Darkest Hour Darkest Hour
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
cryptside
Contributing Reviewer
August 1st 2014


2346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, there are a ton of bad songwriting choices here. It's just so far away from what I expect from DH.

Piripichotes
August 1st 2014


81 Comments


Signal I agree, this could've been so much better... The clean choruses sound just so watered down... you have a couple of songs that could belong to undoing or deliver us, up there with sound the surrender or tunguska... but that's about it... just 3 or 4 songs can be saved here... Drumming is superb though.... and John's playing John as usual...

Piripichotes
August 1st 2014


81 Comments


Jesus Lord signal, I just read your review, totally spot on, that's exactly what i feel about this album, and Hypatia and Goddess are my 2 fav tracks here... but they don't belong to this album though....

cryptside
Contributing Reviewer
August 1st 2014


2346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Haha thanks man! Yeah, there's too many avenues that the band takes for it to sound like a coherent record.

MalConstant
August 2nd 2014


71 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Stylistically, the album is all over the place, but man there are some really great songs on here. E

cryptside
Contributing Reviewer
August 2nd 2014


2346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah dude, that's what keeps it at a three for me. There are some great songs on it.

trackbytrackreviews
August 4th 2014


2527 Comments


They're signed to Sumerian? I'm surprised

cryptside
Contributing Reviewer
August 4th 2014


2346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, it is definitely not something I would have expected them to do.

Wizard
August 4th 2014


19922 Comments


Well written review dude.

I've always had a soft spot for these guys and I will probably give this a go.

Yeah, it is definitely not something I would have expected them to do.

But they fit their profile to a tee. As much as I dislike the most of their bands, they focus on the "core" part of metal (ie. "if you riff chug a lot, we will sign you"). Or if you disagree with me, every label has some anomaly band that sticks out like a sore thumb.

Digging: America - Homecoming

cryptside
Contributing Reviewer
August 4th 2014


2346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks Wiz, I appreciate it. Let me know what you think of this; I'm interested to hear what another long-time fan thinks of it.



And don't get me wrong, I meant to express that I wasn't surprised that Sumerian signed them, but rather that Darkest Hour decided to sign with them. It seemed they did fairly well with Victory, but I suppose that it may not really matter what label they sign with to them as long as they have adequate backing.

Nikkolae
August 4th 2014


4956 Comments


about the whole identity crisis that seems to be the issue with this album, i've always felt that most of the times when a band decides to release a self-titled album after a long career its mainly because they cant even be bothered to come up with some new album title, that reflects who they are. i think that is a symptom of the said "lack of passion" of most self titled albums and to a degree this album too, as for the review its amazing so have a pos /rant

Digging: Frank Carter and the Rattlesnakes - Blossom

cryptside
Contributing Reviewer
August 4th 2014


2346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks Nikkolae, appreciate it. I definitely agree with your theory on self-titled albums, it does generally demonstrate a "lazier" direction, if you will. Of course, there are always exceptions to the rule, but in general it signifies the decline of bands or is the final nail in the coffin.

cryptside
Contributing Reviewer
August 4th 2014


2346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ugh, after "Departure" ends and goes into Eternal Return with "Devolution of Flesh" on my ipod, it just makes me miss old DH.

Piripichotes
August 4th 2014


81 Comments


C'mon signal, I gave this a couple of spins again today, I've been a fan since hidden hands, and I have to say (regretfully) that if you took the strongest 5 songs off this record and made it an EP, we would be calling it a classic. Also, I don't think John's harsh vocals have sounded any better than this... (notice I pumped the rating from a 2.5 to a 3, at least 3 songs from this album are better IMO than "your everyday disaster" which was my fav track from human romance).

cryptside
Contributing Reviewer
August 4th 2014


2346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Lol c'mon man, give me a bit more credit. I have at a three for the fact that there are some good songs on here and one really great song. Unfortunately, even though there are some good songs and John's harsh vocals are in top form, the songs are too weighed down by the segmented songwriting style. They attempt to fit too much into the songs, making them seem disjointed and jarring.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 4th 2014


20803 Comments


grats on the feature man!

Digging: The Byrds - Ballad of Easy Rider

cryptside
Contributing Reviewer
August 4th 2014


2346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks, bro! I appreciate it! I see you didn't dig this too much, man. Do you like their older stuff?

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 4th 2014


20803 Comments


yeah it's not terrible just kinda boring. I like deliver us, i think it's a really fun album. I haven't really heard anything else by them though haha

cryptside
Contributing Reviewer
August 4th 2014


2346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Dude, check Undoing Ruin and Hidden Hands when you can. Really great stuff. Payphones and Pills is my jam.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 4th 2014


20803 Comments


i definitely will man, been meaning to check out more stuff by this band anyways



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy