Beck Morning Phase
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gyromania
February 23rd 2014


15706 Comments


love the summary

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2014


1616 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Love the summary [2]
Love the review as well.

Tyrael
February 24th 2014


20876 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

God dammit Rudy

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

tommygun
February 24th 2014


24932 Comments


nice rudy

Digging: Broods - Evergreen

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2014


6109 Comments


"For the listener, though, it’s a window shut, a portrait instead of a Beck who is much more interested in drawing a picture in two dimensions than enveloping you in it."

maybe it's just me but I've read this sentence like five times now and it still doesn't make much sense to me (although I'm pretty sure I know what you're getting at). I could just be tired tho

also good review

Veldin
February 25th 2014


1207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I thoroughly enjoy this album and pity the cynics who can't enjoy this stellar release.

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins On Io

suddykilljaywalkers
February 25th 2014


460 Comments


album art is.... gay

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2014


16023 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"I thoroughly enjoy this album and pity the cynics who can't enjoy this stellar release. "

i dunno, maybe i expected too much

Digging: iamthemorning - Belighted

mvdu
February 25th 2014


605 Comments


Can't judge from minute samples, but I didn't care for what I heard after Blue Moon. The rest of the songs seemed a little on the boring side. Again can't judge but a 3 may be what I feel also. Loved Sea Change so I thought I'd like this more so far.

klap
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2014


10418 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it's just so bland. all of the beauty with none of the depth or emotional intimacy of sea change

tommygun
February 25th 2014


24932 Comments


cynic

klap
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2014


10418 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i don't listen to them : )

tommygun
February 25th 2014


24932 Comments


boom

SharkTooth
February 25th 2014


4324 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"it's just so bland. all of the beauty with none of the depth or emotional intimacy of sea change" yeah that's where the lyrics can come in, (and sadly only the lyrics)

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2014


4424 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

"all of the beauty with none of the depth or emotional intimacy of sea change"

I think some of the songs (like morning and blue moon) do have a pretty strong emotional impact (at least for me), but I'm inclined to agree that it doesn't match up to Sea change in those aspects. but to be fair, the emotion in that album felt fresh and more sincere because he had just broken up with his girlfriend at the time- you could definitely feel the misery he was going through in every aspect of the album. It was as intimate as sitting with a friend while they complained about losing their girl/boyfriend.

I still think this is great in its own right though. but it doesnt have anything quite as powerful or as memorable as paper tiger or guess im doing fine.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
February 26th 2014


4950 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i heard this is his best record. interview on npr was cool

SharkTooth
February 26th 2014


4324 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

that remains odelay

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2014


16023 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

and mutations

SharkTooth
February 26th 2014


4324 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

And maybe Sea Change

klap
Staff Reviewer
February 26th 2014


10418 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sea change and midnite vultures are my two favorites



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy