Betraying the Martyrs Phantom
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Diamondize
July 18th 2014


1367 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

their drummer is a monster but even he can't save this

so much wasted talent in the band mostly held back by aaron matts

nice review dude

Digging: Dead Can Dance - Within the Realm of a Dying Sun

Betray
July 18th 2014


3156 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

@Scuro Thanks man :D

@Diamondize Their drummer didn't do much for me here. Those vox are pretty bad. Thanks bro!

Digging: Scar Symmetry - Pitch Black Progress

Gameofmetal
July 18th 2014


1382 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Spot on review. Props. I agree that the clean vocals should probably be removed.

Gameofmetal
July 18th 2014


1382 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Oh if your going for an average instead of a lower rating for this, I think it would be more appropriate to point out something they did right. If it had a 2.5 they probably had at least a couple of those moments but it seems like you didn't mention anything but negatives.

Betray
July 18th 2014


3156 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks a lot. Yeah, this band would be much better with no clean vocals. I could see how this could read like a 2.0, but I dunno. I thought 'average' described this album better than poor; mainly because it's obvious that the band has the talent and ideas to be good.

Gameofmetal
July 18th 2014


1382 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ah. Understandable. I haven't given it a full listen yet besides.

peartnoy
July 19th 2014


1189 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Jigsaw is so weird. It changes tempo like 4 times in the first 30 seconds.

Haven't listened to everything yet but so far Walk Away is my favorite. I don't why you pointed it out as a negative. I love the way the melodic progression of the prec-chorus/chorus is constantly changing key, it's really beautiful in my opinion.

And yeah Let it go is pretty boss too haha

Betray
July 19th 2014


3156 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Walk Away is terrible for me.

ScarlettPimpernail
July 22nd 2014


206 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Vocals are unlistenable here

Digging: Tower of Rome - All Is Lost...All Is Lost...All Is Yet To Be Found

Betray
July 22nd 2014


3156 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah, there's decent instrumentation here but the two vocalists pretty much ruin it

Tyrael
July 22nd 2014


20883 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The vocals are ruined by the awful production and dumb electronic effects they used on them

I also can't believe they ruined Let it Go

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

Betray
July 22nd 2014


3156 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

u mean udon't like microsoft sam vox bro?!?1

Tyrael
July 22nd 2014


20883 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

2Deep4U

Devastator
July 22nd 2014


2499 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Album is 2 br00t41

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

Betray
July 22nd 2014


3156 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

totes br00tz

peartnoy
July 22nd 2014


1189 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah the biggest disappointment is Matts' vocals. They were so good on their debut but the way they're produced here is so fucking obnoxious.

thelastsignal
July 22nd 2014


1370 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Nice one, Betray. This is definitely a mess of bad ideas. Clean vocals are lacking, and none of the songs have any definitive identity.

Betray
July 22nd 2014


3156 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks man.

That's the second-biggest downfall of this album behind only the vocals.

There's so many different ideas and influences for each track here that the album as a whole comes off as a complete mess.

FrozenVain
July 24th 2014


2438 Comments


OH MY FUCKING SHIT
that let it go cover is so fucking cringe

Betray
July 24th 2014


3156 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah not the greatest song I've ever heard

shit



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy