Musk Ox Woodfall
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2014


20715 Comments


another thing, you and evreaia have both compared this to Vali now, so I'm stoked to check them out

Digging: Tigers on Trains - Grandfather

Evreaia
July 5th 2014


4218 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I personally think this album shares a lot of similarities with last years Vali,



both are exceptionally good, forward thinking and challenging releases. Took a lot of years to write (Vali took 8, this took 6), both are instrumental, and know how to create some serious atmosphere.



I kind of give the edge to Vali, but damn both groups have released an obvious classic.

Digging: Goldmund - All Will Prosper

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2014


7257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks Atari and Evreaia!



Atari I did a bit of editing after Calc's comment, but the overall gist of my review is still the same so I'm glad you liked it!

Digging: Venetian Snares - Rossz Csillag Allat Szuletett

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2014


7257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Evreaia This definitely has similarities, but I really like both albums for the same reason. I'd say this album is on par if not slightly superior to Vali's release last year, which was a hard 4.5 and close to my AOTY. Love the atmosphere on both albums of course but Woodfall seems to have slightly more depth to it.

Evreaia
July 5th 2014


4218 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I prefer Vali slightly (though Vali debut is superior to both).



However, what i like about Musk ox are the longer arrangements, Vali has shorter songs, which result in a more diverse but fractured release, Musk ox is more cohesive.

Evreaia
July 5th 2014


4218 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

really hope this album gets the spotlight it deserves

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2014


20715 Comments


if i like Vali better than this you guys may never hear from me again (my brain will explode)

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2014


7257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I hope so too Evreaia. Just requested for this to get featured, fingers crossed that the mods feature

it! And funny enough, I actually wasn't too crazy about Forlatt. I enjoyed it, don't get me wrong, but

I thought Vali's latest offering was a huge improvement.

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2014


7257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Atari I'm annoyed as hell that I never rec'd you Vali all this time! I've been jamming Vali for like a year now and I know you love folk so I have no excuse.

Evreaia
July 5th 2014


4218 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the shorter songs from Skogslandskap kinda bothered me on certain listening, to much diversity and not enough space for letting them breathe/come to their full potential.



Forlatt did not have this, and had an overall darker sound. I would compare this album more to forlatt than to Skogslandskap, only even longer songs.



first three songs on this are pure perfection!

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2014


7257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I should probably relisten to Forlatt then. Now I'm much more into instrumental folk now than I was back when I first started jamming Vali, I think I may enjoy it a lot more.

Evreaia
July 5th 2014


4218 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I remember hearing this kind of music for the first time, was a "metal-only" person back then.



Damn, it hit me like a truck.

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2014


7257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Same with me actually. In fact, Agalloch was actually the band that got me into this music. At first I

really dug Agalloch's more metal stuff, but then I just fell in love with the folkiness of their music

and I was hooked.

BMDrummer
July 5th 2014


12274 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Damn, why so many good albums this year :]

Digging: Elemantra - You Feel Bad About You

bnelso55
July 5th 2014


518 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review! I'm glad to see this record getting some attention. It is fantastic.

Friday13th
July 5th 2014


3848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is great. Nice find, guys. Could use a bit more variety, but for what it is it's stunning.

Digging: Lucio Battisti - Anima latina

zaruyache
July 5th 2014


9017 Comments


Casually listened to some of this a while ago and got bored with it. Need to give it another go, though, as I've got basically the rest of their discog downloaded and I dig it all.

Digging: False - Untitled

ChoccyPhilly
July 5th 2014


10030 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This sounds exactly like my kinda thing. Will check out

Digging: Bosse-de-Nage - All Fours

Wildorwhat
July 6th 2014


88 Comments


lol this guy went to my high school, nice guy

elbaliem
July 6th 2014


965 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

aoty contender fo sho



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy