Young the Giant Mind Over Matter
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2014


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

'Crystallized' was my initial favourite, but it screams immediacy & single release.

Ecnalzen
February 1st 2014


6816 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This seems pretty alright so far.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 1st 2014


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Yeah, and there's a few growers on here, so it should age ok.

Green Baron
February 1st 2014


20324 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The second half just lagggggggggggs ohmygod

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 1st 2014


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I can't totally disagree with that. I really like 'Eros' though, as well as 'Camera'. I think the LP is more 1-2 tracks too long than anything else.

Green Baron
February 1st 2014


20324 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They should have took out Firelight and Camera. Twelve minutes of bland nothing.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 1st 2014


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Boo. Disagree. I like 'Camera'. The problem is they're back to back. 'Firelight' probably should have been the closer or penultimate track..

SGGreenman
February 4th 2014


846 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I really don't like this, and I for the most part really dug their debut. Anagram is really awesome, but the rest is just feels way too much like every other pop fused indie rock band.

Ecnalzen
February 5th 2014


6816 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Firelight sucks a bit, but everything else seems pretty good on here. Might have to bump to a 3.5 eventually.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2014


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

"...rest is just feels way too much like every other pop fused indie rock band".

Can see where you're coming from. If you regard innovation highly, then this album can be marked down. I'm more in the "what really is new these days?" corner.

"Might have to bump to a 3.5 eventually"

I'm curious as to how this album will age as well.

jmh886
February 5th 2014


881 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

solid, enjoyable rock. nothing more, nothing less.

SGGreenman
February 5th 2014


846 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I guess I'm more disappointed in how little progression I feel this bands made from their debut. It lacks the catchy tracks the debut had too IMO.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2014


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I think your point regarding "progression" was always going to be thrown at the band, hence why I addressed it a few times in the review. I do actually think there is progression here (more focus, cohesion & less guitar-driven). Whether that progression is necessarily all for the best is more up for debate though.

SGGreenman
February 10th 2014


846 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

came around a bit to this recently.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 10th 2014


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Not surprised. There are a couple of real growers on here, which nicely complement the highlights.

ColeTeeple
February 11th 2014


11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The second part of 'Waves' is really cool

dmp3131
February 12th 2014


665 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is really good... first 6 songs rule. Firelight and Camera are okay, and In My Home, Teachers, and Paralysis are great. Eros and Waves are pretty good too. Real solid album and looking forward to listening a bunch more to this.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2014


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Good to hear. It seems like those that give this a chance are being rewarded.

Ecnalzen
February 13th 2014


6816 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Gotta bump this a bit, at least for the time being. This is better than most of the indie pop/rock stuff I have heard recently.

Green Baron
February 13th 2014


20324 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

most of that stuff is shit anyways



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy