Beck Morning Phase
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SharkTooth
February 26th 2014



3661 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I stand by Odelay

LilLioness
February 27th 2014



2496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"that’s like a double shot of major-key elephant tranquilizer."

Not gonna lie, I love this statement.

Also, "Blue Moon" best track. I had a feeling it would based on how I have felt about his other work.

hiyabootchie
February 27th 2014



338 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not a bad record. Probably best listened to driving in the Country or when your piss drunk.

theamazingjamez
February 28th 2014



19 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I actually really liked this one. The piano in "Blackbird Chain" is fantastic.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
February 28th 2014



15789 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Not a bad record. Probably best listened to driving in the Country or when your piss drunk."

or when you are unconcious

Digging: Synaesthesia (UK) - Synaesthesia

SticksmanTheBored
March 2nd 2014



206 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I stand by Sea Change.

SirDrumsalot
March 3rd 2014



1439 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This was ok...the production is terrific and all that. But it just gets a little bit boring for me. The drums are SOOO simplistic and pretty much just repeat throughout each song. I undersand that is just this type of music, but come on, you can liven them up a little bit!

SticksmanTheBored
March 3rd 2014



206 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I see we're both drummers, SirDrumsalot, eheheh. Really got the same from the drums in here, the drum lines are boring, almost the same throughout the album and simplistic (not that it is necessarily a bad thing to be a simplstic drummer, but it's way too simplistic on this album, to the point when it gets overtedious). On the other hand, Sea Change was quite simplistic on the drums, but at least they had some variation and technique to them. THAT album rules.

swanlee
March 3rd 2014



6 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

An easy 5, as good as sea changes and equally unique which is baffling he was able to effectively pull off a sea changes sequel that is every bit as good and completely unique. Melodies flow and ebb through the whole album like a slow journey that end in a great climax in waking light. Utterly amazing.

Gwyn.
March 3rd 2014



14893 Comments


The only thing I've heard from this guy is the Scott Pilgrim soundtrack still

Digging: Buzzov-en - Sore

SticksmanTheBored
March 4th 2014



206 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Beck's slow side does appeal to me on Sea Change, but tbh he hasn't done anything interesting or
appealing to me ever since. Blue Moon and Turn Away are pretty good, though.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
March 5th 2014



7140 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

I need to listen to this. Great review Rudy.

PS - Also sounds like you really know your Beck, haha.

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2014



4507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Anybody heard his really early bootlegs before Golden Feelings, like Banjo Story, Don't Get Bent Out of Shape, or Fresh Meat & Old Slabs? Some of his best songs are on those (ie: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qd0P-i6DgNw)

Pizzahut
March 6th 2014



113 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is fucking fantastic

LordePots
March 21st 2014



6518 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

wasnt gonna check this out at first but i dl'd it just to fill in some more 2014 material and its actually listenable as fuck

Digging: B-Ju - Merianplatz

LordePots
March 21st 2014



6518 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I really like Turn Away

SharkTooth
March 21st 2014



3661 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the main strength of the album is its lyrical content, otherwise its a pretty lackluster effort on Beck's part.

klap
Staff Reviewer
March 22nd 2014



10258 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

turn away is my second favorite tune here

Digging: The Bilinda Butchers - Heaven

LordePots
March 22nd 2014



6518 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I can see how this is an album of instant gratification that could lose my interest quickly tho, good review

zakalwe
March 25th 2014



6561 Comments


Minds have been moronified.
This is great.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy