Tides of Man Young and Courageous
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 14th 2014


10354 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The Tillian Men

UnnamedOcean
February 14th 2014


3978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Tides of Tillian.

Apollo
February 14th 2014


10357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Never heard this band before but I'm desperate for new music so I'm listening now.

Wolfhorde
February 15th 2014


13686 Comments


I really don't get the thing with reviews and personal history angles.

itchybutthole
February 15th 2014


2562 Comments


sweet cover

Digging: Futures - 21st Century Chimney Sweep

silentstar
February 15th 2014


2280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

>I really don't get the thing with reviews and personal history angles.

I'd rather read something like this than an uninspired and tired review of the music only. Admittedly, this review went a bit too far in the personal realm but when done tastefully (check out some Chan, SowingSeason, Knott etc reviews), they can leave you feeling something.

Obviously, for the reader who is not concerned, the review would come off as overly subjective and not informative but can't please everyone, huh

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2014


2024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

There's always a balancing act and, admittedly, it's less history than current experience for me right now. I will, of course, keep an eye out for improvement since this kind of review isn't the kind of thing I do every day, but when it's the only thing you can think about in relation to the music, I guess sometimes that personal aspect comes up.

If it were an emotion I felt really had nothing to do with the music or the sort of connection I didn't feel anyone else could relate to, I probably wouldn't have included it, though, tbh.

Digging: Lost Ubikyst in Apeiron - Abstruse Imbeciles Nailed On Slavery

Calc
February 15th 2014


12292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

honestly (and no offense to you atomic you know you ma boi), these personal angles that are so popular with the reviews on this site seem to work for people who are more interested in the reviewer than the music. This site is a bro-centric organization so it's not surprising but some of these reviews you can't tell what kind of music it was if you've never heard of the band beforehand and then like what's the point of reviewing if people are just stroking their own emotional rod through the whole thing

#twopennies

Digging: Mr. Oizo - The Church

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2014


10354 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well, Calc, I'd say an ideal personal review still sheds light on the overall sound of the record. I'd argue Thom did a good job of loosely describing the album's sound- which, with such reviews, is all I think is necessary.

Also, there are many cases where I consider the reviewer more than the reviewer. Some of you dudes I can always trust with recs, whereas other people and I have less in common musically. The rod-stroking bit leaves me confused, so I'll just say if a reviewer I follow is emotionally impacted by an album, that'll reel me in far more than any objective summary of a release.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2014


10354 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Where I consider the reviewer more than the respective review*

pmmets07
February 15th 2014


5913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh shit we can embed bandcamp in reviews now?

silentstar
February 15th 2014


2280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

only if you're special

try and see if you're special

pmmets07
February 15th 2014


5913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i think i know the answer to that

pmmets07
February 15th 2014


5913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

edit: double post

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2014


10354 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

only if u got the Staff infection

silentstar
February 15th 2014


2280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

so jelly of those avatar abilities though

TheSpirit
February 15th 2014


17986 Comments


My favorite reviews are the personal ones

Digging: Volahn - Aq Ab Al

Acanthus
February 15th 2014


9543 Comments


Really enjoyed one EP by these guys previously, the downtempo nature of this release seems like it might be my thing.

Cool that you can embed streams.

paradox1216
February 16th 2014


511 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good review. Probably better than mine =p

Froot
February 16th 2014


1398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Will this be seeing a physical release any time soon?

Digging: Clipping - Midcity



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy