Your Old Droog Your Old Droog
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
July 28th 2014


1061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I DONT KNOWWWWWW.


I mean, FlyLo took forever to come out and say he was Captain Murphy after denying it.

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
July 28th 2014


1061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

http://www.mediafire.com/download/fob8lf76neh9qce/Your+Old+Droog+pitch+corrected.zip



The pitch shifted version is Nas, idgaf

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 28th 2014


6156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

yeah i wanted to link the youtube version in the review but i don't think we can do it on sput

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 28th 2014


6156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Also tho even though that really does sound like nas, peep this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wEbPncYB6Lw

there's some other ones on yt that i saw the other day but the basic jist is if we can pitch nicki
down to sound like jay then it's prolly not outside the realm of possibility that droog could sound
like nas pitched up but still not be nas.

although that's a really thin line of objection/doubt, still worth noting i guess. that pitch
corrected version tho is really really convincing.

Phlegm
July 28th 2014


5112 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah man hard

Digging: Dirty Beaches - Stateless

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2014


1061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah agreed. There's just so many references to him being in the game for awhile, that line about Illmatic, and I remember somewhere a song referencing pseudonyms. At the same time, I just don't see Nas making a song like "Good Times..." at this age.


The real shame is that we're discussing nas/not nas instead of how dope this joint really is. Listened through about 4 times already and it might be my favorite hip hop tape since GKMC

Calc
July 29th 2014


12250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nevermind.

Digging: Milo - A Toothpaste Suburb

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2014


1061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You Know What Time It Is sounds so reminiscent of Shame on a Nigga's production

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2014


6156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Tbh I agree, I don't think anything as a whole has been this good since 2012

Calc
July 29th 2014


12250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is very very good. waaaay better than pinyata imo.

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2014


1061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^this hard

PappyMason
July 29th 2014


1047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This has definitely caught my attention.

Interesting that you mention Jay Electronica, I definitely hear shades of him here - that cat been quiet for a while now.

Digging: Yagya - Rigning

Truthbetold
July 29th 2014


6 Comments


At first I was almost positive it was Nas. Simply because of the perspective, and references are not of a 24 year old. Then I began listening to the EP for the third time, and the Imaginary Droog song "Rhyme strange" I started to think it was rapper The Game. Now I'm almost certain its neither, and just really a white 24 year old guy.

Massappeal said "some say Droog sounds like Nas, others say The Game, others say "Nas and the Game." Thats what made me think it was both, but here are the reasons I think its neither.

1.On Rhyme Strange Droog said "the Droog use to lie about being older, now I lie about being younger." Hes obviously not 24, which makes sense to the older references.

2.No where on the EP is the word "Ni**a used." I cant remember one song by Nas or Game where they dont say that. Is it possible they were conscious of that? Maybe, but I highly doubt it.

3.Every nas tape had some type of message on it. Here its no where to be found, just the braggadocios aspect of an earlier Nas. Even Illmatic had songs like "One Love."

What I think is going on, is Droog is conscious enough to throw mannerisms of The Game and Nas together.

On songs like "You know what time it is" he says "You know Im go get biz with my name on the marquee, make me break out the black hoody, bulls fitted and barkleys"

Now listen to The Games song "House of Pain" first 23 seconds, "Catch me if you can Im in those old school barkleys"

Coincidence that the first seconds of each song mentions that? You decide

On U47, Droog says Im neutral not a blood or crip, well The Game is obviously not neutral, hes a blood.

Last but not least the last most convincing piece of evidence, is someone recently uploaded an old freestyle of his

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k0g480_yZc0&list=UUjJYNs9lMejhdZM7_5c19sA

I'll leave it up to you all to decide if its Nas still, but with all the hiding hes doing, Im kind of convinced its not Nas.

Droog said "All I needed was Weed Liquor and Wikipedia" looks like hes accomplished his mission. Though Mass Appeal is still in on it as promotion.


Truthbetold
July 29th 2014


6 Comments


EDIT "I meant i think hes not a 24 year old, but is a white guy."

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2014


1061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thats a really cool analysis. Way to bust through with your first two comments being ambitious. I thought it was weird the tape barely ever said "Fuck," didn't even notice "Nigga" not being used.

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2014


6156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Inb4 truthbetold is actually droog

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2014


6156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

That is very interesting though, I also didn't notice the lack of nigga

With regards to the lines being similar to game, I noticed that with a couple lines too that are similar to something nas has said too.

I honestly think it's a case of whoever this is being clever and leaving Easter eggs to make people think one way or another. He's clearly aware of the comparisons that people are liable to make and I think he probably likes to take advantage of those, or at the very least shout those influences out or otherwise be compelled by them (whether knowingly or subconsciously). And since he's clearly pushing the whole 24yo Russian wiffleball pro angle the nigga thing makes sense. I wouldn't rule out him being black just based on that though. It could very well be another calculated move on his part in service of disguising his true identity.

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2014


1061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Gnar, tell Dev to put this on front page(AKA, not just in the Staff section) that way word spread moreso. Review is ace as is the tape





And I did the biggest double-take at your post. IT ALL MAKES SENSE

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2014


6156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Yeah I've been trying to come up with some way to promote this tape better because I think it might be too old to feature (althought I've gotten a review featured off an album the dropped over a month ago before, but that was during a kind of slow week I think), but it might be time to hit Jom, Dev about it and see what we can do. There's too many people on this site who would love this tape for it to be ignored.

PappyMason
July 29th 2014


1047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy