You Me At Six Cavalier Youth
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
skoopy48
January 28th 2014


1499 Comments


This has been a band I've always avoided for whatever reason. I like the art though and some of the albums Avron's produced so I may check it out.

Digging: Let It Happen - Cause Effect

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2014


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

Avron's production is definitely a positive here (especially on good quality headphone). And I knew you''d like the album art skoopy, since your current avatar would suggest it.

skoopy48
January 28th 2014


1499 Comments


yup, sucker for sunsets

kmace
January 28th 2014


158 Comments


Saw these guys at warped because my girlfriend wanted to see them. Too be honest I was impressed with their live show. Sounded great and had pretty good stage presence. Might listen to this record but I'm a bit hesitant. Glad to see you are reviewing more Davey!

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2014


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

My reviewing presence will probably be up & down this year, but I guess that's better than being almost completely down last year.

I'm not surprised they put on a good live show. They've been around a while now & most of their better songs have the energy to translate well live.

StolenIdentity
January 29th 2014


239 Comments


Aggregate score is way too harsh.

Sure, there are a few weak tracks (Carpe Diem is a shocker) and Josh's vocals could have been better, but tracks like Room to Breathe, Fresh Start Fever and Hope For the Best easily elevate the overall quality of the album.

As was said by someone else, this is definitely their most cohesive record to date too.

Beauers
January 29th 2014


251 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I would say 2.9 is being generous.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2014


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

I can see where you're coming from SI, but I think people are also taking into account that this is their 4th LP. If this was their debut, then I'd definitely be more forgiving. And I have no issue with bands settling down into a style once they've played around with a few things (as YM@6 have done). But too much of this feels by-the-numbers to me. Of course, we're personally only 0.3 rating points away from each other ourselves.

I recall trying to think of something to say about 'Carpe Diem' and just coming up blank. The closer is just bland (with 'forgive & forget' not much better). And 'Win Some Lose Some' just doesn't work. If they were taking risks with these songs, I think many would be more forgiving. But they're pretty standard stuff & the band just haven't nailed them.

Beauers
January 29th 2014


251 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

They've basically settled into a comfortable niche where the BBC will play them on Radio 1 and girls in their teens to mid twenties go wild for them.

Fair play to them if that's what they want, but I always thought they showed more potential than that.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2014


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

I still think they've got potential... You can even hear some of that here. But potential has only so much time to be fulfilled. Then again, they are still young, so who knows. Maybe they'll turn a corner once they're done with those aforementioned girls.

StolenIdentity
January 29th 2014


239 Comments


Agreed about the closer, Davey. It doesn't hold a candle to When We Were Younger.

I must admit I'd have MUCH preferred to see these guys produce an album that continued in the vein of tracks like Little Death, Bite My Tongue and the above-mentioned closer, but I'm still pretty happy with this.

As you said though: who knows, they are still young and they may decide to return to that style next time round...

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2014


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

They either need to get angry at something or married. Or one could lead to the other, of course. ;-)

NorwichScene
January 29th 2014


1429 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm going to lower my rating, starts off great with Too Young to Feel this Old and Lived a Lie but the rest are pretty average / annoying lyrics about yolo

Digging: Lonely the Brave - The Day's War

joshieboy12345
January 29th 2014


5370 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Band have progressively gotten weaker with each album. Will check this though.

Beauers
January 29th 2014


251 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

@Joshie This one is no exception to the rule.

joshieboy12345
January 29th 2014


5370 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Shame to hear. They had heaps of potential, especially since TOYC was so damn good.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2014


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

Now don't let me change your mind NS. ;-) Is it bad that I had to look up what YOLO meant? I'm actually a sucker for that theme, so it wasn't what bothered me about this LP.

I disagree with you Joshua... If only because SNS was better than HMD.

joshieboy12345
January 29th 2014


5370 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Oh man, l hated the alt rock route they took. I will stick to my rule haha.

NorwichScene
January 29th 2014


1429 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Those lyrics... I'm in a different district, Hunger Games. Cringe!

NorwichScene
January 29th 2014


1429 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

P.s Yes, I thought everyone knew what yolo meant. Gotta be down with the kids lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy