The Great Old Ones Tekeli-Li
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
pedro70512
April 5th 2014


3664 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

god I love the sound of the drums in this. totally stand by my comment about them picking up for
Wolves.

Digging: Taravana - A Visible Chill

zaruyache
April 5th 2014


7451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I think Sun Worship win the award for BM WitTR emulation, but this I think is definitely a superior work.

Digging: Maybeshewill - Fair Youth

pedro70512
April 5th 2014


3664 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Haven't heard Sun Worship. And while TGOO sound a lot like Wolves (The Ascend even has that stuttered backbeat snare Aaron Weaver loves so much), with this album they're definitely leading instead of following.

Evreaia
April 5th 2014


4068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Haven't heard that sun worship record, seems I should check it.

I Don't really like to compare this to WitTR though, both seem to try and hit a different kind of atmosphere, with different measures.

zaruyache
April 5th 2014


7451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Sun Worship sound like a dirtier WitTR-esque band. Similar to Ash Borer, but with more grit. If you
stripped away all the keyboards and ambience and only left the epic black metal. I'm a sucker for
that Cascadian-epic black metal stuff, which is why I bring it up. You can get it for free here:

http://sunworship.bandcamp.com/album/elder-giants

pedro70512
April 5th 2014


3664 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Sweet, thanks. Love me some CBM. Check out Barrowlands too.

http://barrowlands.bandcamp.com/

pedro70512
April 6th 2014


3664 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

The male choir at the end of Awakening reminded me of Caladan Brood in the best way.

Evreaia
April 6th 2014


4068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Will check it out, but I'm a sucker for those ambient influenced metal bands.

Evreaia
April 11th 2014


4068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This album is making love with my ears, so good.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2014


20166 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hehe. it's definitely growing on me

Digging: Johann Sebastian Bach - Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050

zaruyache
April 11th 2014


7451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I like the use of those post-rocky tremolo riffs to create a more constant, fuller atmosphere. And the fact that they don't tremolo every riff cough deafheaven cough really helps keep everything fresh.

AnimalsAsSummit
April 16th 2014


966 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

found this slightly underwhelming from what i was expecting but satisfying as hell nonetheless.

CrimsonLies
May 9th 2014


2045 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This sounds really good

osmark86
May 19th 2014


4560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the songwriting on this is slightly more interesting than that on Al Azif so far. I can definitely see myself jamming this a lot. beautiful.

Evreaia
May 19th 2014


4068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"Slightly"

This is far more interesting than Al Azif

zaruyache
May 20th 2014


7451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

It's a lot faster and melodic, I think. The tremolo layering here is fantastic.

osmark86
May 21st 2014


4560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@evreaia: I didn't think I had heard enough to make a conclusive statement, so I downplayed a tad. but
yes, this album is more interesting than Al Azif in terms of songwriting and overall quality. going to
spin it again today.

Wizard
May 21st 2014


19649 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is ripping me a new one! Nice find zaruyache!

I think Sun Worship win the award for BM WitTR emulation, but this I think is definitely a superior work.

Kind of but I think they're a lot more brutal and definitely tip the hat towards that punked-out bm vibe more so than let's-just-tremolo-pic-the-shit-out-of-a-chord WitTR.

Digging: Horseback and Locrian - New Dominions

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
May 21st 2014


20166 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This keeps growing on me :]

Evreaia
May 21st 2014


4068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

STill my fav album from 2014



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy