Enslaved Isa
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
jrowa001
May 23rd 2007



8750 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

so i checked this out and i loved it. so far its about even with ruun for me. both albums are just so solid.

Zeruiah
June 30th 2007



4 Comments


I love this band. Although, I have to say Below the Lights is my favorite and this one is slightly overrated. It looks from the ratings that you all disagree with me though.

kalkal50
July 2nd 2007



2386 Comments


the title track is awesome

jrowa001
July 2nd 2007



8750 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

just finished listening to this album again this morning. even though i love this and RUUN equally, this album is the better of the 2. so i upped it from a 4.5 to a 5. the riff in Lunar Force is so damn goodThis Message Edited On 07.02.07

Yazz_Flute
July 3rd 2007



18764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just got this today, and im a little disappointed; this wasn't as good as i expected. Ive only listened to it once so far though so hopefully it will grow on me.

Digging: Cormorant - Dwellings

Cravinov13
July 3rd 2007



3854 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It better, or I will find you in the middle of the night and hurt you. :D

Yazz_Flute
July 4th 2007



18764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah this album definately is a grower, i liking it more and more with each listen. Neogenesis is an amazing track, and the only one i dont particularlry care for is ascension.

Wizard
July 4th 2007



19240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Neogenesis is by far the gem on this amazing album. The opening melody that breaks out into that quick punk rhythm is flawless.

Digging: Cloak of Altering - Plague Beasts

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
July 11th 2007



16263 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is probably one of the more adventurous Black Metal albums I own, it certainly is different. There is a really good vibe I get when listening to this though, its hard to explain. I haven't decided on a rating yet.

Digging: Ulver - Bergtatt

BallsToTheWall
September 7th 2007



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ascension and Return To Yggdrasil are just plain out good clean family fun.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2007



16263 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This wasn't nearly as good as I expected, but it's pretty good.

Ominous Inane
September 8th 2007



188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm listening to this right now, It's so fucking great! I got Blodhemn yesterday and it doesn't even come close to this.

Hails to Enslaved for the sexy tunes!

Yazz_Flute
September 9th 2007



18764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Upped my rating.

I can't tell if I like this or Ruun better =/ Ruun is more solid all around, but this album has neogenesis, and has a better atmosphere to it.



Ominous Inane
September 9th 2007



188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like this one better than Ruun, Every song off Isa has such an amazing atmosphere to it, Though the title track off Ruun does have one of the coolest enslaved parts as a whole Isa wins for me.



Yazz_Flute
September 9th 2007



18764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like this one better than Ruun, Every song off Isa has such an amazing atmosphere to it, Though the title track off Ruun does have one of the coolest enslaved parts as a whole Isa wins for me.



I do agree with the atmosphere on this album, it's about perfect. But while there really aren't any weak points on Ruun, the song "Ascension" on this album is really boring imo. "Neogenesis," "Return to Yggdrasil," and "Lunar Force" make up for though.

And yes, the title track on Ruun slays, beautiful chorus. However, I think I enjoy the first three songs even more than it, the first four songs on Ruun ar definately the best four.

Maybe if I compare songs I can decide...I'll use my ultimate album format. Without the intro and outro on this album, both albums have eight songs. I'll also type which number in order from favorite to least favorite each song is, to show how close they were.

Lunar Force vs Entroper: Hardest one to pick. Within the first few listens of each, I would've picked "Entroper," but LF grew on me. LF: 5th Entroper: 6th

Isa vs Path to Vanir: Both are among the best on their albums, but PtV wins this one, it's just...better. Isa: 8th PtV: 3rd

Ascension vs Fusion of Sense and Earth: Well, Asension is my least fav off Isa and FoSaE is my favorite off Ruun, easy. Asension: 16th FoSaE: 2nd

Bounded by Allegiance vs Ruun: Ruun is a little better here, it's more interesting. BbA is a bit repetitive. BbA: 12th Ruun: 7th

Violet Dawning vs Tides of Chaos: ToC has a cool riff, but is a bit too repetitive, so VD wins. VD: 10th ToC: 13th.

Return to Yggdrasil vs Essense: The former is fantastic, the latter is great, but a bit lacking. RtY: 4th Essense: 11th

Secrets of the Flesh vs Api-Vat: Well, a simple instrumental to a song full of a barrage of catchy riffs. Api-Vat wins. SotF: 15th Api-Vat: 9th

Neodenesis vs Heir to the Cosmic Seed: This one was too easy....the best song off Isa against the worst song off Ruun. Neogenesis: 1st HttCS: 14th

Verdict: Isa: 4, Ruun: 4

It was a fucking tie 0.0

...that was a waste of time.This Message Edited On 09.09.07

BallsToTheWall
September 9th 2007



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

What would you recomend as their best albums? All I have is ruun and isa.

Yazz_Flute
September 9th 2007



18764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

All I have is Ruun and Isa as well.

Itunes has all of their albums except for Mardaum, Monumension, and Below the Lights. I;ve been getting their albums from there cuz fucking FYE doesnt have them.

You should listen to the previews of Frost, Eld, and Blodhemn on itunes, balls. Their debut too I suppose (which is composed of five songs, four around 11 minutes in length)

I've been considered getting either Eld, or Blodhemn next, though Frost was their breakthrough.

btw, if you didn't know, their older albums were pure fucking viking/black metal, not as progressive and refined as these to albums. It kinda sounds like a mix of Emperor and Bathory, only with generally longer songs.

BallsToTheWall
September 9th 2007



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I planned on getting below the lights for awhile. Next time I go on amazon im ordering Below the lights, To-Mera,Colony, and something else.

Yazz_Flute
September 9th 2007



18764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, my birthday's soon (well, November 15th) and when I get all the money i'll get lol,
I'll order Aenema, Lateralus, Carved in Stone, Legacy, (those two are shadow gallery
albums) Anthems at Welkin Dust (I think that's what it's called, the emperor album) and
more Blind Guardian Albums.

I can probably get the Tool and BG albums at FYE, but the others I'll have to order.This Message Edited On 09.09.07

BallsToTheWall
September 9th 2007



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah my christmas is going to be the blackest,darkests and most evil holliday ever. All my gifts, im makin sure or ill be pissed will be black metal related(fancyin to get an extreme metal shirt) all i got is in flames,danzig,jfac,misfits,chimaira, and nightwish. As well as the new deadstar assembly.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy