The Menzingers Rented World
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
mryrtmrnfoxxxy
April 22nd 2014


13339 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

rules

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

kirkhammett511
April 23rd 2014


12 Comments


Still gotta sit with it for a little bit but loving what I've heard so far. Maybe I just didn't notice it on OTIP, but Greg is really hard to understand on some of these songs IMO.

Spluger
April 23rd 2014


1176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hmmm... definitely not as good as the last record but it's got some jams. I need to listen to it some more.

AngryJohnny
April 23rd 2014


23 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Certainly lacks something OTIP had, solid if unspectacular this time around

TenSecondsToThink
April 24th 2014


1238 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's definitely a grower, I could barely get through it the first time. Transient Love is the best song ever

Spluger
April 24th 2014


1176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm in love with Heartache & Nothing Feels Good Anymore right now

defjaw83
April 25th 2014


1772 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

As the review says, was disappointed at first but damn is this a grower.

Digging: FKA Twigs - LP1

scottpilgrim10
April 25th 2014


4212 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really good. especially I don't wanna be an asshole anymore.

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

Spluger
April 25th 2014


1176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I could totally see I Can't Seem to Tell being on this album

Crawl
April 26th 2014


1628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Spluger those are exactly my favorite tracks, too

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins on Io

Spluger
April 26th 2014


1176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They're both jams. Been getting into Transient Love lately too, this is like a 3.7 for me right now lol I still need to jam it a lil more

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
April 27th 2014


7026 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

don't think I've ever cared less about a dude's heartache

Crawl
April 27th 2014


1628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's his girl's

Clumseee
April 28th 2014


169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Been said multiple times, but it really is a grower.

Leaves you wanting more for sure.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 28th 2014


7311 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

I could listen to Rented World ten times a day for three months - closely listen - and perhaps tell you what it means at the end, but I’d most likely hate the album by then, and my explanation of what it means would make you hate it too. The solution, it seems then, is to not think at all, but just to listen. And the point of all this is that even though listening seems easy, it isn’t. It’s the first step to falling in love, and anyone who tells you that falling in love is easy is full of shit.

^ Why I will always read a Channing Freeman piece.

tom79
April 29th 2014


3376 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Realized I really like song on this, except I'm not big on The Talk. Love Greg's slower songs like
Heartache and Transient Love.

Digging: Wil Wagner - Laika

dimsim3478
April 29th 2014


5174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The slower songs change up the album's pace so much; really gives the album the variety and breathing space it needs. I think it was so interesting to see Greg take on slow, expansive songs whereas on the last album he was known for being the more straight-forward, aggressive guy out of the two frontmen, while Tom has stuff like "The Talk" that's just straight punk rock, kind of distanced from "Burn After Writing" and "Gates" which established him as this emotional-type punk rock writer, though it still comes through on "Bad Things".

Digging: Kittyhawk - Hello, Again

Crawl
April 30th 2014


1628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pretty sure that Greg sings on Gates.

dimsim3478
April 30th 2014


5174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fuck

Crawl
May 1st 2014


1628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good things - greg
burn - tom
obituaries - greg
gates - greg
ava house - tom
sun hotel - greg
sculptors - tom
mexican guitars - greg
title track - greg
nice things - tom
casey - greg
i can't seem - greg
freedom bridge - tom

I think it's like this



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy