Angel Olsen Burn Your Fire For No Witness
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Irving
Staff Reviewer
March 15th 2014



7163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8

*raises hand*

Sucks that the average rating is not even a 4 =/

Got a favourite track, Sea?

SeaAnemone
March 15th 2014



19954 Comments


haha not really, I just love the thing as a whole for the moment
how do you think it relates to Mount Eerie and other lo-fi though?

Digging: Natural Snow Buildings - The Night Country

SeaAnemone
March 15th 2014



19954 Comments


I do really like the second track and the penultimate one though; any agreement there?

Cygnatti
March 15th 2014



21349 Comments


is this poppy b/c I'll listen if it is. :/

Irving
Staff Reviewer
March 16th 2014



7163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8

I'll have to admit that lo-fi isn't really one of my stronger suits - never could get my head around the appeal of a grainy-sounding wash - so the affection that I feel for this record is dicorced entirely of any sort of emotional attachment to said genre, I guess. Having said that, this did remind me of Mount Eerie a bit, but I favour this record over anything I've heard from Mount Eerie because of some degree of perceived "vitality" to how Olsen's voice registers in my mind. She's more urgent, visceral, and simply sounds a lot more gutted (whatever that means).

Faves so far are "Lights Out", "Stars", and "Window" instead haha. Sorry Sea =S Tell you what I'll give those songs a respin haha XD

And no, this ain't really poppy =/?

Irving
Staff Reviewer
March 19th 2014



7163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8

Why is the average rating for this only a 3.6 =/

(bump)

robin
Emeritus
March 28th 2014



4247 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

uh yeah fuck this

Irving
Staff Reviewer
March 29th 2014



7163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8

Yes yes yes thank you Robin Smith!!!

HeavyMetalSnail
April 1st 2014



58 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't understand why this album's rating is only 3.7. This is a great album. It's interesting, I
listened to this one right after listening to Marissa Nadler's July and while that was a good album,
this one blew it out of the water. The diversity of the tracks, the honesty of the songwriting, the
lo-fi sound, it all came together in quite an amazing way. I think Stars has to be my favorite track.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2014



7163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8

I don't get it myself, friend. 3.7 is quite ridiculous =/

robin
Emeritus
April 20th 2014



4247 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

best

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2014



7163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8

What is it with everyone aside from Robin and myself rating this below a 4.5????!?!

Green Baron
April 21st 2014



19157 Comments


not anymore

Digging: Royal Blood - Royal Blood

NorthernSkylark
April 22nd 2014



2190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My favorite of the year so far.
What's so wrong with the light?

I have decided not to care about that lunatic 3.7 average. That's just pure madness.


Digging: Strand of Oaks - Heal

feanaro
May 2nd 2014



817 Comments


holy moly. haven't heard about this before today. should i go see her tonight? shit's free

Digging: King Creosote - From Scotland With Love

InfamousGrouse
May 2nd 2014



3305 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sure why not

Digging: Gillian Welch - Revival

feanaro
May 3rd 2014



817 Comments


yea. I did! really awesome. can't wait to pump this.

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
May 3rd 2014



7022 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the opening track is unreal. so deeply poignant

Digging: FKA twigs - LP1

NorthernSkylark
May 9th 2014



2190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank you for sending me an angel

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2014



7163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8

Everything is tragic / It all just falls apart / But when I look into your eyes / It pieces up my heart



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy