Agalloch The Serpent and the Sphere
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Totengott
May 12th 2014


1177 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review. I finally rated it myself after trying to let it grow on me, but it never did apart from
a couple parts and the track ''Celestial Effigy''.

I also enjoyed the acoustic tracks, which add a sort of atmosphere to the album, but these aren't even
written by the band.

I'm disappointed. Time to listen to The Mantle.

Digging: Head Control System - Murder Nature

Wizard
May 12th 2014


19519 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Loving the hate in this thread so far. Please keep it up.

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

emester
May 12th 2014


3931 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice review Crysis. Album's probably the biggest disappointment of 2014

Digging: Falls of Rauros - Believe in No Coming Shore

Motiv3
May 12th 2014


8938 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review as usual Crysis.

Tyrael
May 12th 2014


20900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

terrible comments so far Wizard, keep it up

Amebix
May 12th 2014


240 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

How come that the old users think they have some wisdom over new users here on sputnik?

Also ever thought about that this is the only site, where there is hate for that album.
I mean the overall rating is 3.5 which means "great", but funnily all the haters come out and think they have something to say about this.

If you are not up to listen to multilayered music, I advise you again, listen to some crap Iron Maiden, Insomnium or any other generic metal band.

ti0n
May 12th 2014


1455 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hm but this is a generic yet enjoyable album by a band generally being amazing

Digging: ...And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead - IX

OldCrime
May 12th 2014


26 Comments


Great review.

When they first released celestial effigy
I thought it was pretty boring but after
listening to the whole album its
definitely a highlight. The other (as you
mentioned) being the astral dialogue.



Gyromania
May 12th 2014


15941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol iron maiden and insomnium generic

Digging: Lantlos - .neon

stop
May 12th 2014


22 Comments


"If you are not up to listen to multilayered music"
:DDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD

TheBarber
May 12th 2014


1977 Comments


lol Amebix stop shoving down your opinion and arguing music with generalized statistics from other sites, you're not appearing like the hot shit badass you think you're being right now but really as some bitchy brat "advising" us (ugh) as if we were inherently inferior to you in terms of having an opinion.
Since you like to argue in numbers then did you notice that you're seen here by pretty much everyone as some random annoying twit (to put it lightly), "ever thought about that"?. I'll "advise" you to stfu

Digging: Iceage - Plowing Into the Field of Love

Amebix
May 12th 2014


240 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

isn't it "twat" ?

TheBarber
May 12th 2014


1977 Comments


http://onlineslangdictionary.com/meaning-definition-of/twit :3

TheBarber
May 12th 2014


1977 Comments


We all have to thank Road Dahl for that insult being brought to the light of day

Amebix
May 12th 2014


240 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

yet another day to learn something new and cool here...

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2014


7311 Comments


This isn't that great huh?

=/

Also, Crysis, out of curiosity, you've never really had a thing for Agalloch even prior to this record? (judging purely from the comments in the thread here)

Emyay
May 12th 2014


5968 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

he loves pre marrow agalloch

BadPooSmell
May 12th 2014


1 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I have to agree with a lot of the points made in this review, but I think the rating may be a little harsh. I mean sure, this album may be a 2 compared to say: Ashes Against the Grain, but it's still loads better than the majority of typical Death and Black metal releases that get 4s so often on this site. Sure it may be some of Agalloch's more clumsy, unoriginal work, but had this been released by any other band, people would be praising this release to high heaven.

Emyay
May 12th 2014


5968 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

if this was released by a band other than agalloch i probably wouldn't have listened to it more than once

Gyromania
May 12th 2014


15941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'm inclined to agree with badpoo. agalloch's worst is still far better than most of the shit metal that's praised here



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy