Icarus the Owl Icarus the Owl
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2014



9987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

The intro to "Love Always Leviathan" has been my wakeup alarm
for like a year now.


How do you not hate it by now? Lol just sayin man, I can never enjoy songs when they pull me from my beloved sleep

Thanks Jake, and yeah man get on that stream. As Nomos points out, it's def a grower.

Digging: Deniro Farrar - Rebirth

ProjectFreak
January 30th 2014



1293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Honestly I have no idea why I still enjoy waking up to that

Hopelust
January 30th 2014



943 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Probably cuz it doesn't sound like BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!! BEEP!!


Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2014



9987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

but it's still saying "wake the hell up you dingus, you've already been in bed far too long and fuck sleep #666"

Calc
January 30th 2014



11975 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the last song on this thing is pre damn good, I like that these guys write true album closers like that

Digging: Kashiwa Daisuke - April. #02

ProjectFreak
January 30th 2014



1293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

idk, waking up is always unpleasant, hearing music when i wake up doesn't make me hate the music more than just waking up itself

but yeah streaming now and digging it, The Monster Within rules

Hopelust
January 30th 2014



943 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

hahahaha hashtag 666!!!!

that's awesome.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2014



9987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i love the bridge halfway thru Monster. Reminds me of TTNG for some reason.

ProjectFreak
January 30th 2014



1293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

holy crap Flint and Steel @2:38
wow

Ecnalzen
January 30th 2014



6398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I haven't listened to this enough to say a definite favorite yet, but I think The Pharmacist is pretty amazing.

trilogique21
January 30th 2014



375 Comments


thats the best kind of alarm Hopelust because it actually wakes your ass up

ProjectFreak
January 30th 2014



1293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i used to have a special alarm for early morning finals, it was Oracle of the Dead by As They Sleep, a deathcore band.

i'd wake up in a panic and frantically scramble for the alarm, and then i'd be up on time with an adrenaline rush. worked every time.

pepster50
January 31st 2014



327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can't believe Crummett produced this, or maybe he didn't mix it ? Something about it is off for me, and everything else he touches I think is gold.

Azn.
January 31st 2014



5559 Comments


I can very easily get into this

Digging: Trophy Scars - Never Born, Never Dead

BenZon
January 31st 2014



2 Comments


'I wouldn't say his presence feeling slightly off should be blamed on the mixing. The only thing
mixing could do would be cutting back his vocals' volume'.

That's completely untrue - simple techniques will bring a vocalist closer to the mix, or away from the
mix. The whole album, although good, reeks of overproduction, like its predecessor.

First paragraph is awkward.

Edit: Your flow comes across as forced.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 31st 2014



9987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Interesting. BenZon, could you elaborate on how a vocalist sounds closer / further from the mix? As in, what are the production techniques a producer / engineer can utilize to achieve such a thing? I thought I was right about the mixing, but I could certainly afford to understand the process a bit more- and if I was blatantly wrong, I'd like to hear how so.

And I regret that this review may not have come across as smoothly as it could. It's always hard finding the right voice for a review when you have a set deadline for it; if I'd had all the time in the world, I would've eventually had one of those 'voila!' moments where my thoughts came to me in the precise manner I'd like them to. I've been insanely busy lately, though, which may have made this review sound more scatter-brained than I would've liked. While I don't plan on editing this review too much, these are things I can keep in mind for next time, and I appreciate you coming forward with what you see in my writing.

Hopelust
February 2nd 2014



943 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Do you get paid as a staff reviewer or contributing reviewer?

Azn.
February 2nd 2014



5559 Comments


I just checked the preceding album and it's incredible so far

FadedSun
February 2nd 2014



1243 Comments


"There's some cool stuff here musically but I can't stand these vocals"

This. They sound as generically emo as possible.

Azn.
February 2nd 2014



5559 Comments


are you one of those people who think the fall of troy are emo



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy