Insomnium Shadows of the Dying Sun
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ResidentNihilist
April 21st 2014


1040 Comments


awesome review crysis, clear, clean and very well expressed with a real level of personality but without losing focus on the clarity of the points you were trying to get across, easily one of your best.

There are times when it all does seem to be structured in a way that is intended to mimic past successes, yet these tracks never capitalize on them.

This so hard though tbh, it seems in places the band just doesn't capitalise on the energy they build up in the opening of some songs (the two singles are the best example) and feel too structurally muddled. That's why I liked Ephemeral, it sounded energised compared to the other two songs. Also it seems like their ripping off their own riffs again and not bothering to write new ones as well as some new ideas that they just don't know how to implement them properly. This is all going from the tracks I've heard so far but yeah hopefully the rest of the album is better (samples sounded good).

ResidentNihilist
April 21st 2014


1040 Comments


tl;dr

TzarChasm
April 21st 2014


143 Comments


What I want more than anything is to put this disc into my car stereo and not have to immediately turn the treble down to nil due to horrible compression and godawful tinny static. The mixing/mastering on prior Insomnium albums has been unforgivably bad. It's about time they release one that will make my Focals sing—but I'm not getting my hopes up, now or ever.

R6Rider
April 21st 2014


4615 Comments


Sweet, this got a good review!

Thought this was gonna suck, can't wait to check it out.

NinoKuni
April 21st 2014


198 Comments


that song you posted is really good

Willie
Moderator
April 21st 2014


15977 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This is an awesome album and an awesome review.

--Surprised and bummed out that this hasn't leaked yet.--

We've had this for over a month now, so I'm glad that it hasn't leaked yet. Thanks guys! ;)

Digging: Necropoli - I

DoctorVelvet
April 21st 2014


115 Comments


I love these review summaries that don't actually summarize anything.

EvoHavok
April 21st 2014


1379 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

But that's so deep!

Digging: Pandemonium - Insomnia

Willie
Moderator
April 21st 2014


15977 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

--I love these review summaries that don't actually summarize anything.--

Boo fucking hoo. If you want an actual summary of a review, read the closing paragraph.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2014


10204 Comments


-what is a summary if it summarizes nothing-

These are the thoughts that keep Kyle Ward up at night

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
April 21st 2014


14361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What is a summary? A miserable pile of words.

Digging: We Will Fail - Verstörung

EvoHavok
April 21st 2014


1379 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^Haha

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2014


10204 Comments


I demand Crysis' demotion if he does not change his summary to "This is another Insomnium record that is pretty good, but not their best"

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
April 21st 2014


14361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nothing will beat my Amon Amarth review summary, just tr00 fax

BladeRunner
April 21st 2014


209 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review! Will most certainly pick this up when it hits the streets...

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 21st 2014


19756 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Stoked to hear this. Excellent review

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2014


16395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha summary is a lyric from Ephemeral. I hate summaries, I wouldn't put them in if they weren't required. Just read the damn review.

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

NinoKuni
April 21st 2014


198 Comments


summaries are required?

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2014


16395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

For staff and contribs they are AFAIK.


Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 21st 2014


19756 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ya I often just use lyrics for summaries these days



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy