Kasabian 48:13
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
iliasvas1
June 10th 2014


16 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"I actually think this is their strongest and - contrary to your review - best crafted album to date. Obviously it's nowhere near as Godly as they'd have us believe, but I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it, especially after Velociraptor! which I thought was pretty lackluster."



totally agree

StickFeit
June 10th 2014


116 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Have it on repeat all day just to get in it, Stevie is fun!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
June 10th 2014


3575 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

@Ali - I understand your opinion. I thought Velociraptor was the most careful crafted record they have put out (plus I like its psychedelic feel). There are some great trackes here (like Stevie!), but overall it pales in comparison.

Digging: Ufomammut - Ecate

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
June 10th 2014


4118 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

turnin' my milk sour

Digging: Courtney Barnett - Sometimes I Sit And Think, and I Sometimes I Just Sit

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2014


3575 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

that's gonna be a great catch phrase lol

sonictheplumber
June 11th 2014


5220 Comments


keep thinkin this is st vitus born too late

DrGunther
June 12th 2014


190 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Cool review as usual Raul. Enjoyed most of their albums so will no doubt give this a spin in the next couple of weeks.



Their singles approach annoys me a bit (i.e. West Ryder), whereas the last album was a slow burner and more of a whole album listen. Saw them live headlining a festival in '07 and they were great fun but the 'hits' aren't what I'd sit and listen to at home or in the car.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 12th 2014


10434 Comments


You've been doing well in terms of reviewing, Raul. Makes me want to cover a few more significant releases from the year.

Digging: CHON - Grow

jefflebowski
June 12th 2014


8260 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

there's too much pointless electronic widdling (which is not serge's strong point) which alternates with balls-out anthems and nothing in between

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
June 12th 2014


3575 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Thanks guys!



@Omaha - This is one of the few mainstream music reviews I've written in a while. I'm going back to the obscure stuff next haha. You've been keeping a low profile lately or I suck and haven't found your reviews.



@Jefflebowski - Exactly. Their twangy riffs work better than weird electronic sounds that have little substance. Hopefully they'll go back to the guitars.



@DrGunther - Their music works a lot better live. I missed them a couple of years ago, but from what I've seen on Youtube they are pretty good live. Velociraptor still remains their most consistent stuff yet.

Firestarter
June 14th 2014


278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I hated this album on the first couple of listens to it have grown on me massively. Love that outro to Explode and the Chorus in Bow is infectious. Also, why are there so few ratings for this? Are Kasabian not very big outside the UK? They are massive here!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
June 15th 2014


3575 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

I was thinking this was gonna be bigger too, but aparently Sputnik's not very keen on Kasabian. They have become pretty big in Europe lately, however, UK holds their biggest fan base.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
July 1st 2014


16382 Comments


Nice review, this is a bit shit from what I've listened to

Digging: Tune - Identity

Artuma
July 1st 2014


17962 Comments


haven't listened to the whole album yet but

everything else in the world > eez-eh > some terrible 0.5 stuff >>>>>>>>>>>> album art

Digging: The Jim Yoshii Pile-Up - It's Winter Here

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 17th 2014


8470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

This is a whole lot of fun. Totally works as a summer record for me.

Digging: Unearth - Watchers of Rule

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 20th 2014


3575 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

I have to admit I forgot about it completely in the past month lol. It's a shame, because I was obsessed with Velociraptor! .

BMDrummer
September 25th 2014


11179 Comments


lol this band

ExplosiveOranges
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2014


4121 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Still not on Spotify.

Digging: Kendrick Lamar - To Pimp a Butterfly

BMDrummer
September 25th 2014


11179 Comments


i saw this interview with their guitarist where they said they thought they were one of the last rock bands on earth and that this album is really important because of that lol

zakalwe
September 25th 2014


9973 Comments


Biggest bunch of fakers walking the planet dude.
Total bunch of bellends



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy