The Menzingers Rented World
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Spluger
April 23rd 2014


1216 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hmmm... definitely not as good as the last record but it's got some jams. I need to listen to it some more.

AngryJohnny
April 23rd 2014


229 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Certainly lacks something OTIP had, solid if unspectacular this time around

TenSecondsToThink
April 24th 2014


1448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's definitely a grower, I could barely get through it the first time. Transient Love is the best song ever

Spluger
April 24th 2014


1216 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm in love with Heartache & Nothing Feels Good Anymore right now

defjaw83
April 25th 2014


1803 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

As the review says, was disappointed at first but damn is this a grower.

scottpilgrim10
April 25th 2014


4747 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really good. especially I don't wanna be an asshole anymore.

Spluger
April 25th 2014


1216 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I could totally see I Can't Seem to Tell being on this album

Crawl
April 26th 2014


1959 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Spluger those are exactly my favorite tracks, too

Spluger
April 26th 2014


1216 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They're both jams. Been getting into Transient Love lately too, this is like a 3.7 for me right now lol I still need to jam it a lil more

Lucid
April 27th 2014


7315 Comments


don't think I've ever cared less about a dude's heartache

Crawl
April 27th 2014


1959 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's his girl's

Clumseee
April 28th 2014


476 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Been said multiple times, but it really is a grower.



Leaves you wanting more for sure.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 28th 2014


7479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

I could listen to Rented World ten times a day for three months - closely listen - and perhaps tell you what it means at the end, but I’d most likely hate the album by then, and my explanation of what it means would make you hate it too. The solution, it seems then, is to not think at all, but just to listen. And the point of all this is that even though listening seems easy, it isn’t. It’s the first step to falling in love, and anyone who tells you that falling in love is easy is full of shit.



^ Why I will always read a Channing Freeman piece.

tom79
April 29th 2014


3455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Realized I really like song on this, except I'm not big on The Talk. Love Greg's slower songs like

Heartache and Transient Love.

Digging: Red City Radio - Titles

dimsim3478
April 29th 2014


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The slower songs change up the album's pace so much; really gives the album the variety and breathing space it needs. I think it was so interesting to see Greg take on slow, expansive songs whereas on the last album he was known for being the more straight-forward, aggressive guy out of the two frontmen, while Tom has stuff like "The Talk" that's just straight punk rock, kind of distanced from "Burn After Writing" and "Gates" which established him as this emotional-type punk rock writer, though it still comes through on "Bad Things".

Digging: Hospital - Knifeland

Crawl
April 30th 2014


1959 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Pretty sure that Greg sings on Gates.

dimsim3478
April 30th 2014


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fuck

Crawl
May 1st 2014


1959 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

good things - greg

burn - tom

obituaries - greg

gates - greg

ava house - tom

sun hotel - greg

sculptors - tom

mexican guitars - greg

title track - greg

nice things - tom

casey - greg

i can't seem - greg

freedom bridge - tom



I think it's like this

Spluger
May 1st 2014


1216 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, you can usually hear gregs voice every once in a while on a tom song and vice versa too.

Spluger
May 1st 2014


1216 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

also, I think Hearts Unknown is slowly becoming one of my favorite songs sung my Tom



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy