Wovenwar Wovenwar
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
cryptside
Contributing Reviewer
August 4th 2014


2344 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Awesome review, beachdude. It's really great in that it provides plenty of insight into the situation that spawned the band's formation. I'm excited to check this; Atari rec'd it to me as well.

beachdude
August 4th 2014


524 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I didn't like the first paragraph. You're making a lot of assumptions.



That doesn't belong in a review.




I agree with what others said about you making assumptions and saying too much about their previous situation.


You're both probably right, but I was just trying to put this album in context as best as I could, although I agree I probably could've accomplished that better by sticking to the facts. And as far as them being Christian, I made sure to state that both their previous projects were openly faith-based much of the time, but that they explore different territory with this.

cryptside
Contributing Reviewer
August 4th 2014


2344 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I honestly don't think that what you wrote was baseless or unnecessary at all. Obviously just one opinion, but it was an entertaining and informative read.

beachdude
August 4th 2014


524 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I honestly don't think that what you wrote was baseless or unnecessary at all. Obviously just one opinion, but it was an entertaining and informative read.


Thanks man. Depending on how much you enjoy melodic hard rock I think you could enjoy this a lot. Don't go in expecting something super heavy and may be pleasantly surprised.

bobflipaburger
August 5th 2014


8 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

My initial impression was that it was lacking a little intensity... I really liked

"Archers" and "Matter of Time" on my first listen through. Archers is actually still

one of my favorite tracks, when the screams fade out and they go into that really

melodic part with Josh singing the chorus it gave me chills... But then I was blasting

"Tempest" on my way to work on Saturday and it just kind hit me how good this whole

album is... I haven't been able to stop listening to it since (I'm actually listening

to "Prophets" right now haha)... Except when my Darkest Hour pre-order (which is also

excellent) arrived in the mail.

DarkMessengerVI
August 6th 2014


11 Comments


That's actually true about the b-sides. Tim Lambesis said wovenwar were using rejected AILD songs, there's an interview somewhere.

cryptside
Contributing Reviewer
August 7th 2014


2344 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Finally got the chance to listen to this; pretty good stuff. Blay's vocals are incredibly strong, and I think that instrumentally it's perfectly fine. It didn't blow me away, but it's much better than I expected it to be.

Durrzo
August 7th 2014


1180 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I hope this band is around for awhile. Albums with almost entirely clean vocals are very rare in this

genre and it's definitely a nice option to have from time to time. I'm a big fan of all the members of

this band and I'd love to hear what they can put together after they spend a few years really figuring

out their sound.

cryptside
Contributing Reviewer
August 7th 2014


2344 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I love the leads, and Mancino's drumming is always fun to listen to.

bringthegjaw
August 7th 2014


97 Comments


Archers? I wonder if that's in reference to Oh, Sleeper. Regardless, I'm digging this album especially Prophets. Shane's vocals are moooooney!

jmh886
August 7th 2014


986 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

josh gilbert's vocals suck. so monotone. i cringed anytime he sang on AILD tracks.

Durrzo
August 7th 2014


1180 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think his vocals are okay, but Shane is definitely the superior singer. Lots of AILD fans are saying Gilbert should be the primary vocalist. That would definitely be a mistake.



Between the name and Micah's guest spot there's no way Archers isn't a nod to Oh, Sleeper.

cryptside
Contributing Reviewer
August 8th 2014


2344 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Congrats on the feature man!

ScuroFantasma
August 8th 2014


3178 Comments


Congrats on the feature man! [2]

Good review man, pos'd.

Digging: Crooked Sun - Sick Songs

NonApplicable
August 8th 2014


2071 Comments


AILD had an incredible balance that I think they lost with this release. Some great songs on here, but I doubt it'll much staying power with people.

Digging: Hawk Eyes - Everything Is Fine

Wizard
August 8th 2014


19838 Comments


Your review reads like a tabloid article.

Grizzlypyro
August 8th 2014


253 Comments


Good review, not a 4 however.

ssj4gogeta17
August 8th 2014


86 Comments


Congrats on the feature man! [3]

This is just average in my opinion. painfully average

wwf
August 8th 2014


1452 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ew gt



jamming this now

wwf
August 8th 2014


1452 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This feels kinda fresh surprisingly.



Btw I'm going to overanalyze and assume that Bannon stopped doing artworks for this band and Adam D stopped doing production because Tim was crazy and on drugs, just like I assume that Devin Townsend stopped doing production for Darkest Hour because he stopped doing drugs.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy