You Me At Six Cavalier Youth
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2014


7338 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This hasn't been promoted well at all.

I'll give it a listen later, not expecting much.

Good review as per.

Edit: Impressively dull.

VolcanoDay
January 28th 2014


133 Comments


I'd argue that this is a lot more cohesive than Sinners Never Sleep was.

And regarding promotion, it's currently No. 1 in the UK charts, they can't be doing too badly.

OverSlyZed
January 28th 2014


126 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

This album is just a pure borefest

VermTheInquisitor
January 28th 2014


489 Comments


Lol, this band. Uk doesn't need more annoying pop punk bands commanded by twats who praise blink 182. Band has always been a fuckin borefest.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2014


7338 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"And regarding promotion, it's currently No. 1 in the UK charts, they can't be doing too badly."

There's not exactly much competition, though, is there? I'm not particularly surprised since they're really popular, but I'd barely caught any wind of this coming out. I only remembered when a Youtube advert came up last night.


Sanders
January 28th 2014


2350 Comments


Zane Lowe's been blowing them for a while now

This is alright, but I'd hoped for better

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2014


21941 Comments


Yeah I agree with Ali. Probably just reached #1 off the steam of the existing fanbase.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2014


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

"So bland"... "Whole album feels like a long, tired cliché"... "Impressively dull"... "just a pure borefest"... "This is alright, but I'd hoped for better"

These are the comments that I thought would be prevalent here. To be honest, they were also my impressions after 1st listen. A couple of the songs grew on me a little with subsequent plays, but not so much to deem them memorable enough for me to come back to later on in the year.

"I'd argue that this is a lot more cohesive than Sinners Never Sleep was".

Yeah, I'd actually agree with that VolcanoDay. But it's more to do with how safe they play it here, and how much they pushed themselves on the previous LP (which I only gave a 3.5 btw).

As for the charting, it's a crap-shoot nowadays with the way sales have declined. Any half-decent popular artist should debut at #1. If anything, it's the 2nd & 3rd week fall which is more telling.

NorwichScene
January 28th 2014


1429 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Some slightly annoying things on this album, overall still good though

Digging: Lonely the Brave - The Day's War

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2014


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

Was initially surprised to see your rating NS. But I guess that was when I thought I was gonna rate it under a 3.

Grizzlypyro
January 28th 2014


148 Comments


Band has scraped by ever since their first.

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

schoonda
January 28th 2014


104 Comments


Never understood why these guys were so big, from the stuff I've heard they are just so dull and generic..

Digging: Lonely the Brave - The Day's War

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2014


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

"Scraped by" might be a bit harsh, but this album kinda feels like that.

schoonda, I think you have answered your own question: Dull & generic often equals big in the mainstream world.

henryChinaski
January 28th 2014


2756 Comments


I guess I'll check this out. Enjoyed their debut, but everything they released afterwards is pretty mediocre in my opinion. Cool artwork though.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2014


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

I doubt you'll change your mind on them here hc.



schoonda
January 28th 2014


104 Comments


I guess the music doesn't matter when the front man is 'Omg so hawt'

Cygnatti
January 28th 2014


21352 Comments


the riyl section has every decent/not-bad band's the worst or second worst album so no thnx

Digging: Jon Hopkins - Immunity

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2014


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

And there's that too schoonda.

Thanks for noticing cyg. I'm glad someone's paying attention.



Cygnatti
January 28th 2014


21352 Comments


I always notice, Davey. o_o

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2014


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

Just a tad creeeepy.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy