Tides of Man Young and Courageous
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Calc
February 16th 2014



12111 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@omaha

I think atomic pulls it off well here my opinions aren't saying anything about this particular review, I just meant in general. I guess I'm just of the persuasion that people who write reviews so steeped in subjectivity and personal emotions (again this review didn't do that) are writing reviews for their own sake (rod stroking) rather than for garnering interest for the artist which is fine or whatever it just bothers me personally, and this site loves it.

Digging: He Is Legend - Heavy Fruit

Mendross
February 16th 2014



378 Comments


don't have time to check out anything of a 3.6 value .

Digging: Panopticon - Roads to the North

freedomofspeechnoway
February 16th 2014



412 Comments


honestly (and no offense to you atomic you know you ma boi), these personal angles that are so popular with the reviews on this site seem to work for people who are more interested in the reviewer than the music. This site is a bro-centric organization so it's not surprising but some of these reviews you can't tell what kind of music it was if you've never heard of the band beforehand and then like what's the point of reviewing if people are just stroking their own emotional rod through the whole thing


This is completely accurate. Chances are this comment will be deleted though, much like mine was for criticizing the style of this review.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2014



10041 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nah, it was actually just because you were trying too hard to be an utter asshat

freedomofspeechnoway
February 16th 2014



412 Comments


Nah, it was actually just because you were trying too hard to be an utter asshat


Honesty hurts the sputnik faithful, I know. I acknowledge good reviews and am honest about the
shortfalls of others.

You, on the other hand, use words like 'asshat'.

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2014



1983 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

@freedom - The promotion I was referencing was actually at my physical place of work, though, so I did edit the review a bit to have that stand out. There are a lot of great contribs out there and I don't want anyone thinking I'm more deserving than anyone else or that I have a lot of anxiety about reviewing (because I don't).

Otherwise, welp, sorry you didn't like the review. I don't always do them from this sort of an angle, but it's the way I was running while listening to and thinking about this album.

Not a big deal, honestly.

Digging: Rx Bandits - Gemini, Her Majesty

silentstar
February 16th 2014



2242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

>Chances are this comment will be deleted though, much like mine was for criticizing the style of this review.

your comment should have definitely not been deleted - it was fair criticism and it's sad that someone had to delete it due to them not agreeing with your completely acceptable opinion

thelastsignal
February 17th 2014



1253 Comments


Great review, very relatable to me personally, and I liked how you were able to use the personal stuff to draw comparisons on the sound of the record. Very different, but well done in my opinion.

paradox1216
February 18th 2014



445 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Froot, idk if you're still watching these comments, but the album is out physically, you can buy it from their Bandcamp page.

Digging: He Is Legend - Heavy Fruit

Froot
February 18th 2014



749 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

kk thx bby

Apollo
February 18th 2014



10281 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So I've listened to this like 6 times in the last 2 days.

Good stuff.

silentstar
February 19th 2014



2242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

as long as I only listen to 3-4 songs at a time, this sounds great

it gets too samey otherwise, so I try not to indulge too much

Slut
February 20th 2014



2387 Comments


I'll get to this eventually...



Probably not though

Digging: Kimbra - The Golden Echo

Hansol
March 11th 2014



9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've listened to this album over 20 times now. I never really checked out this band (even though I've heard of them through Saosin fans), but I'm really happy I found them. Although I haven't really listened to pure instrumental albums for a while as well, this one gets better and better. Anytime I need to relax or want some good background music, it does the job.

Hansol
March 11th 2014



9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Btw, great review. Always happy to see music impacting someone on a relatable emotional level. That's a huge aspect of what music's all about, right?

ProjectFreak
March 30th 2014



1302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this album is STILL not on spotify and it's killing me

ProjectFreak
April 9th 2014



1302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

and now it's here. it's decent

Froot
April 18th 2014



749 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This finally got released on Spotify. Shall tear into it tonight.

EDIT: ninja'd by about a week. sigh

acdlewis
June 15th 2014



2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

How can this album have a lower rating than their other two? It is so much better!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy