Darkest Hour Darkest Hour
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
accompliceofmydeath
August 5th 2014


4302 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yo, when did they start singing so much? Have I missed that much since Deliver Us?

Digging: Snapcase - Progression Through Unlearning

jmh886
August 5th 2014


881 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nicely written. Pretty much my thoughts. Though I just can't get myself to give this band anything less than a 3.5. Since you know, they kick major ass.

thelastsignal
August 5th 2014


1586 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Accomplice, this is a new development for DH in terms of all the clean vocals haha. Definitely a huge departure for them.

Jmh, they definitely do kick major ass still. It's just disappointing to see them waste their potential with a release like this.



Digging: The Grouch x Eligh x CunninLynguists - The Winterfire EP

plasmacoil
August 5th 2014


46 Comments


pos'd

jmh886
August 5th 2014


881 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yea, it's honestly pretty decent. There are some killer riffs on here. I think they definitely could have trimmed the fat down to 10 or 11 songs and it would feel like a much better album. But ya know, after 20 years, bands wanna try some new things. And it's not like they did it poorly.

thelastsignal
August 5th 2014


1586 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I disagree to a point with that, though. Some of the riffs were incredible, but whenever a band sheds a genre that they have been a part of for a long time there are bound to be some growing pains. I just think that this sounds like three or four different bands playing on the same album; there is no sense of continuity here. The misuse of clean vocals and plodding tempo some of the songs have don't make sense when listening to the album as a whole. In my opinion of course.

HarryBoBerry
August 5th 2014


203 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This review is on point dude!

A few of the songs are worth downloading, including Hypatia Rising, but they're pretty far removed now from their Kris Norris days and that makes me muy muy sad

thelastsignal
August 5th 2014


1586 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks man! They did well for themselves even without Kris on the past two imo, but this one makes me sad.

HarryBoBerry
August 5th 2014


203 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Tis true, Lonestar has done a good job filling in Kris' shoes. I saw them live a year ago and they pulled off the UR and DU songs no problem.

thelastsignal
August 5th 2014


1586 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, man. I've never understood why people didn't like post-Norris DH because Lonestar is more than serviceable in leads and solos. "Tides" proved that haha.

Progger6009
August 5th 2014


1129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agree and TBH, I dont think Kris would have done a better job on the solos with this record. Lonestar has really improved his overall tech and theory, and Kris is very stiff compared to the more vibrato stuff Mike likes to do.

thelastsignal
August 5th 2014


1586 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yep, definitely two different guitarists, but I enjoy both immensely.

HarryBoBerry
August 5th 2014


203 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah Tides is gnarly! And Terra Nocturnus

jmh886
August 5th 2014


881 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the solo on the tides might be my favorite solo ever

thelastsignal
August 5th 2014


1586 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Agreed. So, so epic. I find myself digging The Eternal Return more and more.

XingKing
August 5th 2014


11069 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

"Agree and TBH, I dont think Kris would have done a better job on the solos with this record"

Pretty sure this record would exist if Norris was in the band

Shuyin
August 5th 2014


12048 Comments


oh.. okay

bobflipaburger
August 5th 2014


3 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I dig John's cleans... I was surprised how much he used them in this album, but I don't think that's a negative. That being said "The Misery That We Make" is kind of boring and not a good choice for their single. "The Goddess Figure" kills though, that's probably the song the stood out to me the most on my initial listen.

I don't get the hate, I enjoyed this album.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
August 5th 2014


8021 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

They have steadily dropped in quality with every album since Deliver Us, culminating in this awful album

Progger6009
August 6th 2014


1129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Pretty sure this record would exist if Norris was in the band"

Dont worry I know what you meant, but your right, Im sure it would sound something like a mixture of TKNP, Cancerous Affair, and Scar the Martyr. All of which are way worse than even this album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy