Your Old Droog Your Old Droog
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
July 25th 2014


1616 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Was hoping for something pretty sweet just by the Clockwork Orange reference. Was not disappointed. Great review too.

someguest
July 26th 2014


20572 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A hip-hop track from 2014 that isn't a trap beat? Sign me up.

Inveigh
July 26th 2014


24968 Comments


yeah this is up there with Pinata for hip hop aoty for me

FreddieDelaney31
July 26th 2014


60 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

He definitely sounds strikingly like Nas at points flow-wise but for some reason I just really feel this isn't him. I found it really interesting that he references the Bulls though, so who knows

Digging: State Faults - Resonate/Desperate

someguest
July 26th 2014


20572 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It is totally Nas.

RadicalEd
July 26th 2014


2649 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dayum the guy can rap.

and this is not nas... nas has not had a song as driven as "Gunsmoke" in the last 10 years.

Digging: U2 - Songs of Innocence

FelixCulpa
July 26th 2014


1240 Comments


Damn. This is some superb stuff.

EaglesBecomeVultures
July 26th 2014


5242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Also note that the every other rapper stfu thing does not apply to Black Thought or Push. Maybe Kendrick.

kdot at the top

i'll peep this

Digging: Yung Lean - Unknown Memory

SomeGuyDude
July 26th 2014


60 Comments


I'm not sold that it's not Nas. The only "proof" has been one article saying "I met Droog" and then a single photograph with the claim that it's the kid.

Right now it's feeling like some Captain Murphy shit.

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 26th 2014


6111 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Yeah that's not proof enough for me either. Iirc nas said it wasn't him but same goes for that. Until he comes out on stage and performs I don't think anyone will be convinced

Supercoolguy64
July 27th 2014


1525 Comments


amazing album cover
gonna check this out

Digging: Johnny Hobo and the Freight Trains - Love Songs For The Apocalypse

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2014


1046 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"A hip-hop track from 2014 that isn't a trap beat? Sign me up."



sigh...



Also, I think this very well could be Nas. Nas not playful? Did you guys listen to Nas and Damian Marley? Anyways, flow? Check. Voice? Check. And the beats sound very reminiscent to NY State of Mind on each track. I think Nutty Bars is my favorite track first time through it.


Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2014


1046 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Remember that Captain Murphy isn't FlyLo either, right guys?

someguest
July 27th 2014


20572 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I came here expecting a lot more than six votes by this point. What are you idiots listening to?

EaglesBecomeVultures
July 27th 2014


5242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

shabazz and new merch

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 28th 2014


6111 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

For real man it's a shame nobody has heard this

Thread will probably blow up tho if Nas comes out and says this is him.

Also, I feel like every point made for or against this being Nas can be flipped to be evidence for the opposite. Or, just as well, refuted. To the point where as much fun as it is to speculate who this is (I'd actually be really happy if this turned out to be Jay Electronica -- and knowing how versatile and talented he is, it's not tooo big of a stretch to think it could be him) it's probably a fruitless endeavor. Oh well. At least it's the tits.

Phlegm
July 28th 2014


4671 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hmm

Digging: ##### - #####

iswimfast
July 28th 2014


1313 Comments


slays my goodness

Digging: Cymbals Eat Guitars - LOSE

sharkmsc
July 28th 2014


65 Comments


http://www.complex.com/music/2014/06/your-old-droog-is-not-nas

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 28th 2014


6111 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Is that convincing enough for you?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy