Cynic Kindly Bent to Free Us
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gwyn.
February 17th 2014


15321 Comments


nice dig

Cygnatti
February 17th 2014


22249 Comments


"I'm pretty sure most of the staff and members on here and aren't professional music critics or musicians."

...

Digging: Jerry Lee Lewis - Live at the Star Club, Hamburg

Cygnatti
February 17th 2014


22249 Comments


both of you have awesome digs.

sora236
February 17th 2014


156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Never said this site is objectively worse than other websites or that I'm an review expert. Just asked
why people think this site is superior that is all because the reviews on here aren't so much better
than reviews on other sites. I haven't used ultimate guitar in years, but they have professional
musicians that posts blogs on there because not all guitarists can read sheet music. I'm sure some of
the staff on here are also musically educated, just like other sites.

I'm not insulting this review by the way or the rating because that's a person's opinion. Just asking
why this site is more legitimate than the other sites people mentioned.

Cygnatti
February 17th 2014


22249 Comments


"but they have professional musicians"

isn't justin bieber a professional musician?

tempest--
February 17th 2014


14592 Comments


basically, youre an idiot.

tempest--
February 17th 2014


14592 Comments


thats a full stop but it doesnt look like it

Calc
February 17th 2014


12360 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

noo sora run you've upset the balance!!

Digging: Maxwell August Croy and Sean Mccann - I

sora236
February 17th 2014


156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"but they have professional musicians"
"isn't justin bieber a professional musician?"
The last time I checked they had a few professional classical and jazz guitarists providing lessons.

All I asked was a question of why this site is considered more legitimate than others. No need to get
upset and call me an idiot.



Wadlez
February 17th 2014


4670 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Sora, I'd just get out while you can. Attempting to reason will just make it worse for ya. The swarm is awakening.

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2014


15195 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

So a couple of users badmouthed Ultimate Guitar, doesn't mean the prevailing opinion is that Sputnik is superior to everything else.

You can provide an in depth technical analysis of a piece of music but that doesn't entail whether or not the reviewer enjoyed it or thought it was any good.

I'd prefer the fluttery subjective stylings of the staffers here than "okay so this album is E-standard, the opening 8 measures of track 3 are in a 6/8 time signature, at 1:47 in track 6 they using the diminished scale in D form" etc. etc.

Digging: Blaspherian - Upon The Throne of Eternal Blasphemous Death

sora236
February 17th 2014


156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll admit I exaggerated on saying that everyone thinks this site is better. I didn't mean being an in
depth analysis but some of the words and comparisons that some of the staff reviewers throw around
terms that are a bit vague or unconvincing, most other review sites do this too so I guess that's the
norm. Just wondering why they thought reviews/opinions the site was superior to other sites, that's
all, didn't mean for it to get out of hand with all these comments/replies.

CaptainDooRight
February 17th 2014


30333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

DEFEND YOURSELF

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 17th 2014


10382 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

A decent amount of the staff reviews on here are written as if the writer never touched an instrument, sang, analyzed a piece of music

This is irrelevant, man. One needn't be able to make music in order to construct an argument for/against it.

Also, I don't know who considers this site to be some kind of authority on music journalism. If you're saying that because you see a lot of people paying attention to reviews on here, well, it happens on any site you'll go to. If anything, I see less of that happening on this site, since those in disagreement are able to speak out much more thoroughly than on other sites. On the other hand, if you hate Ian Cohen's writing he'll probably never know it

Digging: Thou - Heathen

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2014


21792 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i liked your pre-edit comment more jacob :/

Digging: Aspherium - The Fall of Therenia

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 17th 2014


10382 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I don't want to be a dick on this site- no sense in it.

sora236
February 17th 2014


156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Omaha, I said that because people were comparing sites by saying this one is better and the other
isn't credible, not because of the site revenue and they happened to compare it to a website geared
more to musicians that usually don't read music so I assumed their logic was, "that site(ultimate
guitar) knows nothing about music so what do they know for giving this album a high rating." I know
that many music critics aren't musicians, just trying to understand their logic of why the other site
is unreliable in comparison.

I did not mean to come of as I thought this website sucks, I apologize to anyone that thought I meant
it in that way. Also in no way am talking about my opinion on this album, I guess I should of just
ignored those comments and let them use the logic they want to judging websites.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 18th 2014


10382 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

No worries man. Just always take people around here with a grain of salt- not too many people take discussion seriously on Sput

Emyay
February 18th 2014


6010 Comments


ultimate guitar has album reviews and a ranking system? wow. i had no idea and i go on there pretty frequently for tabs and such

TheMoreira
February 19th 2014


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This started out as a generous 3, now it's a pretty strong one. Can definitely like this for what it is. Pretty awesome at times



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy