tUnE-yArDs Nikki Nack
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
chambered99
May 7th 2014



780 Comments


noooo

Digging: Baton Rouge - Totem

Emyay
May 8th 2014



5781 Comments


listened to the first half of this this morning and i was lovin it. excited to check this out more

Inveigh
May 8th 2014



24793 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

whokill had like 3 amazing songs, 3 good songs and the rest was meh.


Agreed with this, although I still jam those 3-6 songs to this day (at least in summer time). If this one is more consistent then I'm pumped.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
May 8th 2014



7314 Comments


Much like her last record, I just found this really fucking annoying.

scottpilgrim10
May 8th 2014



2425 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Best interlude ever.

I think this may be too quirky for it's own good. It seems really forced at times. Like it's being different and out there for the sake of being different and out there, I have no idea what I'd rate this atm.

NorthernSkylark
May 9th 2014



1409 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's insanely, purposely quirky and I despise it. I mean, just look at their naive, freeminded fucking videos of children clapping and her making those ridiculous grimaces (cause it's alright to behave in an ugly manner, kids, y'all remember that)

I sound so bitter, but this band just annoys me so bad I can't take it.

Digging: Alvvays - Alvvays

Calc
May 9th 2014



11984 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

water fountain is rockin my socks this is the first i've heard of tuneyards

Digging: Kashiwa Daisuke - April. #02

scottpilgrim10
May 9th 2014



2425 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I figured it out.

Chrisjon89
May 9th 2014



3362 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not big on Sink-O or the Tots interlude but there's some great stuff here

Digging: Ichiko Aoba - 0%

WashboardSuds
May 9th 2014



4984 Comments


need

Digging: Acid Bath - When the Kite String Pops

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2014



7312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't think this record's very quirky at all, except for Tots (which is a joke interlude). I also think Sink-O is one of the best tracks on here. The clash of pop and wild tribal drumming is so absolutely endearing on this one. Probably the best album of the year so far.

Digging: Dog Fashion Disco - Sweet Nothings

Chrisjon89
May 10th 2014



3362 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i'm not that big on the last few songs - not sure if the style just wears thin on me by that point. but the run up until Sink-O I really like

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2014



7312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The album gets weirder in the 2nd half for sure, but I love it. Tots is a skippable track for me, but it was kind of expected.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2014



9998 Comments


Nah man the way to enjoy Tots is to have it on repeat in the hot summer sun

Digging: Deniro Farrar - Rebirth

Gyromania
May 10th 2014



15198 Comments


i'm with ya, greg. surprised by the low ratings for this tbh

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2014



7312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm not surprised that Sputnik users don't get it. Not the kind of music that's praised here. Plus, this record seems ahead of its time. It had respectable 83/100 on metacritic last time I checked, though.

Gyromania
May 10th 2014



15198 Comments


yah, i more so meant the ratings from staff/contribs, but it doesn't really seem like sputnik's thing. an 83 on metacritic is definitely respectable though

i must have played this record a good 10 times now

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
May 10th 2014



15789 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

might give it another whirl, wasnt immediately appealing though

Digging: Synaesthesia (UK) - Synaesthesia

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2014



7312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've probably played it about 20 times already. It's safe to say it's gonna be in my top 5 of the year.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
May 10th 2014



15789 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

maybe i expected this to be an instant instead of a grower i dunno, water fountain makes me feel like
strangling a small child



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy