Musk Ox Woodfall
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2014


6254 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"there's a lot of these fluffy buzz-cliches"

Are there any other instances of this you noticed in my review, Calc? I assure you it wasn't my intention to come across as not
knowing what I'm talking about so I would really like to edit those out.

Digging: Porcupine Tree - In Absentia

Evreaia
July 5th 2014


4045 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

incredible review, incredible album.

AOTY, nothing will top it!

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2014


19911 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

not sure how much editing you've done after calc's comment, but I thought this was a great read man!

also, I had no idea this was 6 years in the making, but I suppose it takes time to create a masterpiece like this. Album is so so fucking good. Hard Pos



Digging: Dornenreich - Freiheit

Futures
July 5th 2014


11631 Comments


jamming this really soon

Digging: Mock Orange - Nines & Sixes

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2014


19911 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

another thing, you and evreaia have both compared this to Vali now, so I'm stoked to check them out

Evreaia
July 5th 2014


4045 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I personally think this album shares a lot of similarities with last years Vali,

both are exceptionally good, forward thinking and challenging releases. Took a lot of years to write (Vali took 8, this took 6), both are instrumental, and know how to create some serious atmosphere.

I kind of give the edge to Vali, but damn both groups have released an obvious classic.

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2014


6254 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks Atari and Evreaia!

Atari I did a bit of editing after Calc's comment, but the overall gist of my review is still the same so I'm glad you liked it!

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2014


6254 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Evreaia This definitely has similarities, but I really like both albums for the same reason. I'd say this album is on par if not slightly superior to Vali's release last year, which was a hard 4.5 and close to my AOTY. Love the atmosphere on both albums of course but Woodfall seems to have slightly more depth to it.

Evreaia
July 5th 2014


4045 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I prefer Vali slightly (though Vali debut is superior to both).

However, what i like about Musk ox are the longer arrangements, Vali has shorter songs, which result in a more diverse but fractured release, Musk ox is more cohesive.

Evreaia
July 5th 2014


4045 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

really hope this album gets the spotlight it deserves

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2014


19911 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

if i like Vali better than this you guys may never hear from me again (my brain will explode)

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2014


6254 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I hope so too Evreaia. Just requested for this to get featured, fingers crossed that the mods feature
it! And funny enough, I actually wasn't too crazy about Forlatt. I enjoyed it, don't get me wrong, but
I thought Vali's latest offering was a huge improvement.

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2014


6254 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Atari I'm annoyed as hell that I never rec'd you Vali all this time! I've been jamming Vali for like a year now and I know you love folk so I have no excuse.

Evreaia
July 5th 2014


4045 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the shorter songs from Skogslandskap kinda bothered me on certain listening, to much diversity and not enough space for letting them breathe/come to their full potential.

Forlatt did not have this, and had an overall darker sound. I would compare this album more to forlatt than to Skogslandskap, only even longer songs.

first three songs on this are pure perfection!

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2014


6254 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I should probably relisten to Forlatt then. Now I'm much more into instrumental folk now than I was back when I first started jamming Vali, I think I may enjoy it a lot more.

Evreaia
July 5th 2014


4045 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I remember hearing this kind of music for the first time, was a "metal-only" person back then.

Damn, it hit me like a truck.

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2014


6254 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Same with me actually. In fact, Agalloch was actually the band that got me into this music. At first I
really dug Agalloch's more metal stuff, but then I just fell in love with the folkiness of their music
and I was hooked.

BMDrummer
July 5th 2014


8616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Damn, why so many good albums this year :]

bnelso55
July 5th 2014


168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review! I'm glad to see this record getting some attention. It is fantastic.

Friday13th
July 5th 2014


2546 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is great. Nice find, guys. Could use a bit more variety, but for what it is it's stunning.

Digging: Donovan - A Gift From A Flower To A Garden



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy