Morbid Angel Altars of Madness
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
HenchmanOfSanta
April 5th 2014


1994 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0



If I wanted thrash I'd listen to thrash tbh



I usually turn this off and put on early Death instead
Early Death is much thrashier than this album.

Hovse
April 5th 2014


1506 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Leprosy is less thrashy

dannyboy89
April 6th 2014


13339 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This is just dark, s8nized, blasphemous dm.

LaughingSkull
April 6th 2014


443 Comments


Good review, pos.

dannyboy89
April 6th 2014


13339 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Sandoval is just raw power on this.

NeroCorleone80
April 6th 2014


33857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Deserves 1000 negs

Digging: Nina Nastasia - Run to Ruin

Ayil
April 6th 2014


87 Comments


2.0

Nope.AVI

Wizard
April 6th 2014


20047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

However, this reputation is completely baseless. Altars of Madness is the kind of album that nobody would care about if they heard it for the first time today. This wasn't even that special when it was released. By '89, Death had already released two albums and every haircut-refusing teenager in Florida was in a death metal band. Death metal was still a fledgling genre though, and any big stylistic changes would be signs of absolute genius. Altars of Madness is regarded more highly than the middle-'90s Death albums that actually displayed these musical revelations.



Read the first sentence about the rep of this album being baseless and then read your five year old rant that follows through the remainder of the review. Troll or not, you just got negged and I would be happy to back that up further if you want me to waste my time.



And no, I don't hold this as a masterpiece but I still disagree with everything you said.

Digging: Neurosis - Fires Within Fires

Confucius
April 6th 2014


486 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm curious about how the reviewer would rate Insanus, probably a -2.5 or something.

BMDrummer
April 6th 2014


13725 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, Insanus kind of deserves that rating.

youtried
April 6th 2014


9 Comments


nah it deserves at least a point for comic relief

GrandpaSeth3000
April 6th 2014


396 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A decent review. I think this album is pretty cool but I do not think it is the best.



- gs3k

xxm
April 6th 2014


218 Comments


@Propose I respectfully disagree on the "mediocre" part but oh well.

dopevoid
April 6th 2014


74 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

logged out for a while yesterday. i appreciate everyone who pointed out the flaws in this review. i'll totally cede that my writing sucks haha, i'm just trying to get better.



one of the most sensible points y'all made was how this read like a 2.5 or 3, rather than a 2. I can see how that comes across tbh. again, im not a great writer.



I also spent too much time repeating stuff about the production. i think i did an okay ish job of mentioning that all osdm production is p bad but this is actually a weakness? i mean death has good production, and pestilence... idk.

dopevoid
April 6th 2014


74 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

anyways thanks everyone for comments, is there a place on this site i can post a draft of a review and get feedback on it before posting it for real and opening myself up to wanton negs?

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
April 6th 2014


24007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

wiz knows



theres a review proofreading thread in the forums if youre serious about it. dunno how active it is though

Tremz
April 6th 2014


442 Comments


m/ m/ m/

dopevoid
April 6th 2014


74 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

looks active enough. thanks insurrection.

ScuroFantasma
April 6th 2014


7370 Comments


It's actually not a terrible review, the writing is quality at least and your points are mostly valid (I pos'd for that), but you do repeat yourself a lot and some of your 'points' are just opinions that you fail to back up or give evidence for. It's not bad though, is my main point, so persevere and you will improve.

Digging: Type O Negative - Slow, Deep, and Hard

PortalofPerfection
April 6th 2014


1842 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Agree. This thing annoys my eardrums.

Digging: Insomnium - Winter's Gate



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy