later “Labyrinth” was released but still followed the path of its predecessor through labyrinthine dynamics which were so vigorously executed that it turned the album into an endurance test. Fleshgod are still a young band though-not even 10 years old yet- and while these albums where tiring, they weren't necessarily unlistenable. “King” is their fourth album and now has the adverse task of reviving the band back to their former sovereignty.

Speed has always been Fleshgod Apocalypse’s weapon of choice and remains a central piece in “King”. Francesco Paoli lets lose his incomprehensibly complex drumming abilities throughout the album which have now been somewhat restrained than previous albums. Instead of building the architecture of a song around his drums, the percussion acts as more of a pillar rather than an entire foundation. Tracks such as “Healing Through War” therefore have a valuable balance between showcasing the speed of the band but also their melodious nature through operatic elements and Trionfera’s guitar hooks. However the speed that they chose to play at is ironically the main pitfall of “King”. The most relentless track here is possibly ‘Mitra’ -to the point of it sounding excessive. Different rhythms from every instrument spiral out from every direction in a completely directionless manner that simply leaves you confused rather than breathless. Each instrument probably sounds focused but when they are all thrown into the same mix the result is total incoherent chaos.

The benefit of Fleshgod Apocalypse’s orchestral façade is that they can portray varying emotions with theatrical visualisation. A playful, mischievous tone is found in ‘The Fool’, anxiousness and paranoia are stirred within the slower ‘Cold as Perfection’ and Veronica Bordacchini’s soprano vocals in the mournful ‘Paramour’ sound superior in every way over any clean vocals that Rossi (backing) and Riccardi (lead) have uttered as well as the aforementioned ‘Cold as Perfection’ where her soaring voice evokes a majestic sensation.

There is of course a distinct prominence of orchestra that shrouds “King”. For the most part, their arrangements are hit or miss with this album. Misfires include ‘In Aeternum’ where Francesco Ferrini’s dramatic orchestration (plus the imperious drumming) obscures most of the guitar work. Nevertheless, his additions in ‘And The Vulture Beholds’ delivers a noble and bombastic aspect which compliment the luxurious guitar melody that seamlessly bursts into a fantastic tremolo solo in total Fleshgod fashion. It’s an invigorating moment that completely refreshes any boredom you may feel listening to this album thus far.

Fleshgod Apocalypse has, once again, created and endurance test of an album that occasionally displays a unique talent at accurately matching two opposing genres; but they still fail to understand that having the ability to play at light speed for sixty minutes does not justify the lack of clarity in production that their albums convey.



Recent reviews by this author
Chelsea Wolfe Hiss SpunMyrkur Mareridt
Ex People BirdArch Enemy Will to Power
Paradise Lost MedusaVenomous Maximus No Warning
user ratings (183)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
February 5th 2016


17214 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4 | Sound Off

This is the only album of theirs that I've heard. It pretty cool while it's playing, but nothing really stands out.

Digging: August Burns Red - Phantom Anthem

TheNotrap
February 5th 2016


8575 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Need to check this out.

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2016


10706 Comments


Good review, the single was really great so I definitely want to pick this up. Art is pretty cool too, hope I enjoy it more than you did.

Digging: Die Verbannten Kinder Evas - Die Verbannten Kinder Evas

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2016


10126 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol at the summary



my only question is if the orchestrations still drown out everything but the vocals and drums. otherwise i always liked this guys a little

Digging: Wolves in the Throne Room - Thrice Woven

Mister Twister
February 5th 2016


2491 Comments


Review states that this is their fifth album near the end of the first paragraph, but it's their fourth. Mafia was an EP.

DungeonBoy
February 5th 2016


2942 Comments


"my only question is if the orchestrations still drown out everything but the vocals and drums. otherwise i always liked this guys a little"

based on the track I heard, yes, and I'd assume the whole album is this way. They are one of those bands where I'll hear like 1:00 of a song and be super stoked on it, and then 3 songs later I'm zoned out.

Digging: Kauan - Kaiho

Dizchu
February 6th 2016


264 Comments


Fleshgod Apocalypse need to either diversify their music to better suit the orchestral arrangements (like Septic Flesh or even Dimmu Borgir), or cut down heavily on the orchestration (like earlier albums, Hour of Penance or Lost Soul) because everything since Mafia has been borderline unlistenable.

Great review.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2016


10126 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i think the mix was a lot better, i could actually hear most of the instruments but the songs weren't as strong as some of their past work. hell gravity sounds like straight up symphonic deathcore (im a deathcore defender but it doesnt work for fleshgod)

Ebola
February 6th 2016


2814 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Labyrinth was fucking horrible (mainly due to its atrocious production), but I actually quite like what I've heard from this so far.

RenegaDrifter
February 7th 2016


258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And sadly the hate brigade continues. What's new. You can't expect anything from this place.......

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2016


10126 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

you know what an opinion is right?

RenegaDrifter
February 7th 2016


258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Opinions are nice. It gets ridiculous when most of the opinions in one place ate literally negative.....



I mean seriously! All the negative Nancys overrun this place. I mean come on! Pre-release, everyone who had the means to hear the album ahead of time, hopefuls and anyone subject to the Spotify slip up had this thing praised for how awesome it is. Come release you jave all the ass holes who probably shouldn't venture out of their comfort zone come spew how aweful Fleshgod are, how they need to be like 'band X Y Z' how they need to slow down for their slow brain. Just bleh. I hate this place sometimes.

METALFACE666
February 7th 2016


345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i hear you bro, stay true

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2016


21822 Comments


Why do you care what other people think of the album? It's pretty obvious you can't handle differing opinions. Also, this is hardly a hate brigade. If you think that it is (especially on this site) you may as well leave now, because i don't think your weak constitution will be able to stomach actually witnessing one.

Digging: Nocturnal Triumph - Into Light's Graven Wound

Dizchu
February 8th 2016


264 Comments


This album has had one rating below a 2.5 so far. One.

Where is this "hate brigade"? We think Fleshgod Apocalypse are a talented band that releases mediocre material, we don't hate them.

Vetimus
February 9th 2016


809 Comments


Just listened to one song, sounds better than that other godawful symphonic walt disney cheese metal they released before.

Ebola
February 9th 2016


2814 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is so fucking good omfg

Cryptkeeper
February 9th 2016


1697 Comments


The cover art is really cool, gonna jam it soon

Digging: Deca - The Ocean

YuriZakhaev
February 9th 2016


395 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That clean section in 'The Fool' tho

TheNotrap
February 11th 2016


8575 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The album is better than I expected.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy