Anathema Distant Satellites
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TzarChasm
June 6th 2014


166 Comments


The only Anathema song that hasn't bored me since they released A Natural Disaster is "A Simple Mistake." I'll never understand why people slobber all over We're Here because We're Here and Weather Systems.

Wadlez
June 6th 2014


4670 Comments


I happen to enjoy beautiful music.

zxlkho
June 6th 2014


3472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the electronic elements on this album are so fucking cool

Irving
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2014


7320 Comments


Oh wow new Anathema

AND OH WOW WILLIE REVIEW

ksoflas
June 6th 2014


458 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is sweet.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2014


7320 Comments


Also, to be honest, that description about the electronics bit is probably the main reason why i wanna get off my chair and find a copy of this right now lol.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2014


6337 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

Excellent review.

I really like the gloomy vibe of this album (as in a 3.5+). Besides the reddish album art, I think that musically, it hints back to A Natural Disaster and Hindsight compilation.

I'll be picking this up for sure.

Digging: Madred - Supersonic Brainfuck Overdrive

Ocean of Noise
June 6th 2014


567 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I 100% agree with the rating and the review. This album is really great but it's just not as consistent as some of their better albums.

Digging: The Smashing Pumpkins - Monuments to An Elegy

OmairSh
June 6th 2014


11924 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed unfortunately, still has good moments as expected though

LOVE SO STROOOOOONG IT HUUURTS

Damn you Anathema for making me passionately sing cheesy lyrics yet again



Digging: Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan - Mustt Mustt

Ocean of Noise
June 6th 2014


567 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That song rules. Probably my favourite from this one

Ocean of Noise
June 6th 2014


567 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Actually Dusk might be better. idk. Lots of good tracks on here

sonictheplumber
June 6th 2014


4763 Comments


need to listen some 2014 shit damn

OmairSh
June 6th 2014


11924 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Still living in the 70's eh

Vocal lines on Take shelter are ridiculously similar to Sigur Ros

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2014


28808 Comments


always wondered if i'd like these guys

Digging: Charli XCX - Sucker

Whispered4tw
June 6th 2014


629 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Done with the first listen and everything is quite pretty. 'You're not Alone' and 'Firelight' do absolutely nothing to me though, and 'The Lost Song, Part 3' feels a bit unnecessary.

And the title track, while good enough as it is, keeps giving me the impression that there should have been more to it. It just kind of stops progressing after a certain point, takes its sweet time with a slow bridge and keeps repeating the chorus till they decide enough is enough.

Rowan5215
June 6th 2014


28794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Disagree with the review, the last stretch of this album is easily my favourite part of it
Great write-up though

Digging: Sharon Van Etten - Are We There

OmairSh
June 6th 2014


11924 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Secon half of the t/t didn't need vocals. Just layers of atmosphere and twisted electronic sounds.

Rowan5215
June 6th 2014


28794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Is it weird if I say I like Danny's voice more than Vincent's

Wizard
June 6th 2014


19641 Comments


So what you're telling me Willie is to check out Anathema even though I wasn't into their first few albums?

Digging: Ash Borer - Cold of Ages

Willie
Moderator
June 6th 2014


16145 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

So what you're telling me Willie is to check out Anathema even though I wasn't into their first few albums?
How could you not be into Serenades?

Digging: Mors Principium Est - Dawn Of The 5th Era



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy