Kasabian 48:13
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
iliasvas1
June 10th 2014


10 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"I actually think this is their strongest and - contrary to your review - best crafted album to date. Obviously it's nowhere near as Godly as they'd have us believe, but I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it, especially after Velociraptor! which I thought was pretty lackluster."

totally agree

StickFeit
June 10th 2014


66 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Have it on repeat all day just to get in it, Stevie is fun!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
June 10th 2014


3450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

@Ali - I understand your opinion. I thought Velociraptor was the most careful crafted record they have put out (plus I like its psychedelic feel). There are some great trackes here (like Stevie!), but overall it pales in comparison.

Digging: Mark Lanegan - Phantom Radio

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
June 10th 2014


2908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

turnin' my milk sour

Digging: Botch - We Are the Romans

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2014


3450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

that's gonna be a great catch phrase lol

sonictheplumber
June 11th 2014


4629 Comments


keep thinkin this is st vitus born too late

DrGunther
June 12th 2014


184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Cool review as usual Raul. Enjoyed most of their albums so will no doubt give this a spin in the next couple of weeks.

Their singles approach annoys me a bit (i.e. West Ryder), whereas the last album was a slow burner and more of a whole album listen. Saw them live headlining a festival in '07 and they were great fun but the 'hits' aren't what I'd sit and listen to at home or in the car.

Digging: The Machine - Calmer Than You Are

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 12th 2014


10284 Comments


You've been doing well in terms of reviewing, Raul. Makes me want to cover a few more significant releases from the year.

jefflebowski
June 12th 2014


8253 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

there's too much pointless electronic widdling (which is not serge's strong point) which alternates with balls-out anthems and nothing in between

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
June 12th 2014


3450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Thanks guys!

@Omaha - This is one of the few mainstream music reviews I've written in a while. I'm going back to the obscure stuff next haha. You've been keeping a low profile lately or I suck and haven't found your reviews.

@Jefflebowski - Exactly. Their twangy riffs work better than weird electronic sounds that have little substance. Hopefully they'll go back to the guitars.

@DrGunther - Their music works a lot better live. I missed them a couple of years ago, but from what I've seen on Youtube they are pretty good live. Velociraptor still remains their most consistent stuff yet.

Firestarter
June 14th 2014


277 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I hated this album on the first couple of listens to it have grown on me massively. Love that outro to Explode and the Chorus in Bow is infectious. Also, why are there so few ratings for this? Are Kasabian not very big outside the UK? They are massive here!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
June 15th 2014


3450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

I was thinking this was gonna be bigger too, but aparently Sputnik's not very keen on Kasabian. They have become pretty big in Europe lately, however, UK holds their biggest fan base.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
July 1st 2014


16057 Comments


Nice review, this is a bit shit from what I've listened to

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

Artuma
July 1st 2014


14412 Comments


haven't listened to the whole album yet but

everything else in the world > eez-eh > some terrible 0.5 stuff >>>>>>>>>>>> album art

Digging: Fleurety - Min Tid Skal Komme

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 17th 2014


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

This is a whole lot of fun. Totally works as a summer record for me.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 20th 2014


3450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

I have to admit I forgot about it completely in the past month lol. It's a shame, because I was obsessed with Velociraptor! .

Futures
September 25th 2014


11684 Comments


stevie is a really really good song

Digging: Mock Orange - Nines & Sixes

BMDrummer
September 25th 2014


8692 Comments


lol this band

ExplosiveOranges
September 25th 2014


3158 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Still not on Spotify.

Digging: Winterfylleth - The Divination Of Antiquity

Futures
September 25th 2014


11684 Comments


nothing wrong with this band



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy