Your Old Droog Your Old Droog
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2014


6114 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

not to validate any claims that tech n9ne is that good, but he makes tracks with a lot of shitty rappers. Also that's a terrible argument dozens of good rappers make songs with bad ones.

Also I don't think you understand what preachy means b

also hil sometimes you give me the impression that rap isn't for you, you just kind of listen to it and try to like it but you don't really know what you're doing in this genre. idk what your thing about nas having substantial shit to say is supposed to mean... every rapper does braggadocio shit; droog's braggadocio is just as good if not better than nas' braggadocio on life is good (i'd argue it's better).

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2014


4435 Comments


I have to check this out. I hadn't heard of this before now (I'm not the most knowledgable of hip-hop fans though), and I've been
looking for more hip-hop to get into. Excellent review though, man.

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2014


6114 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Ahhh preciate it Hernan!

This has been pretty underground actually, seems like a lot of people don't know about this even outside Sputnik so you're not really put of the loop. It's a pretty quick listen though and very good so hopefully you dig it

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2014


1056 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nutty Bars, Loosely in the Store With Pennies, Gunsmoke Cologne, and You Know What Time It Is are all 5/5 for me. And I really fucking like Good Times... light-hearted lines too. Thinking about what to rate this

LambsBread
July 30th 2014


3476 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah i like thought provoking hip hop like KRS MF Grimm 2pac Eligh NAS Kweli etc not run of the mill
rap that takes nothing more than a beat and flow, you are right. I never said I like rap as a genre,
I think its terrible on average, especially modern day stuff and/or mainstream post 97

this isn't bad but its not as good as you are making it out to be, and hopsin isn't bad at all, you
can't really explain why hes bad other than generalities like "corny" which are completely
subjective

and he's not preachy for saying modern day rap is wack and so are most people listening to it

Digging: Ellay Khule - Holy Scriptures

Mojito
July 30th 2014


36 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm interested in this but question: should I pick up the pitch corrected version or just the normal one? Does it make much difference? Good review and based on the comments I'm very keen to get in to this.

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2014


6114 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Guzz: Agreed those are my 4 favorites too. The other joints are all at least 4/5 songs too though
imo

Hil: I was just using those to get an initial point across but I'm happy to elaborate. The biggest
problem I (and I imagine most people) have with Hopsin is that he's so sure he's the second fucking
coming and the leader of 'real' rap and a lot of his schtick is 'yeah i'm that nigga and everyone
else is trash'. He's very very pretentious about being 'good', even moreso than other rappers who
might be cocky and think that they're the shit. Hopsin genuinely believes that he's the best and
that everyone should look up to him and realize how amazing he is and all that ego tripping comes
off as really condescending, not to mention unnecessarily pompous.

All this comes out in his songs and that's what I mean by preachy. He just pontificates incessantly-
-'i'm so fuckin good you're wack you're wack you're wack and everyone should listen to me because
i'm the second fuckin coming bruh' when he really isn't and has no reason to act that way. Not only
does he act like he's a better rapper than everyone else, he acts like he's a better human
being
than you, talmbout all the 'you guys are losers for drinking and smoking i don't do none
of that i'm the second fuckin coming bruh'.

Furthermore he's a pseudo-intellectual at best; I'm sure he and his rabid fanbase thinks he's
nirvana-type enlightened but even his conscious songs aren't nearly as insightful as he wants them
to be, and half the time he just be talkin out his ass about things he just pretends to know about.


And this is all neglecting the fact that even modern day shitty Eminem is better at making shitty
Eminem-rip-off music than he is, and that talent-wise, he's still subpar. His punchlines are mere
jabs, they see through. His content is average at best and he's not nearly as awesome as he thinks
he is and acts like. His attitude is a huge huge huge turn off. His production is terrible. The
contacts only add to the corniness. etc etc etc etc etc

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2014


6114 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Mojito: I would get the original, since that's the actual version that the album is. The 'pitch corrected' version is actually just a pitched up version that's making the rounds called 'pitch corrected' by people who think that this is Nas. IMO it's only worth the listen if you care about this being Nas or not--in that case it's worth listening to but Droog, whether or not he's Nas, intended for this to be listened to in the pitched down version he released it as so anything else is just extra shit.

tl;dr: get the OG, and if you're interested in the 'is this nas?' conversation, then give the pitch corrected version a listen as well.

SomeGuyDude
July 30th 2014


61 Comments


This seems to be a nail in the coffin: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ayZrTBqmEE4

"Imaginary Droog", posted last December. Sounds a helluva lot like this guy, and the name is similar, but I'm not 100% on it. It's still fishy as fuck that the dude is so ridiculously hidden overall. I cannot find a single song he released, not a mixtape, nothing.

At this point it's not "is this Nas" so much as "who is this guy and how did he just show up one day with the best rap album of 2014".

PappyMason
July 30th 2014


903 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Tbh, Droog sounds like a man far removed from the modern rap-game.

Digging: Susumu Yokota - Sakura

guitarded_chuck
July 30th 2014


3009 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this isnt nas and doesn't really sound like him either

BornDeadBuriedAlive
July 30th 2014


408 Comments


If it is Nas, it's an interesting project, but I don't know why he wouldn't put out something of this caliber under his own name. If it isn't Nas, then holy fuck does this sound like Nas. Too much for me to take it completely seriously as a separate entity, at least for the moment. The PRS and Nardwuar references, the top notch wordplay, shit's very well crafted, but the delivery is unnervingly familiar.

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2014


6114 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Yeah droog has gone under a few other names: imaginary droog invisible droog grandmas something (I forget this last one). It is weird but idk if its super convincing for me... Dropping a couple verses here and there to throw people off is a pottery simple task

Also chuck why the 3? You not really feelin this? And did you hear the pitch corrected version? Surprised you think this doesn't sound like nas at all

guitarded_chuck
July 30th 2014


3009 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It does, but I feel like you can tell it isn't, you know what I mean? At first glance of your review and the Internet before listening I thought it actually was Nas, but had to reread everything closer because I was immediately questioning it. Subtleties in their voices don't match up for me. Droog sounds a bit raspier.

I like it and it could be more of a 3.5, which is pretty highly rated in terms of recent hip hop records for me. I'm loving the throwback style and he is skilled and a pleasure to listen to, but I need more breadth and concept I think. That's just the style I prefer.

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2014


6114 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

I actually agree completely. I feel like there are little subtleties that indicate that this is probably not Nas, but you almost have to be looking for them to notice.

To the breadth/concept point, I definitely get that, although I look at this as more of a 'coming out' tape, since it's a short EP. Seems dedicated mostly to just showing people that he has talent and can do braggadocio rap really well. Kind of like a collection of dope songs without any sort of cohesive glue holding it together other than 'well this is just a bunch of really good songs with great lyrics'. It's very mixtape-y rather than an actual album.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2014


4435 Comments


so i gave this a listen today and it is fantastic. both beats and vocals are pure quality. "gunsmoke cologne" and "loosey" i would
say are my two favourites. "gunsmoke" is especially good love the funk-rock sample, the energetic groove just compliment his
rapping so perfectly (or is it the other way around?)

Truthbetold
July 30th 2014


6 Comments


Ok this is getting flat out weird man. Our old friend Droog has released a new song today called get
this "No Messsage" lol.

I was just talking about it was No Message in his music like Nas yesterday. Anyway, he has a concert
coming up September 3rd 2014 at Webster Hall.

This just happens to be one day after The Mass Appeal compilation release date of September 2nd.

How do you just book Webstar Hall the day right after? Just as Ive said, Mass Appeals is definitely
in on this. They were all along. Is it Nas after all? My fucking head hurts man lmao. I still just
dont think its Nas, but who knows now.

https://soundcloud.com/your-old-droog/no-message-feat-rast-rfc


GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2014


6114 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Hernan: I think the production and vocals are symbiotic in that sense, they both make each other better. Really glad to hear you liked this though, those two are jams

Truthbetold: First of all, was "Our old friend" intentional? If so 10 more cool points to you.

Also this is very interesting. First of all, based on this song RFC is very very boring/lame and if Droog is actually making an EP with him, then I think that would be the nail in the 'is he nas' coffin--Nas would never sacrifice quality of a project to keep the ruse of anonymity up.

Webster Hall seems to be a pretty big deal from my 2 minutes of research (they have a wikipedia page so that's kind of huge lol) which means he definitely has some sort of backing from someone with clout. IDK, it's definitely possible that someone could be using this moment to capitalize on the speculation and make a shit ton of money and get Droog a lot of exposure, or it could be Nas making a lot of money.

IDK... But this is getting more and more interesting. I think though that after today I feel more confident about it not being Nas, but at least we finally have confirmation that we'll know the truth within 5 weeks.

EaglesBecomeVultures
July 30th 2014


5245 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you guys are spending way too much time talking about this shitty album

Digging: The Rural Alberta Advantage - Mended With Gold

LambsBread
July 30th 2014


3476 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

He has plenty of reason to act that way, he is on another level lyrically (I mean that he actually
has a message that is interesting and worth listening to, not that he can string a bunch of rhyming
words together) than virtually any of the goofball rappers of this generation pretending to be thugs
and claiming the same things with less justification. Like Freddie Gibbs, or Odd Future

There's nothing wrong with acting like you are a better human being than a bunch of scrubs who do
nothing but sit around pretending their shit smells like roses for smoking pot/drinking and making
money while turning a blind eye to everything that is wrong with the world. The whole 'were all
equal guys, to each their own' is played out and stupid. We aren't all equal, its obvious, and
people who actually do good in the world have the right to rub it in the face of people who are
apathetic, lazy and selfish.

Yeah hes not THAT enlightening, but hes just a kid, and its the thought that counts, and hes really
not nearly as arrogant as you make him out to be, I just think he rubs you the wrong way because you
(probably) do the shit he is making fun of. Just because he disses you doesn't make his music corny.


Not trying to sound like a dick but if you are going to criticize him like that I have to explain
why he says what he does and why its not in any way a bad thing to be telling people they are not as
cool as they think they are, and are really just selfish nihilists.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy