The Menzingers Rented World
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
mryrtmrnfoxxxy
April 22nd 2014



12931 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

rules

Digging: Electric Wurms - Musik Die Schwer Zu Twerk

kirkhammett511
April 23rd 2014



12 Comments


Still gotta sit with it for a little bit but loving what I've heard so far. Maybe I just didn't notice it on OTIP, but Greg is really hard to understand on some of these songs IMO.

Spluger
April 23rd 2014



1132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hmmm... definitely not as good as the last record but it's got some jams. I need to listen to it some more.

AngryJohnny
April 23rd 2014



17 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Certainly lacks something OTIP had, solid if unspectacular this time around

TenSecondsToThink
April 24th 2014



1219 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's definitely a grower, I could barely get through it the first time. Transient Love is the best song ever

Spluger
April 24th 2014



1132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm in love with Heartache & Nothing Feels Good Anymore right now

defjaw83
April 25th 2014



1765 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

As the review says, was disappointed at first but damn is this a grower.

scottpilgrim10
April 25th 2014



2914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really good. especially I don't wanna be an asshole anymore.

Digging: Kanye West - My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

Spluger
April 25th 2014



1132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I could totally see I Can't Seem to Tell being on this album

Crawl
April 26th 2014



1595 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Spluger those are exactly my favorite tracks, too

Spluger
April 26th 2014



1132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They're both jams. Been getting into Transient Love lately too, this is like a 3.7 for me right now lol I still need to jam it a lil more

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
April 27th 2014



7023 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

don't think I've ever cared less about a dude's heartache

Digging: FKA twigs - LP1

Crawl
April 27th 2014



1595 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's his girl's

Clumseee
April 28th 2014



141 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Been said multiple times, but it really is a grower.

Leaves you wanting more for sure.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 28th 2014



7164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I could listen to Rented World ten times a day for three months - closely listen - and perhaps tell you what it means at the end, but I’d most likely hate the album by then, and my explanation of what it means would make you hate it too. The solution, it seems then, is to not think at all, but just to listen. And the point of all this is that even though listening seems easy, it isn’t. It’s the first step to falling in love, and anyone who tells you that falling in love is easy is full of shit.

^ Why I will always read a Channing Freeman piece.

Digging: Ty Segall - Manipulator

tom79
April 29th 2014



3365 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Realized I really like song on this, except I'm not big on The Talk. Love Greg's slower songs like
Heartache and Transient Love.

Digging: Rainer Maria - Look Now Look Again

dimsim3478
April 29th 2014



4877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The slower songs change up the album's pace so much; really gives the album the variety and breathing space it needs. I think it was so interesting to see Greg take on slow, expansive songs whereas on the last album he was known for being the more straight-forward, aggressive guy out of the two frontmen, while Tom has stuff like "The Talk" that's just straight punk rock, kind of distanced from "Burn After Writing" and "Gates" which established him as this emotional-type punk rock writer, though it still comes through on "Bad Things".

Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten

Crawl
April 30th 2014



1595 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pretty sure that Greg sings on Gates.

dimsim3478
April 30th 2014



4877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fuck

Crawl
May 1st 2014



1595 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good things - greg
burn - tom
obituaries - greg
gates - greg
ava house - tom
sun hotel - greg
sculptors - tom
mexican guitars - greg
title track - greg
nice things - tom
casey - greg
i can't seem - greg
freedom bridge - tom

I think it's like this



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy