The Lawrence Arms Metropole
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DrGonzo1937
January 29th 2014



5184 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Agreed trebor, this was forgettable. I'm not having a good start for albums this year. So far they've all been average at best. ha

CarrotFlowerKing
January 29th 2014



5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I struggle to understand how any fan of older TLA albums can find this anything but fantastic.

As different as Calcutta was from TGSET this record is from both, yet all 3 are near perfect.

To anyone who feels disappointed with Metropole, do yourself a favour and give it a few more spins.



dimsim3478
January 29th 2014



4711 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think it's easy to dismiss the album as forgettable and lazy, but I feel like there's something more happening on this record. As ^this guy says, give it a few more spins.

Digging: Joyce Manor - Never Hungover Again

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2014



49741 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've heard it like 12 times, nothing is changing

Digging: Kyary Pamyu Pamyu - Pikapika Fantajin

dimsim3478
January 29th 2014



4711 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fair enough. I've spun this near daily since it came out, though. The News from Yalta EP is kinda cool as well.

theacademy
January 31st 2014



28225 Comments


this is seriously not the departure you make it out to be

NightProwler
January 31st 2014



6292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review Treb, although I don't agree with the rating. A shame this didn't come to your liking.

Digging: Hoth - Oathbreaker

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
January 31st 2014



1479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Feel almost the same as you. No where even close to Calcutta or greatest story.

Spec
January 31st 2014



27051 Comments


No one stays young forever guys.

Hospital
January 31st 2014



2005 Comments


I really want to listen to this but I got a deep sick worry and I don't know why.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 1st 2014



9967 Comments


Fairly good review, man. You do a good job explaining why this record doesn't work like it should.

Only significant thing I can point out is that I'm not too much a fan of this line: "likely because they felt obligated to put out a
new album after an eight year absence." It's all based on unfounded assumptions, and I can't take much from it unless it's
been confirmed by a different source. Either way, I think statements like that need to only be included in reviews if you have
evidence they're true alongside them.

Digging: Deniro Farrar - Rebirth

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 1st 2014



49741 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks for the input

Scoot
February 1st 2014



17672 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

man just listen to the energy in on with the show and then listen to this album

Digging: Unjust - Glow

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 1st 2014



49741 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Dude seriously, this album ends and then Devil's Takin Names comes on and I'm like holy shit

Scoot
February 1st 2014



17672 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

it's like they're not even the same band

Scoot
February 1st 2014



17672 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

buttsweat is still good though

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 1st 2014



49741 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Buttsweat is amazing and I thought this album would be that but better but nope

pmmets07
February 1st 2014



5839 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

finally gonna give these guys' discography a proper listen

dimsim3478
February 1st 2014



4711 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

To be honest, your rating of this record may or may not change after you have heard the rest of their stuff.

Start with Apathy and Exhaustion for sure, though.

pmmets07
February 1st 2014



5839 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i'm like halfway through oh calcutta right now. only other thing i've heard is greatest story ever told. honestly i've liked everything by them so far.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy