Angel Olsen Burn Your Fire For No Witness
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Irving
Staff Reviewer
March 15th 2014


7347 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8

*raises hand*



Sucks that the average rating is not even a 4 =/



Got a favourite track, Sea?

Digging: The Observatory (Singapore) - OSCILLA

SeaAnemone
March 15th 2014


21249 Comments


haha not really, I just love the thing as a whole for the moment
how do you think it relates to Mount Eerie and other lo-fi though?

Digging: Axis of Light - L'appel du vide

SeaAnemone
March 15th 2014


21249 Comments


I do really like the second track and the penultimate one though; any agreement there?

Cygnatti
March 15th 2014


24192 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

is this poppy b/c I'll listen if it is. :/

Digging: Mo*Te - Life in a Peaceful New World

Irving
Staff Reviewer
March 16th 2014


7347 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8

I'll have to admit that lo-fi isn't really one of my stronger suits - never could get my head around the appeal of a grainy-sounding wash - so the affection that I feel for this record is dicorced entirely of any sort of emotional attachment to said genre, I guess. Having said that, this did remind me of Mount Eerie a bit, but I favour this record over anything I've heard from Mount Eerie because of some degree of perceived "vitality" to how Olsen's voice registers in my mind. She's more urgent, visceral, and simply sounds a lot more gutted (whatever that means).



Faves so far are "Lights Out", "Stars", and "Window" instead haha. Sorry Sea =S Tell you what I'll give those songs a respin haha XD



And no, this ain't really poppy =/?

Irving
Staff Reviewer
March 19th 2014


7347 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8

Why is the average rating for this only a 3.6 =/



(bump)

robin
Emeritus
March 28th 2014


4278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

uh yeah fuck this

Irving
Staff Reviewer
March 29th 2014


7347 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8

Yes yes yes thank you Robin Smith!!!

HeavyMetalSnail
April 1st 2014


60 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't understand why this album's rating is only 3.7. This is a great album. It's interesting, I

listened to this one right after listening to Marissa Nadler's July and while that was a good album,

this one blew it out of the water. The diversity of the tracks, the honesty of the songwriting, the

lo-fi sound, it all came together in quite an amazing way. I think Stars has to be my favorite track.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2014


7347 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8

I don't get it myself, friend. 3.7 is quite ridiculous =/

robin
Emeritus
April 20th 2014


4278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

best

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2014


7347 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8

What is it with everyone aside from Robin and myself rating this below a 4.5????!?!

Green Baron
April 21st 2014


21588 Comments


not anymore

NorthernSkylark
April 22nd 2014


6148 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My favorite of the year so far.

What's so wrong with the light?



I have decided not to care about that lunatic 3.7 average. That's just pure madness.



Digging: Sweet Trip - Velocity : Design : Comfort

feanaro
May 2nd 2014


956 Comments


holy moly. haven't heard about this before today. should i go see her tonight? shit's free

InfamousGrouse
May 2nd 2014


3694 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sure why not

feanaro
May 3rd 2014


956 Comments


yea. I did! really awesome. can't wait to pump this.

Lucid
May 3rd 2014


7025 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the opening track is unreal. so deeply poignant

NorthernSkylark
May 9th 2014


6148 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank you for sending me an angel

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2014


7347 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8

Everything is tragic / It all just falls apart / But when I look into your eyes / It pieces up my heart



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy