Anathema Distant Satellites
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Wadlez
June 6th 2014


4913 Comments


I happen to enjoy beautiful music.

zxlkho
June 6th 2014


3491 Comments


the electronic elements on this album are so fucking cool

Irving
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2014


7501 Comments


Oh wow new Anathema

AND OH WOW WILLIE REVIEW

ksoflas
June 6th 2014


1087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is sweet.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2014


7501 Comments


Also, to be honest, that description about the electronics bit is probably the main reason why i wanna get off my chair and find a copy of this right now lol.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2014


7454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

Excellent review.



I really like the gloomy vibe of this album (as in a 3.5+). Besides the reddish album art, I think that musically, it hints back to A Natural Disaster and Hindsight compilation.



I'll be picking this up for sure.

Ocean of Noise
June 6th 2014


8957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I 100% agree with the rating and the review. This album is really great but it's just not as consistent as some of their better albums.

Digging: Camel - Mirage

OmairSh
June 6th 2014


14127 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed unfortunately, still has good moments as expected though



LOVE SO STROOOOOONG IT HUUURTS



Damn you Anathema for making me passionately sing cheesy lyrics yet again





Digging: Body Count - Bloodlust

Ocean of Noise
June 6th 2014


8957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That song rules. Probably my favourite from this one

Ocean of Noise
June 6th 2014


8957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Actually Dusk might be better. idk. Lots of good tracks on here

sonictheplumber
June 6th 2014


8419 Comments


need to listen some 2014 shit damn

OmairSh
June 6th 2014


14127 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Still living in the 70's eh



Vocal lines on Take shelter are ridiculously similar to Sigur Ros

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2014


30497 Comments


always wondered if i'd like these guys

Whispered4tw
June 6th 2014


832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Done with the first listen and everything is quite pretty. 'You're not Alone' and 'Firelight' do absolutely nothing to me though, and 'The Lost Song, Part 3' feels a bit unnecessary.



And the title track, while good enough as it is, keeps giving me the impression that there should have been more to it. It just kind of stops progressing after a certain point, takes its sweet time with a slow bridge and keeps repeating the chorus till they decide enough is enough.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2014


38499 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

Disagree with the review, the last stretch of this album is easily my favourite part of it

Great write-up though

Digging: A Lot Like Birds - DIVISI

OmairSh
June 6th 2014


14127 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Secon half of the t/t didn't need vocals. Just layers of atmosphere and twisted electronic sounds.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2014


38499 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

Is it weird if I say I like Danny's voice more than Vincent's

Wizard
June 6th 2014


20078 Comments


So what you're telling me Willie is to check out Anathema even though I wasn't into their first few albums?

Willie
Moderator
June 6th 2014


17089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

So what you're telling me Willie is to check out Anathema even though I wasn't into their first few albums?
How could you not be into Serenades?

Digging: The Birthday Massacre - Under Your Spell

Scoot
June 6th 2014


18645 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

big fan of their last two albums



so far this one is good too



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy