Fanfarlo Let's Go Extinct
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Pheromone
February 13th 2014


3862 Comments


Might just check it out due to DAT ALBUM ART

Digging: Jeremy Enigk - Return of the Frog Queen

Underflow
February 13th 2014


2675 Comments


First track was definitely pretty.

Hopelust
February 13th 2014


1129 Comments


Is it me or does "pleasantly impressive surprise" come off as a little awkward? I could be goin' nuts but I thought I'd mention it just to see.

Solid review. This album name is very straight to the point. no beating around the bush! I like it.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2014


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"It sounded annoyingly synthy"
They're there Sowing, but it's in no way overbearing, like it got at times on their 2nd LP.

"Fanfarlo are slowly forcing me to forgive them for their 2nd LP..."
The experiment they had to have.

"It's sad they're not going the Witchi Tai To route. I really thought they'd hit on something with that cover."
Such an interesting song & it worked a treat on the EP. Unsure a full album's worth of similar tunes would be successful though.

"listened to most of this yesterday, pretty good stuff. i didn't download but i hope to revisit eventually"
Definitely worth revisiting 36C. Too many tracks grew on me, for it not to be.

"DAT ALBUM ART"
It's actually not all that clear on here, so look for a huge image elsewhere & it will feel like you're George Clooney trying to beat the $hit out of Sandra Bullock.

"Is it me or does "pleasantly impressive surprise" come off as a little awkward?"
Yeah, a little. I just like to be verbose. Why put "pleasant surprise" when you can throw in a few more characters. ;-)

J0ckstrapsFTW
February 13th 2014


3660 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review man! I just listened to this and dig it a lot

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2014


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks. And good to hear. We need more of that attitude for this album.

marcosmce
February 14th 2014


122 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is legit quality. Their sophomore gets me more on the vibe (this sounds weird I know) but this is a grower, I'm actually quite liking it. I'm of the mind that they deserve more attention than they get too anyway.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 14th 2014


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They definitely deserve more attention than they get.

So are you saying you actually think their 2nd LP is their best? If so, you're definitely in the minority there.

marcosmce
February 14th 2014


122 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

In regards to their debut. There's only a couple songs there that I really like, while Rooms gets me right from the get go. But yes, I suppose I'm going against the flow with that? Anyway, I think this new one is prob. doing way better than their 2nd.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 14th 2014


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, you already know that I disagree re: their debut, but I think that's what they're trying to do with this album; bring together those who liked either of their 1st 2 albums. And I reckon they have done a great - if not exactly perfect - job.

Apollo
February 14th 2014


10373 Comments


From the tracks I've heard this is something my wife would love.

I can dig a few of the tracks. Not bad but just not that interesting.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 14th 2014


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Your wife has good musical taste Apollo... Either that, or you're calling me a woman! :-)

RadicalEd
February 15th 2014


2868 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sounds pretty good.

Digging: Robert Rich - Perpetual - A Somnium Continuum

ProjectFreak
February 15th 2014


1447 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pretty But Boring: The Album

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2014


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Pretty" is a good description. "Boring" is to each their own, I guess. But I do agree they should have shown a little more diversity here. I felt they did that better on their debut.

Spec
February 16th 2014


27302 Comments


Nice review. The album cover is intriguing.

Negator
February 16th 2014


802 Comments


this is p good, defintely worth the dl

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2014


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Spec. I must say, people around Sputnik are bigger on album art than I am. I mean, I don't ignore it & dislike really bad art, but even the crappest band could have sensational album art. It doesn't make the music any better.

Mad.
February 16th 2014


4229 Comments


Keep meaning to check this, the artwork is awesome. Oh and it does make the music better, good artwork makes you want to like an album, maybe making you enjoy it more than you would otherwise

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2014


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hmmm, well count be a skeptic.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy