Icarus the Owl Icarus the Owl
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hopelust
January 29th 2014


2336 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm really not into the vocals with this band. Everything else seems like its solid gold, dude's voice just irks me. Frustrating, really. I'd like to listen to these guys more often.

Nomos
January 29th 2014


1108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

He's a great vocalist but it comes down to taste. I personally don't mind him too much - it get's a bit cheesy here and there, but nothing that distracts me too much.



I do believe they could make some really cool stuff that's not necessarily this poppy though. Sort of like how Tides of Man had so much potential...and then got an emo leftover to croon to pre-teens.

Jade
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2014


10660 Comments


yeah honestly many people will be turned off by Joey's vocals and that's just how it'll be. I'm glad I like them, but I can also see why people would dislike them.

Hopelust
January 29th 2014


2336 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I can't even pinpoint what bothers me about them. Aggravating I tell ya, cuz at times they sound pretty good. He's hitting the notes quite fine, and overall he's skilled at what he does. I guess it just comes off as lavish for the music that's accompanying it, maybe?

Calc
January 29th 2014


14834 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

he sounds really try-hard at a lot of points maybe? thats what I noticed.

Digging: Towkio - Community Service 2

Jade
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2014


10660 Comments


a very valid point is that the singer may simply sing too much. i feel the music would be more affecting if it had more of a chance to breathe, but at the same time i love the melodies he chooses to employ so i don't mind much.

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
January 29th 2014


14641 Comments


thats possible ~!

Digging: Dinosaur Jr. - Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not

Nomos
January 29th 2014


1108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

That's a really good point Omaha. You're absolutely right now that I think about it. His enunciation

and drawing out a lot of syllables is very...dramatic? I actually think I'd prefer if he just toned it

down a bit. His performance wouldn't suffer at all - he's still great - but I do feel like a lot of

the best riffs (taps?) on the album are a bit drowned out by him.



Could be just a mixing thing though?

skoopy48
January 29th 2014


1836 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My favorite vocal performance from him is actually The Spotless Mind.

Jade
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2014


10660 Comments


I wouldn't say his presence feeling slightly off should be blamed on the mixing. The only thing mixing could do would be cutting back his vocals' volume, and I don't know about you but that wouldn't feel right to me. Joey's vocals feel best suited for being in the forefront; it's just their utilization that feels a little weird to me.

Now, production certainly could've lent a hand in making his performance more varied. I'm actually surprised Crummett didn't manipulate vocals here, considering how much he did on a record like No Place. There are things a producer can do for a vocalist in that regard, like providing filters, etc. It's one way to sidestep a fairly monochrome vocal performance, but the production here doesn't really do anything like that- instead, it's pretty damned homogeneous. Which, once again, doesn't feel like a bad thing. It makes the record's identity more recognizable, but it also makes the whole affair a bit hard to listen to in one sitting.

TriangularDuck
January 29th 2014


90 Comments


My favorite vocal performance from him was actually on Kill Your Ex's From Words to Motion. Yeah, you could say I'm a bit of a long-time fan. Joey's progressed a lot since then as a songwriter, but
goddamn does he fucking kill on "Hades & Demeter".

skoopy48
January 29th 2014


1836 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I need to hear that album.

kmace
January 29th 2014


161 Comments


Joey's vocals are fucking awesome. That chorus from Igloo on the Spotless Mind instantly sold me on this band. As far this album goes, I'm really liking it so far. Feels more immediate than Leviathan and there are quite a few stand out tracks in my mind. Great review Omaha!

MuhNamesTyler
January 30th 2014


5618 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sooo much hate for the vocals. Geez

Jade
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2014


10660 Comments


Thanks kmace. And I'm actually surprised there hasn't been more hate on the vocals in this thread yet- Leviathan's was far more vicious.

Hopelust
January 30th 2014


2336 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I was more apprehensive to share my thoughts back then. Thus, the "hate" comes now.... honestly though, hate's such a strong word. I'm just giving some constructive criticism.

Jade
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2014


10660 Comments


His voice is mmm tho u guys are wack

Alternate review summary

ProjectFreak
January 30th 2014


1762 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

why haven't I heard this yet? i'm really psyched for this. The intro to "Love Always Leviathan" has been my wakeup alarm

for like a year now.

mindleviticus
January 30th 2014


8732 Comments


Nice review, Jacob =)

Sounds like I could enjoy this.

Nomos
January 30th 2014


1108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I'm continuing to like it more and more each listen. Once I can anticipate cool moments or even tell

what song I'm on, I appreciate it more. The first 3 tracks and Crimson Covered Walls are still my

favorite. Seriously, the drumming on the latter is just the greatest. This album is ridiculously

catchy.



/ You two should definitely check it out. The stream is right below the review.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy