Icarus the Owl Icarus the Owl
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ProjectFreak
February 23rd 2014


1411 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

" Kinda wish they would do it a little more often."

I think the fact that they do it so rarely is part of why I love that title cut. If they did more long songs, I think they'd start getting lost in wankery -- the relatively simple song structures are partly why I like this band.

Digging: From Indian Lakes - Absent Sounds

Faraudo
February 23rd 2014


631 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^^ That person speaks the truth.

Digging: Slipknot - .5: The Gray Chapter

Ecnalzen
February 23rd 2014


6688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That is a fair point. Sometimes, less really can be more.

ASnideReturns
February 27th 2014


5241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Band needs so much more exposure, fuck this album is amazing.

Digging: Avenged Sevenfold - Nightmare

Zeiu
March 2nd 2014


165 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

albums grown on me a lot, weird you don't hear the melodys until you listen to the songs a few times. only problem i have is there's always a cringy lyric or moment that ruins the mood. for example, both verses in In Aeternum, "I am new kansas to the new england" in touchstone, the way he sings "it's not a world we should have exposed" in crimson covered walls, the awkward pacing with the vocals in the verses in Input. Time. Destruct. takes me out of it everytime.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 2nd 2014


10273 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I just can't see how someone could come up with phrasings that aren't awkward to music like this. I do see what you mean tho

pepster50
March 4th 2014


330 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is pretty dam good !

percyforward
March 17th 2014


39 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No lovs for lily trotter? seems quite the catchy tune to meh

scottpilgrim10
March 17th 2014


4211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Black Fish is an incredible track.

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

kmace
March 17th 2014


158 Comments


Too many good tracks it's hard to pick a favorite. Probably leaning towards Chronos the Destroyer though right now. Depends on the week really haha

Ecnalzen
March 18th 2014


6688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I dunno, I really like Black Fish.

percyforward
March 18th 2014


39 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's just something about the seeming brevity of the song that gets me.

also ecnalzen, nice avatar

ProjectFreak
April 7th 2014


1411 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So I know this year has had a lot of super-hyped releases (Hotelier, Chevelle, Animals as Leaders), but right now this is
the most consistently enjoyable album from 2014 for me.

Also, In Aeternum just gets better and better....

Ecnalzen
April 7th 2014


6688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks, percifer! I find your avi to be pretty cool, as well.

I still am not super fond of Aeternum. The verses are kind of awkward to me.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2014


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Unique Oregon-based rockers Icarus the Owl deliver more quirky time signatures & intricate finger-tapping on their fan funded self-titled 3rd LP. Produced by Kris Crummett, the consistent quartet still won't be for everyone, despite delivering a melodic & accessible batch of 13 tracks. Joey Rubenstein's ever-improving vocal range ensures this LP isn't all about the flashy guitars, while the under-rated rhythm section must also not be ignored. At 54 minutes in length, it's a tiring listen... But one that's ultimately worth it for those after something a little unconventional. Recommended Tracks: Black Fish, The Pharmacist, Crimson Covered Walls & Lily Trotter.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2014


10273 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yay BNM

ASnideReturns
May 9th 2014


5241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The production on this is fucking beautiful.

MuhNamesTyler
May 9th 2014


4304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm surprised at how much Sputnik likes this album

Digging: Revocation - Deathless

Ecnalzen
May 9th 2014


6688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haven't decided what to rate it yet, Tyler?

Diamondize
May 9th 2014


1367 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Didn't know this was produced by Kris Crummett, literally everything he produces I love.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy