Epica The Quantum Enigma
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
aggelosm
May 3rd 2014


470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damn...this album is getting even better with every listen.
I don't mind if I am overreacting but I think TQE is the best album of female fronted symphonic metal..

CalculatingInfinity
May 3rd 2014


1625 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@aggelosm: I'm really enjoying this too. If you want incredible Symphonic Metal (it's Neoclassical Power but whatever) listen to Kamijo's Symphony of the Vampire. 2nd best Symphonic album I've ever heard along with X Japan's Art of Life Live, 4.5 easy. You'll probably disagree that it's better then this since you like this so much but it's worth a shot.

aggelosm
May 3rd 2014


470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@CalculatingInfinity X Japan's art of life is pretty good indeed. But I am not really into neoclassical power metal stuff so I don't really know if I'll enjoy the Kamijo's album. But I'll give it a try


CalculatingInfinity
May 3rd 2014


1625 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"@CalculatingInfinity X Japan's art of life is pretty good indeed. But I am not really into neoclassical power metal stuff so I don't really know if I'll enjoy the Kamijo's album. But I'll give it a try"

No problem, it's not for everyone.

EvoHavok
May 3rd 2014


1411 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I can give another vote for trying out Kamijo's album.

Digging: Evergrey - Hymns for the Broken

Confucius
May 3rd 2014


184 Comments


Listened to the first 15 minutes but couldn't take it anymore. This is fucking terrible like all their other albuns. Congrats Sputnik for hyper-overrating stuff once again.

zaruyache
May 3rd 2014


6594 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's ironic that someone calling themselves Confucius has so little wisdom.

Three songs in and it absolutely rules so far. Take note, Nightwish--THIS is how it should be done!

Digging: Natural Snow Buildings - The Night Country

Mythodea
May 4th 2014


935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"''master'' has been used as a verb here, but I understand why you confused it...
Anyway, thanks a lot for your positive words!

fair enough, in that case you just have to get rid of the 'at'

"You don't have to master at Quantum physics to understand it!"
"You don't have to master Quantum Physics to understand it!"

Ok, done!

Digging: Hominido - Estirpe Litica

Mythodea
May 4th 2014


935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listened to the first 15 minutes but couldn't take it anymore. This is fucking terrible like all their other albuns. Congrats Sputnik for hyper-overrating stuff once again.


I understand that an option is an option, but it seems that you don't like that kind of metal. Good, I hate Black Metal and merely listen to pure Death Metal. That's why, because I don't know about the genre and its needs that is, I don't jump into conclusions about albums, bands and material, because I don't have the experience needed to do it.
In few words, I understand you don't like it, rate it if you like, say you hate it, but don't say it's overrated and don't be rude to other Sputnikmusic users.

Diamondize
May 4th 2014


1367 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Damn this is actually really good.

Digging: Dead Can Dance - Within the Realm of a Dying Sun

zaruyache
May 4th 2014


6594 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed. It's really solid.

CalculatingInfinity
May 4th 2014


1625 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Take note, Nightwish--THIS is how it should be done!"

Pretty much, they're one of the most overrated bands today in my opinion.

aggelosm
May 4th 2014


470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Anyone heard the bonus tracks? In All Conscience is really great!

Mythodea
May 4th 2014


935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ Well, I've heard ''Banish Your Illusion'' and that mid-eastern vibe really pleases me. I don't like that synth sound so much, reminds me of ''Under the sea'' from the Little Mermaid.... In All Conscience seems nice, though I gave it a really hasty listen. What I didn't like much was that radio-friendly vocals. I think RFTI had better bonus tracks than this one, but of course TQE is by far better...

ExplosiveOranges
May 4th 2014


2820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Requiem was a bit of a disappointment for me, but this album definitely seems to be growing on me a bit.

Digging: Electric Wizard - Time to Die

FrozenVain
May 6th 2014


2438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I would rate this 4.5 if it wasn't so monotonous. Too many mid-tempo songs with similar choruses that
just kinda blend together. The harsh vocalist isn't really that amazing either even though I really
enjoy the more death metal parts of this album.

Great review though. You got it. Pos'd.

aggelosm
May 6th 2014


470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Similar choruses indeed. But every song has so many other great melodies that I don't really cared about the choruses. Also, guitar solos are way better in this album.

Mythodea
May 6th 2014


935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was thinking today that Chemical Insomnia and Reverence really have the same notes in their riffs. But anyway, this is their most complex and refreshing work to date, and also I am a big fan, so the high mark was expected!


Thank you for your good words and your pos. I would like to know who neg'd me, just to know the reason. The purpose of pos - neg, is to know if or not your review was good. With pos, you know what you did good, with neg you don't know what is bad...

Verm
May 6th 2014


1002 Comments


This and design are like 5 THIS OR DIE

Mythodea
May 6th 2014


935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You know, Verm, there were some moments in Design... that made me put a 4 instead of a 4.5. The Price of Freedom was an intense interlude but couldn't even reach ''La'petach Chatat Rovetz'' (or now The Fifth Guardian), Burn to a Cinder,Our Destiny and Semblance of Liberty (even if I could headbang for days with the two of them), seem a little hastily written. BUT, Kingdom of Heaven and Design... prog hard and man, I LOVE PROG!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy