Agalloch The Serpent and the Sphere
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Contributing Reviewer
July 3rd 2014


20559 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sweet man. I didn't dig it a ton on my first listen, but it grew on me. I've thought about bumping my rating to 4.5 as well

Digging: Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky - Piano Concerto No. 1 in B? Minor

Totengott
July 3rd 2014


2407 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've listened to this quite a lot and I think it's still growing on me.



Enjoy the last part. The final track is my favourite on the album.

Digging: Steve Von Till - A Life Unto Itself

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
July 3rd 2014


20559 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

anyone who enjoys the acoustic tracks needs to check the new musk ox. it's beautiful

Totengott
July 3rd 2014


2407 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Then I will have a look ASAP.



Thanks!

bnelso55
July 3rd 2014


483 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Captain -- You definitely should. It's a fantastic record.

Digging: Steve Von Till - A Life Unto Itself

Totengott
July 3rd 2014


2407 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Haha.

bnelso55
July 3rd 2014


483 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Lol

Yeah! That was a solid review and I really liked the s/t. This new one though... it surpasses it. In my opinion anyway.

bnelso55
July 3rd 2014


483 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Futures --- Right here...



http://muskoxofficial.bandcamp.com/album/woodfall

bnelso55
July 3rd 2014


483 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

No problem. You'll have to post what you think of it.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
July 3rd 2014


20559 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wouldn't even know musk ox released the new album if it wasn't for Evreaia m/

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
July 3rd 2014


20559 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I know lol i just didn't want to take all the credit

bnelso55
July 3rd 2014


483 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The neofolk side is definitely there, but I think when the violin and cello really come together (see Arcanum), they hit hard and almost manage to capture a metal atmosphere.

bnelso55
July 3rd 2014


483 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's killer. It's definitely epic chamber folk first and foremost, but these guys have ties to metal and I think it really shows in places.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
July 3rd 2014


20559 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I personally see metal music as having more to do with emotional content than distorted guitars. I feel a single nylon string guitar can have the same emotional intensity as a wall of distortion."



from an interview with nathanael.





bnelso55
July 3rd 2014


483 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Cool quote. I could agree with that.

bnelso55
July 3rd 2014


483 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Maybe the emotional drive is similar, but channeling it through a "clean" medium gives it a somewhat different feel? I think of "Jagd" on Dornenreich's In Luft Geritzt album and the last minutes of "Fortgang" on Empyrium's Weiland album. The harsh vocals are there, I guess, but the music is entirely acoustic and those tracks are pretty intense.

bnelso55
July 3rd 2014


483 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Cheers Captain! I'm psyched to hear "Approaching," btw.

Totengott
July 3rd 2014


2407 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Listening to it for a bit, wow, this is simply amazing. Going to listen to the entire album when I am back.

Totengott
July 3rd 2014


2407 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

''"I personally see metal music as having more to do with emotional content than distorted guitars. I feel a single nylon string guitar can have the same emotional intensity as a wall of distortion."



from an interview with nathanael.''



And the song I just listened to really shows that. Nice quote.

bnelso55
July 3rd 2014


483 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

If you're bringing back some of the old style then I doubt it will disappoint, Cap. I thoroughly enjoyed Black Horse Plague.



Agreed. Woodfall is an inspiring record.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy