Wovenwar Wovenwar
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
cryptside
Contributing Reviewer
August 4th 2014


2346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I honestly don't think that what you wrote was baseless or unnecessary at all. Obviously just one opinion, but it was an entertaining and informative read.

beachdude
August 4th 2014


591 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I honestly don't think that what you wrote was baseless or unnecessary at all. Obviously just one opinion, but it was an entertaining and informative read.


Thanks man. Depending on how much you enjoy melodic hard rock I think you could enjoy this a lot. Don't go in expecting something super heavy and may be pleasantly surprised.

bobflipaburger
August 5th 2014


13 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

My initial impression was that it was lacking a little intensity... I really liked

"Archers" and "Matter of Time" on my first listen through. Archers is actually still

one of my favorite tracks, when the screams fade out and they go into that really

melodic part with Josh singing the chorus it gave me chills... But then I was blasting

"Tempest" on my way to work on Saturday and it just kind hit me how good this whole

album is... I haven't been able to stop listening to it since (I'm actually listening

to "Prophets" right now haha)... Except when my Darkest Hour pre-order (which is also

excellent) arrived in the mail.

DarkMessengerVI
August 6th 2014


11 Comments


That's actually true about the b-sides. Tim Lambesis said wovenwar were using rejected AILD songs, there's an interview somewhere.

cryptside
Contributing Reviewer
August 7th 2014


2346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Finally got the chance to listen to this; pretty good stuff. Blay's vocals are incredibly strong, and I think that instrumentally it's perfectly fine. It didn't blow me away, but it's much better than I expected it to be.

Durrzo
August 7th 2014


1219 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I hope this band is around for awhile. Albums with almost entirely clean vocals are very rare in this

genre and it's definitely a nice option to have from time to time. I'm a big fan of all the members of

this band and I'd love to hear what they can put together after they spend a few years really figuring

out their sound.

cryptside
Contributing Reviewer
August 7th 2014


2346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I love the leads, and Mancino's drumming is always fun to listen to.

bringthegjaw
August 7th 2014


97 Comments


Archers? I wonder if that's in reference to Oh, Sleeper. Regardless, I'm digging this album especially Prophets. Shane's vocals are moooooney!

jmh886
August 7th 2014


1082 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

josh gilbert's vocals suck. so monotone. i cringed anytime he sang on AILD tracks.

Durrzo
August 7th 2014


1219 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think his vocals are okay, but Shane is definitely the superior singer. Lots of AILD fans are saying Gilbert should be the primary vocalist. That would definitely be a mistake.



Between the name and Micah's guest spot there's no way Archers isn't a nod to Oh, Sleeper.

cryptside
Contributing Reviewer
August 8th 2014


2346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Congrats on the feature man!

ScuroFantasma
August 8th 2014


3284 Comments


Congrats on the feature man! [2]

Good review man, pos'd.

Digging: Blue Oyster Cult - On Your Feet Or On Your Knees

NonApplicable
August 8th 2014


2161 Comments


AILD had an incredible balance that I think they lost with this release. Some great songs on here, but I doubt it'll much staying power with people.

Wizard
August 8th 2014


19922 Comments


Your review reads like a tabloid article.

Digging: America - Homecoming

Grizzlypyro
August 8th 2014


272 Comments


Good review, not a 4 however.

Digging: Inter Arma - Sky Burial

ssj4gogeta17
August 8th 2014


86 Comments


Congrats on the feature man! [3]

This is just average in my opinion. painfully average

wwf
August 8th 2014


1711 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ew gt



jamming this now

wwf
August 8th 2014


1711 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This feels kinda fresh surprisingly.



Btw I'm going to overanalyze and assume that Bannon stopped doing artworks for this band and Adam D stopped doing production because Tim was crazy and on drugs, just like I assume that Devin Townsend stopped doing production for Darkest Hour because he stopped doing drugs.

beachdude
August 9th 2014


591 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks everyone for the kind words on getting featured... I'm really happy with the feedback I'm still getting. Planning on delving into some slightly older albums in my next few reviews...

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
August 9th 2014


19336 Comments


I just listened to this and I really enjoyed it. Seems like something I would have worshiped in late high school or early college.

Digging: FKA Twigs - M3LL155X



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy